We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Local Escape!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Westminster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westminster Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Livingston
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Local Escape!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

From check-in til check-out this hotel provided comfortable and attentive service. Upon arrival I was greeted promptly, checked-in and was asked if I wanted to hear about the hotel's amenities. With a spa and a 24-hour fitness room, I was set to go. The room was nice and plush. The towels were nice, the bath products were nice and there was a robe hanging in the closet. I love when there's a nice robe in the closet :) The "Strip House" is the house restaurant offering a great atmosphere, friendly staff and great bar. I sat at the bar, had a couple drinks and ordered the filet. Great food at a very affordable price. The duck-fat-dipped potatoes were described as "an igloo of fun" and indeed that's what they were! When it came time for check out, everything went smoothly and efficiently. As a plus, the shuttle service is great. They'll take you just about wherever you need to go! Next time I'm in the area, I'll be sure to stay here again and hopefully check out the spa services!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are truly pleased to hear that you found your “Great Local Escape”. Our staff works diligently to ensure unparallel guest experience, it's great to hear that you received prompt and attentive service. We also would like to thank you for mentioning some of the great amenities that we offer such as the spa and the complimentary shuttle service.
Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Westminster Hotel.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    218
    79
    40
    20
See reviews for
183
135
33
196
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

I travelled on business, had a Excellent 2 days stay with excellent amenities and toileteries. Hotel staff especially Ms. Zohre was very nice and courteous. Will return again. thanks for making our stay a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 20SG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your short and sweet review. We are so delighted to hear that your stay was fantastic. We do pride ourselves on our friendly and knowledgeable staff.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Westminster Hotel.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

For the price we paid on hotels.com, we got a truly incredible value in this hotel. Service was top-notch. The room felt luxurious and clean. Over-sized towels and a really nice shower head in the bathroom. Quiet. Free wifi. I have nothing bad to say about our stay here (ok, ONE thing- the furniture set-up in the room was a little strange and made it feel tight, but it wasn't a big deal overall). Love that there was a little couch nook.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StPeteGemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing review. We are very happy to hear that you found our hotel to be a great value and our rooms luxurious. Our staff is wholly committed to creating wonderful experiences and it is rewarding to know that we are succeeding.
Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

I stayed there on a business trip down the street. It's a lot better than the Ramada Inn down the street. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast buffet was OK, but lacking in variety the amount of people using it, as there was no one dining for breakfast. I had to pay for internet service so one night I just skipped it. The pool and jacuzzi were good and not crowded. The exercise room was great because it had both nautilus and free weights, and a lot of little things for the size, like mats. Overall, a good place to stay in the area, compared to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill_Kline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that all in all, you had a good stay. It is also our pleasure to inform you that we are now offering complimentary High Speed Internet Service to all of our guests. We were recently ranked one of the top 10 hotels in NJ by US News and are working everyday to provide even better guest experience. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

Just stayed overnight as a stress relief gift from my wife, impressed! Great massage services, nice clean updated room and the stip house restaurant was excellent!!! Especially the martini's. Hotel staff was very nice and courteous .
Will be back sometime again!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Dear John R,
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and for all of the great information you have given other travelers. We are delighted to hear that you had some time to relax at the Westminster Hotel and enjoyed the great amenities that we offer. Our staff do work diligently to make everyone's stay memorable. We look forward to your return.

Best,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

We came for a two night stay. The hotel is clean staff seems friendly what little interaction we had with them. The room is clean but odd. Lots of furniture makes it cramped. There a couch , desk, 2 beds , a mobile bar with a refrigerator and dresser. Two of the drawers can't be opened due to over lapping furniture very strange. The biggest problem if your a light sleeper is the air conditioning system very loud and that's how those motel 6 though the wall units are. The gym provides no towel to wipe sweat off the machines (gross) and the cardio equipment is sub par crap it might say cyber on it but it's there low end line. Don't expect coffee in the lobby or a paper at your door. They provide coffe in the room but who want to make it.The Hyatt and the Ritz have spoiled us which im embarassed to say. For the money I guess you get a descent deal and place to stay but no small touches that make a memorable stay. One othe complaint there's a valet/door guy who watch me and my family struggle with our luggage thanks a lot your a hard working classy guy,,!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayd68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Dear Rayd 68,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. Your kind words about our staff and the cleanliness of the hotel are greatly appreciated and will be passed on to our team members.
We are dismayed to learn that the furnishing of the room wasn't up to your liking. We also regret that our fitness center did not meet your expectations. We provide towels and spray bottles in the fitness center and do our best to replenish them routinely. Please also note that, complimentary papers are available in the lobby and can be sent up to guest rooms upon request.
Please accept our deepest appogies for not offering you assistance with your luggage. Your experience certainly is not the norm at the Westminster Hotel. We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. I would be personally happy to assist you with your accommodation arrangements and turn your "just okay" experience into a great one the next time around. Please contact me directly when you are planning a return trip. I can be reached at 973.533.0600 ext:2005

Best,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

I just returned from a quick business trip and stayed at the Westminster. The hotel is not a luxury type of property, but definitely a good choice for a short stay. The rooms aren't fancy but they're nicely appointed and very clean. The highlight of my quick trip was dinner at the Strip House restaurant at the hotel. Definitely not an inexpensive meal, but the steaks were great and the service was excellent. My one real gripe was that the on-demand movies were $15 plus tax. Really?!! I don't think I've seen them cost anywhere, including Manhattan, so I certainly wouldn't pay that in Livingston, NJ. And I am referring to mainstream, recent release movies.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLP66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Dear JLP66,

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our award winning Striphouse restaurant. We also truly appreciate all of the specifics noted in your comments. The Westsminster Hotel offers a contemporary, upscale environment. We were recently ranked one of the top 10 hotels in NJ by US News. In addition, we are a AAA Four Diamond hotel for the last 9 consecutive years. We are working hard to add new service amenities every day – the most recent one being the return of complimentary high speed internet access.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to making your stay even more enjoyable when you return.

Best,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
4.9 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange
4.4 mi away
HYATT house Morristown
HYATT house Morristown
#2 of 5 in Morristown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westminster Hotel

Property: Westminster Hotel
Address: 550 W Mount Pleasant Ave, Livingston, NJ 07039-1608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westminster Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely chic. Inviting and inspired. Open your eyes to the extraordinary at Westminster Hotel, a different kind of luxury hotel. Situated right in the heart of Livingston, New Jersey, our AAA Four Diamond hotel caters to the distinct tastes of today's travelers. Make reservations for stylish hotel guest rooms and suites boasting a classic contemporary design. While you're here, you'll enjoy a refined mix of first-class amenities intended to please everyone from destination spa hotel goers to corporate hotel guests in Westminster Club Level Rooms and Suites. Elaborate or intimate. Elegant wedding receptions or Fortune 500 company executive conferences. Westminster Hotel provides premier meeting facilities, social event venues, banquet rooms—even exquisite outdoor event space—for an array of special occasions. Surrender to a seductive dining experience at the New Jersey location of Strip House Restaurant, one of America’s best steakhouses. And treat yourself to the hotel’s decadent spa services, state-of-the-art health and fitness center and indoor heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi. In the neighborhood? Drop by and say "hi." We proudly serve our beautiful northern New Jersey community and beyond, hosting Livingston, NJ and Essex County neighbors and guests from surrounding cities, including Florham Park, Short Hills, East Hanover, Parsippany, Basking Ridge and Morristown. Westminster Hotel is located only 20 minutes from Newark Liberty International Airport and 20 miles west of New York City. Convenient train access is a short ride away and runs directly into Penn Station in midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Livingston, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing