We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't leave hungry”
Review of Eppes Essen

Eppes Essen
Ranked #7 of 81 Restaurants in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“You won't leave hungry”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Eppes has a wide variety of menu options. The soup is very good. The sandwiches are huge. My favorite has the turkey, pastrami and cole slaw on rye. Yum! I have also tried their breakfasts which are good too. Yes the prices are high but you are getting a lot of food so it makes sense. My only complaint is that the soda is in cans so no refills. If you order just water you can sometimes be very thirsty because the wait staff isn't the best or most attentive most of the time. You practically have to flag someone over to get a water refill. This is not just from one time eating there but from many times. But the food makes it worth the trip.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donnadisneymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    40
    23
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Encino
Level Contributor
197 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Share your meal”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My wife and I had the opportunity to eat at Eppes Essen while in New Jersey on vacation.
When we received the menu and I started examining the prices, I felt this place was a little on the high end with sandwiches in the $15.00 + range. However once the food came I fully understood that the prices were more than fair based on the portion size of the meal. We had a bowl of matzoh ball soup and they give you two large balls. One couldn't even attempt to finish off a knish.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1momo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A fun, good place to have authentic deli, the old-fashioned way”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This restaurant, not far from our home in Summit, is a throwback to old times when corned beef, pastrami, tongue, etc. were considered soul food for a certain segment of the population. We have been here with large groups recently and have consistently enjoyed their offerings and the extras, pickles, sour tomatoes, cole slaw, healthy cabbage salad. And the wait staff has been accommodating, pleasant and funny! It's of a certain type, but very good for what it is.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great matzo ball soup”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Had take out for the Super Bowl. Great matzo ball soup, very tasty corned beef but the prices are ridiculous. $10 for half a loaf of rye bread? Oy vey!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iancolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
livingston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“a great place to eat--breakfast, lunch and dinner”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

we eat at Eppes at least once a week. The food is always excellent, the service is friendly and attentive. It's a very homey feeling, with the very best manager!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shella k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eppes Essen also viewed

 

Been to Eppes Essen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing