We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh lovely and wonderful view”
Review of Inn of the Hawke

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lambertville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn of the Hawke
Ranked #2 of 3 Lambertville B&B and Inns
glenside
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fresh lovely and wonderful view”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

It must be under new ownership because the earlier reviews couldn't be about this inn. Early check in, no hassle innkeeper, wonderful food, and my favorite....great pillows and bed linen. Room 7 is freshly redecorated with a Spartan clean bathroom. $55...were they serious? Yes and it was worth every penny. We didn't stay for breakfast so we paid less than the $65 if you wanted am food. Beautiful friendly and good sheets...

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank missamericaGlenside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    11
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Orange, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Decided at the last minute to stay overnight in Lambertville from Sunday to Monday of President's Day. We were given the weekday rate of $65 for a queen room with a private bath, even though it was technically a holiday. With the rate we were getting, their lack of a website, and the other reviews, I was a little nervous and was prepared for the worst.

-Checking in through the restaurant is a little odd, but you're given a key to use the side entrance and that makes sense in terms of security.
-There is parking at the rear of the building, although it was pretty packed every time we drove by; we ended up parking on a side street.
-The room itself was charming, large & clean with a renovated/updated bathroom and a pretty comfortable bed. The room was a little chilly when we got back from dinner but after a 1/2 hour the heat kicked in and it got very toasty.
-At breakfast there was a selection of bagels, muffins, cereal, tea, coffee & juice. It was pretty simple, but we left feeling full.
-We ate lunch in the restaurant, my husband had the reuben and I had the pork sandwich. Both sandwiches were quite tasty and we really liked the side of chips that came with each meal.
-The bar had a decent selection of beers, which we thoroughly enjoyed during the evening of our stay at the Inn. The bartenders were friendly and the atmosphere was warm & cozy.
-The only downside would have to be the lack of a tv in the room, although there's plenty to keep you busy around town.

On the whole, this place was charming and extremely reasonable. We had a very good experience, and will definitely go back for another stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IrmaB126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My family and I ate here in early August and the food and the service were both great. Our last visit was ok. The wait staff are all super friendly, but there were times were we waited a little long for things we requested. The fish and chips is what they are known for, And I had it on out first visit, but this time it was mostly breading and mushy fish. The calamari is awesome as were our desserts of bread pudding and cheese cake. Loved sitting outside and will definitely go back, but will order something new as an entree.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skibuni67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2007

It was little confusing how to enter the Inn. We learned that you must go through the restaurant and wait in the queue as people want a table for the restaurant. Very strange...especially if the hostess is sitting tables you'll have to wait to check in. Once in the room parts, you learn your key works for the side door different from the restaurant.

The room was very clean, the bed a little sunken in. One would think that if you're staying at a B & B that a key thing is the breakfast. Well the breakfast here is not your usual breakfast at a B&B. It consisted of bagels, english muffins, danish wrapped in packaging, store bought muffins, packets of cream cheese, crap jelly plus no staff during breakfast. You would think for 150 you'd be getting the real thing but not here. Really it's place to crash for a night.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Evie374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2007

no major complaints, but $170 (including tax) is a bit steep for bedding that has been around since the carter administration. there are so many better places to stay but we were last minute on columbus day weekend.the breakfast was pretty weak and uninspired if not full out lazy..(those packaged muffins loaded with hydrogenated oils, uh..no thanks)for the same price we usually stay at lambertville station which is infinetly better.

  • Liked — nothing stands out
  • Disliked — the price
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lambertville
0.2 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
112 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Brick Hotel
The Brick Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtown
102 reviews
8.8 mi away
Courtyard Ewing Princeton
0.6 mi away
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Hawke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Hawke

Property: Inn of the Hawke
Address: 74 S Union St, Lambertville, NJ 08530-1899
Region: United States > New Jersey > Lambertville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lambertville
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Hawke Hotel Lambertville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing