We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel for Corporate event or any occasion”
Review of Westminster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westminster Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Livingston
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel for Corporate event or any occasion”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This November will be our third year holding a large 2 day corporate event at the Westminster. Jennifer is fabulous to work with on all the details. The food served to our large crowd is always wonderful and the break snacks are delicious. The resturant is good for dinner and the hotel is situated near plenty of other eateries, shopping and close to Newark ariport. I had a massage at the hotel spa and it was terrific.
The hotel rooms are large, very clean and very comfortable. This is a great place to stay for any reason!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank noplacelikehome123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    223
    83
    41
    20
See reviews for
190
137
34
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
198 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Way too expensive! Comfortable bed and great internet, but, limited number of TV channels to view; very rude staff; not able to keep up with the clean-up needed after events; very poor signage; inconvenient parking - with no way of getting luggage to the room without having to use stairs.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPMcGuire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, General Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your post and for your kind words about our beds and internet service. I am truly sorry that some areas of your stay fell short and you have my sincere apology for this.

You should know that we are upgrading our television offerings. By the end of this year we will feature 43 channels representing a broad spectrum of choices and 18 of which will be true HD. We are confident that our guests will enjoy this great new enhancement.

I am sorry that you found our signage confusing and our parking inconvenient, but we do have a fully covered entrance with bellmen on duty to assist guests with luggage as they arrive. In addition, we do have several parking lots at least 3 of which do not involve any steps to enter the building.

I am most distressed that you found our staff rude. We work very hard to deliver a premium experience to all guests, but i can promise that we will work in earnest to improve our service in all areas as we always do.

I would be most interested to speak with you personally and look forward to a chance to learn more about your time here so that we can better serve other guests. You can reach me directly on 973.548.0036.

Sincerely,

Michael Polese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I stayed in a suite and it was very nice! I had to go to a wedding close by which was very convenient. The only thing I did not like was the lighting in my room! It was very difficult to ready, being that I am a female. Other than the poor lighting, I had a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinNJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We (5 sisters, 1 brother and families) had the pleasure of staying at the Westminster a few weeks ago. Our cousin was getting married and this was their hotel of choice and I can now see why. The hotel is lovely, clean and the staffs are most accommodating. Our rooms were spacious and comfortable. My sisters took advantage of the pool daily and found it relaxing. While the wedding reception was at another location, the hotel provided free shuttle service which was an added bonus. The food was good and again (can’t say it enough!) the staff was amazing. Thank you for a memorable stay, I will definitely recommend the Westminster to others and if I’m fortunate enough to find another Westminster in my travels, that’s where I’m booking!
Petrusia

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petrusia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This was my third time staying at the Westminster. I look for somewhere that's luxurious yet comfortable when I'm traveling. The Westminster fits those requirements perfectly! From the restaurant to the pool to the spa, everything is what you'd expect from a four diamond hotel. I've stayed in some luxury hotels for business travel and this is by far the best place to stay for the friendly, yet upscale and refined atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliGirl818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergenfield, NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I have to admit I wasn't expecting much from a weekend getaway in Livingston, NJ but boy was I surprised. This was a short getaway for myself and my boyfriend and we had such a wonderful time at this great little hotel. Upon walking in I immediately knew it was going to be special. From the warm greeting at the reception, to the friendly bellman who took us to our room, we were off to a great start. We relaxed for awhile in our room before heading to the Strip House, the restaurant in the hotel, for an amazing dinner. The atmosphere was sleek and sexy and the food was incredible. We then retired back to our room where had an amazing night's sleep in the most comfortabale bed ever. We awoke the next day and headed out to the ShortHills mall for some great shopping. The complimentary shuttle was such a great amenity. After shopping we returned to the hotel and ventured to the spa for a wonderful massage followed by a dip in the pool. Afterwards we ordered a great meal from room service which exceeded our expectations. After another night in that amazing bed we headed back home, relaxed, refreshed and planning our next little escape to the Westminster.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lionsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stateline, Nevada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I stayed here on a two night business trip. The hotel appears clean, the room nicely appointed and the linens (bed and bath) very nice. My problem started with a cup of tea made with the in room coffee machine ( one of the pod kind) . When I went to drink it, a horrible stench emanated and I realized the coffee machine was encrusted with MOLD...yuk. The next morning, when taking a shower, the drain backed up and I stood in 8 inches of water... yuk. Additionally the walls are so thin you can hear the conversations of those in the room next to you. Not good. I told the front desk of my issues. Upon my return that evening, no note or VM was provided addressing my concerns. I did get a phone call about 9pm letting me know the coffee machine had been replaced but she could not confirm if the drain had been fixed. The hotel also removed the room charge for one night. The hotel also offers a continental breakfast in the morning, but did not inform me upon check in, and only due to my visit to the front desk was I informed of this.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BR58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, General Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your kind words - "The hotel appears clean, the room nicely appointed and the linens (bed and bath) very nice" - but we certainly apologize for our failures. We did offer one night on a complimentary basis to compensate you for your inconvenience and feel sure that you will agree that this was more than fair.

Still, our goal is to have our guests leave with the intention of returning and your review suggests that you are unsure about coming back. I hope you will accept my personal invitation to return. I have reached out to you by telephone and email and hope to hear back from you soon. I'm eager to find a way to improve your impression of our hotel. Please contact me on 973.548.0036 at your earliest convenience. I look forward to speaking with you.

Warm regards,

Michael Polese
General Manager
973.548.0036
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
4.9 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Residence Inn West Orange
Residence Inn West Orange
#2 of 4 in West Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
4.4 mi away
HYATT house Morristown
HYATT house Morristown
#2 of 5 in Morristown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westminster Hotel

Property: Westminster Hotel
Address: 550 W Mount Pleasant Ave, Livingston, NJ 07039-1608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westminster Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely chic. Inviting and inspired. Open your eyes to the extraordinary at Westminster Hotel, a different kind of luxury hotel. Situated right in the heart of Livingston, New Jersey, our AAA Four Diamond hotel caters to the distinct tastes of today's travelers. Make reservations for stylish hotel guest rooms and suites boasting a classic contemporary design. While you're here, you'll enjoy a refined mix of first-class amenities intended to please everyone from destination spa hotel goers to corporate hotel guests in Westminster Club Level Rooms and Suites. Elaborate or intimate. Elegant wedding receptions or Fortune 500 company executive conferences. Westminster Hotel provides premier meeting facilities, social event venues, banquet rooms—even exquisite outdoor event space—for an array of special occasions. Surrender to a seductive dining experience at the New Jersey location of Strip House Restaurant, one of America’s best steakhouses. And treat yourself to the hotel’s decadent spa services, state-of-the-art health and fitness center and indoor heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi. In the neighborhood? Drop by and say "hi." We proudly serve our beautiful northern New Jersey community and beyond, hosting Livingston, NJ and Essex County neighbors and guests from surrounding cities, including Florham Park, Short Hills, East Hanover, Parsippany, Basking Ridge and Morristown. Westminster Hotel is located only 20 minutes from Newark Liberty International Airport and 20 miles west of New York City. Convenient train access is a short ride away and runs directly into Penn Station in midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Livingston, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing