We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in Livingston”
Review of Westminster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westminster Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Ho Kus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An oasis in Livingston”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We won a night stay at the Westminster Hotel in a raffle and decided to make it a mini mid-holiday get away. It was a perfect retreat. The hotel is contemporary in style, immaculately clean and has fabulous amenities. We relaxed in the indoor pool and Jacuzzi and indulged in a massage. Our dinner at the hotel's restaurant, The Strip House was delicious. While I can't say that Livingston is the most scenic area, the local restaurants are excellent and the hotel is fabulous.
We came home rested and ready to face the next round of celebrations.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 456Mary1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Souns like a perfect get away to me!
Thank you for your delightful, 5 star review. I am so happy that you won a stay and got a chance to rejuvenate at the Westminster Hotel. I agree with you, our indoor pool & Jacuzzi are so relaxing and the dinner at the Striphouse is phenomenal. Thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community. I am thankful for your kind praises.
We hope to welcome you back on many more occasions.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    232
    87
    42
    20
See reviews for
196
139
36
214
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Reasonable business hotel in New Jersey. Rooms are good. Hotel is clean. Fitness area is relatively small, have not tried the pool. One of the biggest drawbacks is that there are no good restaurants in walking distance and the in-house restaurant/steakhouse is fine, but is expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CauponaConsul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review our hotel. While we are delighted to read that you enjoyed many aspects of our hotel, I am sorry to hear that the location didn't suit your needs. There are many exquisite restaurants located just minutes of driving distance away from the hotel. Our complimentary shuttle service is also available to take you anywhere within a 5 mile radius.
Thank you for staying with us. We hope to welcome you back and are committed to exceed your expectations.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

we had a block of rooms for a wedding. everyone enjoyed the beautiful rooms that had lots of special amenities! cute mini coffee pod pot. real glass and real ceramic mugs!
Towels were huge and fluffy!
also....I had left a battery charger in room 104 and after 3 days I realized it! I called front desk and they had it and were willing to mail it back to me!
The only "con" was that the restaurant/bar was VERY pricey! mixed drinks were over $10 each so it did limit most of our guests!
Bar was tight for a large group but I did see many tables for dinner.
The complimentary coffee area was Keurig filled but it would have been nice to see wrapped cookies or muffins available at anytime.
Overall though, a great hotel!

Room Tip: 104 or 105 are lobby level and very convient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jugs6686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the excellent comments. I am delighted to hear that you and everyone on your group block had a wonderful stay at the Westminster Hotel. A great experience such as yours is what makes all our team efforts worthwhile. In regards to the complimentary coffee area; we recently started offering complimentary coffee in our lobby based on the valuable feedback we receive such as yours. I am happy to tell you that we will be adding more items to enhance our offerings in that area.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in 4 or 5 similar hotels in Morristown and Florham Park but this is my favourite: the location is good for getting around; the staff are friendly and helpful; the hotel's pool and jacuzzi are great; the hotel is the 'right size' for me; the rooms are clean; comfortable beds; good showers; reliable and quick wifi and I think it is the best value for money in the area.

The only downside is the lack of restaurants within walking distance. The steak restaurant linked to the hotel is great but not cheap and the breakfasts are average to poor. Still, you can't have it all and I will continue to stay at this hotel whenever I visit our NJ office.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank IRT68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your experience with us. We are so privileged to be your favorite hotel and for the opportunity to serve you. It is our upmost commitment to make you feel comfortable and relaxed each and every time you stay with us. I am so delighted to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of our hotel and will continue to stay with us. We look forward to you next visit.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Well placed near the center of Livingston, NJ, the Westminster is comfortable and has many of the amenities of higher priced facilities. Doormen and desk staff very courteous and helpful, The Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marvin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your pleasant review. We are overjoyed to hear that you had a memorable experience with us and that we had the opportunity to be of service to you. Our staff is our greatest asset and it’s great to know that you experienced Westminster’s hospitality. We would be grateful to welcome you back on many more occasions.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindfield
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed here for 3 days during a business meeting. THe meeting rooms and staff were well organised and friendly. Food was reasonable. However, the rooms, although reasonably comfortable, need some updating and work . I was originally put into a room in which the furniture was badly chipped, there were stains on the carpet and the A/C unit gave the impression of a jet engine. I requested to be moved, which they complied with, to a much better room, although still on the basic side of good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindfieldHedonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review about your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments about our staff. Our engineering team works diligently to maintain the upkeep of the rooms every day. I am also happy and very excited to tell you that a complete renovation of our back building is on the horizon. I would love to invite you back for a return trip so that you can see our renovated rooms yourself. Please don’t hesitate to contact me directly at zbingol@westminsterhotel.net when you are ready to return.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

If you are there on a weekend don't expect any sleep! The doors have such big gaps at the bottom and top you can hear everything going on in the hall! Plus you can also hear people in the bathrooms. Also make sure you bring slippers, the carpets are so dirty and stained! The plus side the staff is wonderful and really tried to help us out by moving our room.....it was no better. For the price I could have stayed in the city!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies for your experience. It is troubling to read your comments about the carpet in your room. I would greatly appreciate an opportunity to speak with you directly. Please contact me at zbingol@westminsterhotel.net . I remain at your complete disposal and will personally make sure that your next stay with us is truly remarkable.
I look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
3.9 mi away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
1,022 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#2 of 4 in West Orange
518 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
788 reviews
17.4 mi away
W Hoboken
W Hoboken
#1 of 2 in Hoboken
1,177 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westminster Hotel

Property: Westminster Hotel
Address: 550 W Mount Pleasant Ave, Livingston, NJ 07039-1608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westminster Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely chic. Inviting and inspired. Open your eyes to the extraordinary at Westminster Hotel, a different kind of luxury hotel. Situated right in the heart of Livingston, New Jersey, our AAA Four Diamond hotel caters to the distinct tastes of today's travelers. Make reservations for stylish hotel guest rooms and suites boasting a classic contemporary design. While you're here, you'll enjoy a refined mix of first-class amenities intended to please everyone from destination spa hotel goers to corporate hotel guests in Westminster Club Level Rooms and Suites. Elaborate or intimate. Elegant wedding receptions or Fortune 500 company executive conferences. Westminster Hotel provides premier meeting facilities, social event venues, banquet rooms—even exquisite outdoor event space—for an array of special occasions. Surrender to a seductive dining experience at the New Jersey location of Strip House Restaurant, one of America’s best steakhouses. And treat yourself to the hotel’s decadent spa services, state-of-the-art health and fitness center and indoor heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi. In the neighborhood? Drop by and say "hi." We proudly serve our beautiful northern New Jersey community and beyond, hosting Livingston, NJ and Essex County neighbors and guests from surrounding cities, including Florham Park, Short Hills, East Hanover, Parsippany, Basking Ridge and Morristown. Westminster Hotel is located only 20 minutes from Newark Liberty International Airport and 20 miles west of New York City. Convenient train access is a short ride away and runs directly into Penn Station in midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Livingston, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing