We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Good Diner!”
Review of Ritz Diner

Ritz Diner
Ranked #8 of 82 Restaurants in Livingston
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A Very Good Diner!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I love NJ diners and visited with family there for lunch. I ordered a lox and bagel platter and it was delicious! I asked for extra tomatoes and pickles, since I saw pickles on my husband's plate, they looked good and he wouldn't share....there was cole slaw in a bucket-type dish on the table, but lacked a spoon in it. The rice pudding was not as good as at the Hibernia Diner, 'though, since it was too "eggy" and too wet. My family ordered omelettes and salads. They were happy with their meals. I have been there before and would go back again iwhen in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ileen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    69
    33
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
3,047 reviews
2,019 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 987 helpful votes
“Good food, good breakfast, crowded place”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

It had been at least 30 years since I'd dined in this place. (Actually, it was called the Heritage Diner back then.) Anyway, this was kind of a neat return for me, as this restaurant is in my home town. The set-up of the inside is different today, but the feel of the place is about the same.

The Ritz has a very large diner, and offers a whole lot of different cuisines to meet your individual tastes. Since we stopped in for breakfast, I ordered a ham & cheese sandwich with hash browns. What I got was exactly as I expected; a nice omelet but REALLY nice hash browns. They have a way of browning the entire side of the taters to make them nice and crispy, just as I love them.

The service was good here, although rushed and not particularly friendly. (I don't mean that in a bad way, but she was too rushed to make pleasant talk.) Still, she was prompt and efficient.

This meal was good an well-worth the cost. I would gladly return for other meals in the future.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great local diner”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have been here many times, but didn't think about a review because it's local. I usually review places I go to on vacation. I must apologize, because it's really a great place to eat. The salads and burgers are the best I've ever had. There is a huge menu, so there's something for everyone. You won't be disappointed. They were even on "Diners, Drive-ins and Dives" a few years ago for their apple pie. Enjoy!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SusanK815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
livingston
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“as good as a diner gets!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

large selection of breakfast, lunch and dinner items. food is consistent and the bakery is a plus. Great for late night snacks. Don't miss the Danish, apple pie and thick milkshakes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shella k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I had the Cobb Salad and I think it's the best I've ever had! Everything was so fresh. Fantastic! The atmosphere was typical for a diner, but it was quite loud inside. The service was slow, but it was lunchtime and so it was busy, and the food made up for it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovestobake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ritz Diner also viewed

 

Been to Ritz Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing