We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Livingston Diner

Livingston Diner
Ranked #35 of 81 Restaurants in Livingston
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
724 reviews
371 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Decent food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Dependable, low cost, above average diner food. The staff is quite accommodating and th menu extensive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    19
    17
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
144 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“OK Diner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Decent food. I'd stick to ordering burgers, salads, Greek dishes, or breakfast foods. Friendly, efficient service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skater741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
2,901 reviews
1,916 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 937 helpful votes
“Not my choice for a meal...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

I ate at the Livingston Diner this past weekend because my elderly mother wanted to go there for Mother's Day (instead of a fancier restaurant). She evidently enjoys the food here, and since it was her day, that's where we went.

The Livingston Diner is not very large inside, or very fancy. The clientele are almost entirely senior citizens, mainly (I believe) because the meals are inexpensive and "complete" (meaning they come with soup, salad, and dessert). The soup I ordered was a bean soup that tasted OK...like a decent out-of-the-can soup should. It wasn't bad, but wasn't exceptional either. The bread basket they brought out had four thin slices of a semi-stale bread that wasn't really worth eating.

For the main course, I ordered a dish of seafood-stuffed shrimp. THIS DISH DID NOT MAKE THE GRADE. There were four shrimps on the plate, each of which had obviously been frozen and thawed. They were small and tough, and were nowhere near being fresh. Each of these with topped with a tablespoon clump of something, (bread crumbs?), into which a small bit of seafood may have been ground. These little mounds were then grilled to brown, and served with some veggies. I could have made this dish much better myself with basic ingredients and very little experience.

I wanted to give this place a '3' because my mom likes it, but I just couldn't. I felt it was a complete waste of a meal. I will not come back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
133 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“It's Greek To Me”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Had lunch here after visiting the Turtle Back Zoo nearby. Good coffee and good diner food. We had mozzarella sticks, french toast, a turkey sandwich and a gyro. Make sure you get a seat near the back, near the greek columns and statues!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good for a quick meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

This is not a fancy diner and the service is okay but the food is decent and I don't mind to eat here if I need a quick meal. The breakfast is good and any sandwhiches or meals I have had were diner acceptable. Don't count on a huge gourmet meal that you find in some other diners around but overall it is not bad.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank donnadisneymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Livingston Diner also viewed

 

Been to Livingston Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing