We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bakery”
Review of Colonial Bakery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Colonial Bakery
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Lavallette
Restaurant details
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best bakery”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Everything here is fresh and SO good. I bought a loaf of fresh baked cinnamon bread, had it sliced and made French toast with it. Also bought a strawberry shortcake. Both were delicious. We stop here numerous times each trip to Lavallette.

Helpful?
Thank JamesCindyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    11
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lavallette, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Crumb Cake”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A must stop for fresh baked delights!! Crumb cake that comes in a few varieties are usually available every day. They have a great selection of specialty cakes, coffee rings, pastries, cookies, bread, rolls and so much more. Try the raisin bread covered in cinnamon sugar. They also carry sugar free baked items that are also very good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank grandma8206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Bakery!”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

I live up in Bergen County where everyone raves about B&W Bakery in Hackensack. Colonial Bakery puts B&W to shame! I go to the one inSunset Manor, and it still has that old-fashioned feel with the chain that they pull to change the ticket number when they're ready to take a new order. I have ordered many different things over the years and my opinion is that you can't go wrong with anything that you order there. I do recommend the character cookies (lobsters, Elmo, etc.), rolls, crumb cake, and donuts. Soooo good.

Helpful?
Thank BeatleGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good place for coffee, bagles, dognuts, and smoothies”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Good coffee, great donuts and bagles. Awsome staff. Fair prices. They do have the best powdered jelly donuts "ever"

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Our favorite place for muffins”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

When we leave the shore we are always carrying a box of muffins and blueberry crumb cake from Colonial. We go home on a carb overload and it continues till the box is gone. Nobody makes better muffins or crumb cake for our family :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MagicalJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Colonial Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Colonial Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing