We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Dinner”

Strip House in Livingston
Reserve with OpenTable
Strip House in Livingston is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 81 Restaurants in Livingston
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Above Livingston Circle on Route 10
Transit: Wine Down Sundays Strip House Introduces "25 for $25" Wines
Description: Overview: Strip House is located at the Westminster Hotel in Livingston, New Jersey, near Newark International Airport and Manhattan. Strip House’s imaginative menu, executed by Chef Bill Zucosky, includes prime cuts of meat charred to perfection, signature side dishes such as truffle creamed spinach and goose fat potatoes, an extensive wine list and the famed 24-layer chocolate cake. Indulge in a seductive dining experience in the famed New Jersey steak house. The striking red interior, designed by David Rockwell, is decorated with black and white images of women photographed by Studio Manasse in the early 1900's in Vienna. “[Strip House] is a steakhouse par excellence.” – Star Ledger Private Dining: Strip House has a private dining room that reflects the ambiance of the main dining room and can accommodate up to 18 people. The room is equipped with plasma screens, PC connections and wireless Internet access. Our private room is available without a room rental fee. Valet parking is available as well as self-parking. Menus are printed for each individual private dining event. We are happy to personalize the menu by including the company name and logo. To further enrich your dining experience, you can choose additions such as Champagne toasts and specialty cakes created by our talented executive pastry chef. Restaurant buy-outs are also available.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

My wife and I went to the Strip House for our anniversary. The food was excellent and it had a nice atmosphere. We found it to be a little pricey but didn't mind since it was a special occasion. Our steaks were delicious and our dessert was yummy!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Konameisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    32
    24
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, NJ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Food is delicious...always. Their fish (tuna, in particular) is outstanding. Love their salads and desserts. Wait staff is courteous and non-intrusive.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank insom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
367 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“There are better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

It's a dimly lit place when you first enter. It is a hotel restaurant and appeared as if you were in a Starbucks restaurant with many patrons on their laptops. These people were a distraction and should be dining at the bar. The appetizers were good. I had a crisp iceberg lettuce that was filling. Others had shrimp cocktails and enjoyed them. I sampled the filet and the tuna. The former was okay, nothing special, and the latter was overcooked. The side of cream spinach was very tasty. The meat didn't deliver what the price indicated it should. It's not a top flight steak house but the meal was good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Just So So”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We dined on four consecutive nights while staying in the hotel. This is a traditional New York style steak house. It is comfortable, darkly lit, and is reminiscent of a movie set version of a french bordello (I happen to like this).

Our first night was a disaster in that we enjoy our beef very rare. Unfortunately, this restaurant leaves the meet in refrigeration until just before it goes on the grill. You cannot produce a quality rare steak using this procedure and I wound up leaving mine untouched.

Management handled the first night well and, because we were staying in the hotel, we tried again. By staying away from steak, we had 3 pleasant (not outstanding) dinners on following nights.

I would eat in this restaurant again if I were staying in the hotel. However, if I were staying elsewhere, I would not consider this place as an option.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank byrddawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stick with the steak.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

As other reviewers have noted, the food quality may be variable but their steaks are good. We came for dinner one evening and my wife was not that hungry so she ordered two appetizers. The Lobster Bisque was a little thin and did not have much lobster meat but she enjoyed it nevertheless. She also got Oysters Rockefeller which she enjoyed. I had heard that the steak was good and the 15 oz strip I got was among the best I'd ever had; perfectly cooked and a good 2 inches thick. The side we tried (a potato dish) looked like the potatoes they had served on the breakfast buffet with some cheese and garlic sprinkled over them. To be fair the waiter had recommended another side but potatoes seem to go with steak. All in all a pleasant meal but not sure it was worth the price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wingtravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Strip House in Livingston also viewed

 

Been to Strip House in Livingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing