We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good creative Italian cuisine.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Vicolo - CLOSED

Il Vicolo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cooper City, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good creative Italian cuisine.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Nice atmosphere. The service is very good. The food portions are creative, tasty and very generous. Good value for the money.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RonS1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
152 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Very good food, BYOB, can accommodate a large group”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

From the outside, Il Vicolo looks very unassuming, sitting on the side of a strip of stores. Once you go inside, however, the atmosphere is fine and the food is quite good. I was searching for a good Italian restaurant within 5 miles or so of Short Hills that could accommodate our party of 15-20 people and had at least a semi-private room (which turned out to be a lot harder than it sounds, within a reasonable price range), and Il Vicolo turned out to be an excellent choice. We arrived at 6 pm and were seated in a 2nd room which was set up for 3 large parties. The other parties did not arrive until 7 pm, and although by then there were perhaps 50-60 people total in the room, the noise level was acceptable.

All of us were quite happy with our appetizers and entrees, ranging from fish to pasta to veal. We had diners ranging in age from 8 to 80, including a vegetarian and a lactose-intolerant guest, and the menu offered options for everyon at fair prices (entrees were approx. $15-23). The servers had trouble remembering who ordered what for each course, but this was just a minor note. We would definitely go back next time we are in this area again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marvi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, NJ
Level Contributor
126 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Comfortable Setting, Pleasant Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Il Vicolo has a wide selection of very well prepared food with professional, unobtrusive staff. The two rooms are large and comfortable. My husband asked for his swordfish to be rare, and not only was it, but it was the best swordfish he had ever eaten. While I tend to order fish, the pasta and meat entrees are just as good. We have been here at least a dozen times with friends, by ourselves, and occasionally for a business lunch. No one has not been pleased with their meals and the experience. One friend from Middlesex County was so impressed he bought his wife up for dinner that weekend. And with each dinner you get a complementary appetizer and a plate of fruit for dessert.

The prices are reasonable - $23 prix fixe which includes a generous selection of appetizers and entrees as well as dessert and coffee available Monday to Thursday. Coupons are available that will be applied to your meal all nights. The luncheon is a veritable bargain.

If you want very well prepared food at good prices in a pleasant environment, try Il Vicolo.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DianaID19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Montana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Value and service great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Pre fixe dinner a real bargain. Ambiance a bit dark but convenient and tasty food. Coupons at a discount too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ritafcohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
livingston, new jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Italian gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Whether for elegant lunch (very reasonable) or lovely dinner (also affordable for the excellent quality) this is a favorite. They made me a vegetarian lentil soup on the spot; my husband's osso bucco was memorable. Portions are large, staff extremely well trained, a very fine establishment.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank macbethLivingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Vicolo also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing