We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great toiletries and beds” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westminster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westminster Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Livingston
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great toiletries and beds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

OK, this may seem ridiculous, but good, organic, natural toiletries can make a hotel stay fun.
Fun packaging, natural scents, good quality, "Lather" Line. Hollandia beds were very comfortable.

Nice hotel on par with Hyatts, in the middle of suburban Livingston, NJ. Keurig coffee in lobby in am.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mg3542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Dear Guest,

We strive to enhance our guest experience with these little special details that you mentioned such as; complimentary unlimited delicious Keurig coffee in the lobby, high quality pampering toiletry products in the room etc. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed them all. Thank you for your review and please visit us again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    214
    77
    40
    20
See reviews for
175
134
33
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Very elegant entry with a beautiful outdoor terraced seating area and water feature. Such a relaxing place to sit and drink coffee or read a book. A pergola with flowers in bloom and outdoor couches underneath provided a magical experience and you would never know you were off a main street. The bedding was soft and wonderful, we enjoyed the indoor pool. Although there was a big wedding crowd in the lobby, although we were on the first floor nearby, we didn't hear a thing. Our family had a very relaxing stay here. Only comments I would make are...not enough outlets in rooms for charging phones, we needed a spoon for a yogurt and even though went to front desk, could not find one. It would be nice to provide a few pieces of plastic dinnerware in the rooms. Also, I was at the bar ordering a drink and the bartender saw me and was counting something, did not acknowledge me and kept me waiting for 5 minutes. Was not happy about that. But otherwise, top notch customer service with a smile from everyone. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Dear Guest,

What a terrific review. You described our beautiful Zen garden just the way it is meant to be. Our guests truly enjoy this area everyday. We are so glad to hear that you and your family had a relaxing stay. I am sorry about your experience with the bartender but also very happy to hear that you found our customer service to be top notch otherwise. We truly appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very nice hotel with helpful staff. Only reason not giving a 5 star is the difficulty entering & exiting due to the construction in the area (though not a deal breaker). Large comfortable rooms. Breakfast basically just a glorified continental b;fast but in nicer surroundings. We did have a problem with seating in the area as it is small and crowded while we were there. Had to pull chairs around a table for 4 to accommodate 7 of us.
Shuttle service to the local mall was an added bonus! Enjoyed and would return if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 686WarmSprings686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your excellent comments! I am glad you found your room to be comfortable and the staff was very helpful to your needs. We agree our complimentary shuttle service is such a great and popular amenity. Thank you for sharing this tip with our future travelers. I am sorry to hear that the construction area on Route 10 (about half a mile from the hotel) created difficulties for you to access to the hotel.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back when your travels bring you back our way.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The room was very nice but the bathroom could have had more shelf space for all your stuff. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were fantastic. The kids loved the pool and hot tub, but they did close at 10pm on the weekend, which was a bit too early for our family. And you have to call the front desk to have the jacuzzi bubbles turned on. The folks at the front desk and the shuttle drivers were super helpful, friendly, and engaging. I'm sure it was written somewhere, but we were really taken aback that there was no complimentary breakfast on the weekends. That's when a travelling family could really use it! The television was difficult to figure out. I swear I couldn't figure out the first night how to even get channels to flip through. We didn't eat in the restaurant, the Strip House, but it looked really cool in there and my hairdresser for the wedding said the food was really good. We were in town for a wedding--the lounge was a great place for our extended family to gather and hand out/converse. Our room was right next to the elevator and the right across the ice machine. If you are a light sleeper, DO NOT get a room in this area. The noise from the halls was very loud, however, I never heard my neighbors talking or watching TV or doing "whatever." :) Overall, the good outweighed any of the negatives, and we would gladly stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ZandGmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We enjoyed reading your detailed feedback. We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and would return. I am sorry to hear you had some difficulties with the television but please know that our dedicated staff is always at your complete disposal to make your stay more comfortable and memorable. In your future stays, please don’t hesitate to call us for any reason, we are here to help you!. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Great property with friendly staff. The Strip House is excellent as well. Only down side is that the walls are paper thin, you can hear your neighbor's conversations unfortunately. Would stay again though, request a room without an adjoining room.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JDM210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Westminster hotel and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our hotel and the Striphouse. Should your travels bring you back our way, please contact me directly at zbingol@westminstehotel.net. I will be happy to handle the details of your accommodations personally to insure you a quieter room.
Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here for a few days in preparation for our wedding. We were given an upgrade from a regular king size to the extended king size, roughly 100 more sqft space. It was big enough for the 3 crew hairdressers/makeup to do my wife, MIL, and SIL. The huge wall mirror (approx 8'x4') was helpful for them.

King bed was ultra comfortable. The fridge was nice touch. No microwave. There was a TV in the room, but never used it. Internet works fine for laptop, but sporadic for iPad. The gym would satisfy most gym rats. The business center is pretty good too. They had the Keurig system that's fully automated, just need to put in a kup and press the 10oz button for the hotel cups. The business center also has snacks, some chips, breakfast bars, popcorn, but only on the weekdays. Didn't had a chance to swim in the pool, didn't want the chlorine affecting our skin.

Free continental breakfast for weekdays only. Consists of toast, muffins, cold cereal, and the NJ "French Toast" which is just buttered pan-fried toast with powdered sugar but no egg or anything else on it. This is the second time I've encountered french toast cooked this way in NJ so be careful to order it in a diner in NJ.

Only negative? I believe the water is too hard. Soap/shampoo doesn't wash easily in the shower.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimura-sensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful and very detailed review. Tripadvisor community will surely appreciate all of this information you provided. We are overjoyed you had an “amazing stay “and enjoyed many of the amenities we offer. I am also glad to hear that we were able to upgrade your room on your special day. It is our passion to create the most memorable stays and we are grateful for opportunity to do so.

We look forward to your return visit.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Booked this hotel early for a wedding so I was able to get a early non cancellation rate which was not that bad. The hotel is pretty big and is spread out so parking near the room is not an option, was I supposed to valet?

The amenities in the room were excellent as was the bed and shower. The front desk called me by name which was a very pleasant surprise as I checked in the day before and was remembered.
Aside from the front desk, the employees seemed disorganized. This did not affect my stay, just an observation.

Used the shuttle to the wedding and the drivers could not have been nicer or more accommodating.

If ever in the area again, I will book early and stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Book early for a reduced rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelinbob19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are happy to hear that you took advantage of one of our promotional value rates listed on our website and received a great value. We also greatly appreciate your kind words about our staff. In regards to the parking; you could either use the complimentary valet service or self-park. We have entrance points to the hotel from the back parking lot and the side parking lots. I am sorry if this was confusing.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return visit.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
3.9 mi away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
17.3 mi away
W Hoboken
W Hoboken
#1 of 2 in Hoboken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
5.2 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
12.8 mi away
Bernards Inn
Bernards Inn
#1 of 1 in Bernardsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westminster Hotel

Property: Westminster Hotel
Address: 550 W Mount Pleasant Ave, Livingston, NJ 07039-1608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westminster Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely chic. Inviting and inspired. Open your eyes to the extraordinary at Westminster Hotel, a different kind of luxury hotel. Situated right in the heart of Livingston, New Jersey, our AAA Four Diamond hotel caters to the distinct tastes of today's travelers. Make reservations for stylish hotel guest rooms and suites boasting a classic contemporary design. While you're here, you'll enjoy a refined mix of first-class amenities intended to please everyone from destination spa hotel goers to corporate hotel guests in Westminster Club Level Rooms and Suites. Elaborate or intimate. Elegant wedding receptions or Fortune 500 company executive conferences. Westminster Hotel provides premier meeting facilities, social event venues, banquet rooms—even exquisite outdoor event space—for an array of special occasions. Surrender to a seductive dining experience at the New Jersey location of Strip House Restaurant, one of America’s best steakhouses. And treat yourself to the hotel’s decadent spa services, state-of-the-art health and fitness center and indoor heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi. In the neighborhood? Drop by and say "hi." We proudly serve our beautiful northern New Jersey community and beyond, hosting Livingston, NJ and Essex County neighbors and guests from surrounding cities, including Florham Park, Short Hills, East Hanover, Parsippany, Basking Ridge and Morristown. Westminster Hotel is located only 20 minutes from Newark Liberty International Airport and 20 miles west of New York City. Convenient train access is a short ride away and runs directly into Penn Station in midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Livingston, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing