We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A convenient hotel - well worth the money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Linden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Linden
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Linden
Certificate of Excellence
Branchville, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A convenient hotel - well worth the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I had to stay very late at work and didn't want to drive the 90 minutes home just to turn around and return early the next morning. Decided to stay at the Hampton in Linden. Very clean room, lots of space and friendly staff. Very quiet even though it faces onto Routes 1 and 9 inLinden.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    135
    70
    31
    32
See reviews for
190
98
48
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

All facilities provided were of high standards. If you were to visit New York and plan to use Path train from Journal Square, Jersey City , this hotel is about 25 minutes drive to Journal Sq. Hotel is clean and good for family.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
3 Thank Bharath G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

first time here this area. needed to stay close to EWR airport. as a result, was good choice. clean lobby and room,no smell. only 10~15 minutes to EWR. there are nice restaurants and shops surrounded. wish the shuttle to EWR started 6:00am not 8:00.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank tomiom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed at the Hampton Inn-Linden for 3 nights (4/25-4/28) and my apologies for posting this review so late, since I feel it is long overdue. Despite many of the negative reviews, I chose this hotel primarily for their brand reputation and the location. Plus, I felt it gave me the “most bang for my buck”, since the hotel offered a free hot breakfast buffet and free shuttle service to and from the airport, however, I received far more in return.

Although it may be classified as a 3 star hotel, I received 5 star customer service! Muchas Gracias to Andreas, the shuttle driver, who performed his job with “Goldilocks Efficiency”. He did not drive too fast or too slow, but got me safely to and from the airport and was a true gentleman. A special thank you to Lauren at the front desk who greeted me with a warm smile and made sure to give me a room that was not near heavy traffic and offered me any toiletries that I may have not packed. Many thanks to Ed, who orchestrated the hot breakfast buffet by making sure it was clean and that the food was fresh and well stocked and better yet, made hotel guests feel welcome with his stellar personality.

Thank you again for a wonderful stay. “I’ll Be Back"!

Love and Light,

Liz

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lightworker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Excellent hotel; convenient (though Rt. 1 can be very busy!) to NJ Turnpike and Newark Airport, and not too far from New York City; big rooms, comfortable beds, clean bathroom, great shower, and terrific staff, with complimentary breakfast served until 10 am. No restaurant or lounge, but several chain restaurants within 200 yards of this property, and huge shopping mall right next door.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel a year ago and gave it a wonderful review for everything, cleanliness, friendliness of staff etc...which is why I went back again for my yearly trip to shop and sight see and do some fun things in New York. I was not even going to write this negative review to be honest because I had a great stay there before, but I am not doing this out of any type of malicious intent, but more because I am still in disbelief of what happened and the fact that the General Manager had the nerve to write to me after my official complaint went into the head office. I will say this the staff there are great and Iris from housekeeping was a Godsend...but the management in dealing with my situation gets no support from me. So, I went to the hotel a few weeks ago in March it was to be a 5 day vacation. I had no sleep from packing all night and had an early morning flight. I checked into the hotel approx. 9:30am and needed to eat and take a nap before I would head off to New York to meet my friends. At 10:30am I laid down to take a nap and by 11:50 am I had approx. 9 bed bug bites. At first I thought I was going crazy when I felt something bite my fingers and the back of my neck and my arm, because I was so tired. I also hears about bed bugs and know it's the worst thing that can happen at a hotel. I am allergic to bug bites, so my situation was even worse. I got up out of the bed and turned on the light beside the bed and there on the pillow was a bed bug sort of squashed...so I called the desk and then another one ran out of the pillow case and back in...so I SCREAMED. I didn't even know you could see these things. So, let's say this was the beginning of the end of my much needed vacation. To make a long story short cause it's still upsetting to even write this...they sent the head of housekeeping to my room and another guy and woman were outside the door. She saw the bugs and I was doing my best to breathe and not cry to be honest. I just knew I had to throw away what I had on and to get my suitcase and other things out of the room right away. My things were put on a cart and taken downstairs to the lobby...the guy on the desk who said he was acting manager said he would offer me a free night, then changed it to two free nights, but all I could think of was, here I am in the lobby in my pajamas with my close hanging on this cart, I am exhausted and I have nowhere else to go. I called my cousin quietly on the phone at the desk to tell her what happened. The hotel got me some off spray (I asked them to) and they got me something to put on the bites (They seem to think that this should make everything okay). Iris was the one who was comforting but to me the staff should have been more comforting or done something to reassure me and I just didn't feel that. And to this day from the e mails I received they don't seem to understand things that make a client feel reassured when they are having a very negative experience at your hotel. I was moved to another room...a staff person drove me to get Benadryl and I had to also buy pajamas and a top because by this time I threw away my pj/track suit. They offered to wash it, but it was a brand new track suit a velour type of material...it is something at home I would wash in cold and hang to dry...which washing it and drying it meant it would not fit me...and so I opted to get a plastic bag and throw away my track suit as well as my t-shirt for my company that was also new.

What happened next well...it didn't end there. I finally get pajamas am moved to a new room I asked if they sprayed it...and of course I'm not relaxed...I have huge welts on my fingers, back of my neck and arms now and I am pretty distressed. It's now about 4pm and I brush my teeth and then get ready to go into the bed except the sheets are stained on both beds! And the cover of the bed is dirty also. There are crumbs on the carpet, and I am just spent at this point. I call the desk they send the house keeping lady up again...she keeps apologizing. I am not one of those rude or loud people, I just sit in the desk chair exhausted and ask her what happened to the hotel I tell her I have a travel column and came here last year and it was so clean; I can't understand this. She makes up the bed and she's off work at this point. I finally find a way to relax and cover up from head to toe to try to sleep because at this point now I have had no sleep. I have all the lights on and I do manage to nap for a few hours. I wake up to go into the bathroom and the sink where I brushed my teeth still has water in it. The little plug thingy is broken...so I call the desk again and they send up a maintenance guy to fix it. (sigh)

I now try to go back out to get some groceries because it is hard to eat and sleep and my trip to New York to see my friends is ruined. I am so exhausted to be honest I can't think of where to go and I have to rest because that to me was the most important thing to help me be a bit more clear headed. I don't really sleep that night, the lights are all on... and I think I wanted to stick it out for the two nights. I asked the guy at the desk if he can help me find another hotel, and he said he could not do that. And this is what I mean about helping out a client. Especially since I actually wrote about their hotel for a paid publication last year...I just felt like they didn't care. The next morning after not really sleeping I get up and to cut to the chase THE TOILET DOES NOT FLUSH AND NEARLY OVERFLOWS. It is at this point that I finally burst into tears... I called the desk and told him I cannot stay there. I called my cousin she said I had to go. I knew this but I was so exhausted the day before and its hard when you are in another country and have nowhere to go. So, I got on Trip Advisor and found another hotel.

And if you think this is over, it's not. I am now at a new hotel but the Hampton Inn had my credit card frozen for the 5 nights with incidentals though I did not even stay there, and they would not release the hold!

I have nothing more to say about this hotel, I will never return. I wrote to the sales person that I knew, who is a wonderful person but they were all off on the weekend and she sent my complaint off to the GM. The GM wrote me and they seemed to completely miss the issue. THE ISSUE IS THAT I WAS BITTEN BY BED BUGS AT 10:30AM IN THE MORNING AND I AM ALLERGIC TO THE BITES... The issue is that offering me a free night but not saying anything like we will help you find another Hampton Inn, or what else can we do for you... but to keep harping on and on that the housekeeping lady was nice to me. I know she was when I wrote up my complaint I only wrote good things about her. And then to hold my money until well after my trip was over...so, let's say I did not get to have my vacation the first two days of a 5 day trip were ruined. and I had to declare this trip a DO OVER. I have nothing more to say. I did make an official complaint to the corporate office. And I will also say writing this type of review is not fun!

The other thing is I could have told everybody at the hotel what happened, I could have warned people when I was waiting on another shuttle bus...but that's not my style. I was professional and pretty much in tears.

Room Tip: I have nothing else to say other than last year I loved this place and this year I had a nightmare t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank MissTravellerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We felt misled by the many good reviews that we read on this hotel prior to booking. It is the first time that we have had this from Tripadvisor reviews and it is almost as if we stayed at a different hotel. We arrived late (having emailed in advance) and the check in was somewhat frosty. The room was large and clean, but tired. The breakfast was very basic. Day staff are very pleasant and helpful.

Too far for an overnight from EWR if you do not have a car - The hotel shuttle stops at 10pm, this needs to be made more obvious on the hotel website and the websites of other agents such as Expedia. .... The cab ride from EWR was $45. It would be more cost and time effective to pay more for a hotel closer to EWR.

We used the hotel shuttle to get back to EWR. The interior was dirty and in poor condition.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linden
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford
1.4 mi away
Home2 Suites Rahway
Home2 Suites Rahway
#1 of 4 in Rahway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Riverview Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
2.2 mi away
Hotel Executive Suites
Hotel Executive Suites
#2 of 2 in Carteret
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Linden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Linden

Property: Hampton Inn Linden
Address: 501 W Edgar Rd, Linden, NJ 07036-3300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Linden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Linden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Linden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our NJ hotel is located at the intersection of 1 and 9 (17 miles from NYC), and we provide shuttle service to and from Linden Airport and Newark Liberty International. In addition to our free shuttle, enjoy free WiFi, free breakfast (hot and cold items), our seasonal outdoor pool and fitness room. We have 149 guest rooms, accessible rooms and suites. Our multi-lingual staff is here to help make your stay at our hotel a most enjoyable one. We also have an on-site gift shop and complimentary beverage center in our lobby. If you're in the mood for some mega-shopping, head to Jersey Gardens Outlet Mall, the largest in the state, home to 2,000 stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn Linden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Linden Hotel Linden
Linden Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing