We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strip House in Livingston

Strip House in Livingston
Reserve with OpenTable
Strip House in Livingston is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 80 Restaurants in Livingston
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Above Livingston Circle on Route 10
Transit: Wine Down Sundays Strip House Introduces "25 for $25" Wines
Description: Overview: Strip House is located at the Westminster Hotel in Livingston, New Jersey, near Newark International Airport and Manhattan. Strip House’s imaginative menu, executed by Chef Bill Zucosky, includes prime cuts of meat charred to perfection, signature side dishes such as truffle creamed spinach and goose fat potatoes, an extensive wine list and the famed 24-layer chocolate cake. Indulge in a seductive dining experience in the famed New Jersey steak house. The striking red interior, designed by David Rockwell, is decorated with black and white images of women photographed by Studio Manasse in the early 1900's in Vienna. “[Strip House] is a steakhouse par excellence.” – Star Ledger Private Dining: Strip House has a private dining room that reflects the ambiance of the main dining room and can accommodate up to 18 people. The room is equipped with plasma screens, PC connections and wireless Internet access. Our private room is available without a room rental fee. Valet parking is available as well as self-parking. Menus are printed for each individual private dining event. We are happy to personalize the menu by including the company name and logo. To further enrich your dining experience, you can choose additions such as Champagne toasts and specialty cakes created by our talented executive pastry chef. Restaurant buy-outs are also available.
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So so average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I recently went here for my 5lst birthday. So so average. I have been here many times for a special occasions but this time it was disappointing. The Filet Mignon had so much pepper on it it was hard to eat. The Mahi Mahi and the Salmon was overcooked! With so many great steak houses in the area I would think twice about coming here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank doctorsnotmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    32
    24
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Could be better...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Hard to find restaurant connected to a hotel complex.  Pretty slow when we arrived, and classic steakhouse vibe – dark light, dark wood, and expensive (and yes, they charge you extra for side dishes)!  Service can be better, food is okay if you don’t mind waiting.  Would I come back here?  Probably not – there are better & cheaper options around.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“No customer orientation”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The food was average overall. The steak was fairly underdone for what was ordered as medium-well. Perhaps they understood it as medium-rare. We didn't send it back, though.

They don't have a children's menu, so for the 2 children we ordered 2 sides and the large (14 oz) fillet mignon to share. My wife and I had a fish and a pork chop entree. The pork chop was a bit too dry.

Despite a $200 bill, and the fact that they don't have a children's menu, we were charged $7 for "plate sharing" for the children. There were only 3 tables occupied, including us. So I suppose their choice was to give the customers a better experience, or milk each one for what they can. Clearly they chose the latter.
With that kind of pathetic customer focus, we won't be going back again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptainDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A quiet dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The food is good and the service is attentive. The restaurant has not been crowded during our visits so it does not get loud like some other steak houses. It is decorated in the old steakhouse vein, that is, red brocade walls and dark woods.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Manhattan level steakhouse in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

This place has the feel of an old school NYC steakhouse tucked away on route 10 in Livingston. While the formula is tried and true, the execution has to be flawless at these prices- and they've yet to miss the mark during my half dozen visits. Veggies are perfectly prepared and served. Seafood apps are flavorful and abundant. Then there is the steak-a flawless medium rare. Quality cuts, juicy and delectable. Service has always been outstanding too.

I've been here with my wife but also with large groups of every age. They have a medium sized private room for such affairs that is ideal. If you live nearby, love steak, and have the money to spend, this can be a go-to spot.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Strip House in Livingston also viewed

 

Been to Strip House in Livingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing