We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and service”

Hamilton's Grill Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Hamilton's Grill Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 46 Restaurants in Lambertville
Price range: US$20 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: North Union Street
Description: Garden seating inside and out. Catering on and off site: Weddings, Cocktail Parties, Rehearsal Dinners, Bridal / Baby Showers, Anniversaries, Graduations, Fundraisers, Birthdays, Christening / Confirmations, Bar / Bat Mitzvahs, Holiday Celebrations, Business Events, Corporate Meetings, Team Building -Cooking Classes. Established in 1986. Canal side, nestled in the European charm of a courtyard near the Delaware River and surrounded by quaint antique shops and art galleries, it is the remarkable creation and signature of award winning Broadway set designer and restaurateur Jim Hamilton, & reflects his one-of-a-kind signature style. Warm, soulful and sophisticated, the Grill Room remains one of the most romantic & unique places to dine in the Northeast. As owner of the popular Hamilton's Grill Room in Lambertville-NJ, Jim Hamilton is well-known in the restaurant and arts community, and his years as a theater set designer gained him a reputation on Broadway and beyond.
Granada Nicaragua
Level Contributor
293 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Nice place...big, busy but the service was good.

Seafood is a good choice. Food is well prepared and has a nice variety on the menu.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    83
    65
    38
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence Township NJ
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Used to Love It...”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had dinner on a recent weekend evening, dining outside near the fountain (really a bubbler.) I must say that while our dinner was certainly acceptable, it was not the former outstanding experience we've had for years.

My Alaskan Copper River salmon was good, but drowned in a chipolte/rum sauce that was too heavy/overpowering for this fabulous fish. The tuna entree which has always been reliably outstanding wasn't as flavorful as usual. The chopped salad was a ramekin of large pieces of tomato and cucumber with a little basil thrown in - not a chopped salad really and disappointing. We had the oysters for an appetizer and they were pretty good, but certainly not awesome.

After asking the kid at the reservation stand if we had time to get a drink at the Boathouse for 30 minutes and his response of "yes" he said there was no room when we returned. The older woman fixed the situation when she heard the problem. The waiter was occasional and intermittent.

I wonder if something has changed at the Grille?? I hope they can un-change it again!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katkin52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We went for the Jersey Shore dinner......plastic plates and utensils, food over cooked or raw. This was one of our favorite restaurants, not any more. Did the chef leave?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The setting is like you fell down the rabbit hole”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The overall setting is amazing. It sits back off of a side street right on the canal. The way that the Boat House and it are situated right together and are decorated is magical. Make reservations and then go a bit early and have drinks at the Boat House

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, very good food”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a hopping place on the weekends and always feels festive. The food is very good and fresh. There are typically some standard entrees of big slabs of meat or fish that are very good and fresh but there are other items that are interesting as well that I typically get. Service is generally excellent. Really nice restaurant!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank alrutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hamilton's Grill Room also viewed

 
New Hope, Bucks County
 

Been to Hamilton's Grill Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing