We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steady above average food”
Review of Il Ripasso

Il Ripasso
Ranked #20 of 82 Restaurants in Livingston
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: located just beyond Northfiled Road
West Orange, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Steady above average food”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

No surprises - been here many times. Friendly greeting and service. Nice atmosphere. Many repeat customers. BYOB Food is above average.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank raymond p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    16
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Metro New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful local Italian/Mediterranean restaurant with great specials.”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We enjoyed our meal and we have been here numerous times. The dinner specials are always well prepared, with good taste and presentation. If you want an above average dinner, this is a great place to go. The service is always friendly and fun. Some people complain that the host can be somewhat arrogant, but I think that he is trying to be funny.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Terrific Italian food and great Waiter!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

What a cute place and in all these years I never knew it was there. Delicious food - the eggplant parmigiana was terrific, great salads, great homemade pastas. I ordered something simple - homemade pasta with veal bolognese sauce and it tasted so incredibly fresh. The desserts were terrific too and a nice assortment to pick from.

Our favorite part of this restaurant was the waiter. An older guy, and from Italy, I think he spoke about 5 languages and he couldn't have been friendlier or more accommodating.

We'd absolutely come back to this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank crapschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A surprise - better than most other local Italian restaurants.”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

From the staff to the food - almost top notch. Very pleasant atmosphere. They use very high quality produce. We go back many times.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raymond p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Providence, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great old school Italian.”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Never eating in Livingston, glad we came here. From Manhatten , there re loads of great Italian eateries. This place easily rates with any one of them. Food is good...above average, and great for area. Atmosphere is top notch. Really enjoyed the experience and service was great. Older Italian waiter speaking broken English actually added something to the entire night. It is a bring your own place,....they don't serve alcohol....a lot of places are like this in the area...it works, bring a few bottles. A great night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Ripasso also viewed

 

Been to Il Ripasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing