We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome -- must go there for breakfast at least once”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dockside Diner

Dockside Diner
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Leonia, NJ
Level Contributor
150 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Awesome -- must go there for breakfast at least once”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

What a great place to go for breakfast or lunch. We went to the Dockside as we were leaving LBI after vacation and it was well-worth the wait. It's a very popular place so be prepared to wait during the summer but expect a great meal. We had breakfast and the menu has standards as well as very creative choices. The portions are very generous and the pricing is appropriate to what you get. We each ordered a different omelette and the waitress let us order one nice-sized pancake instead of a short stack just to satisfy my son's craving for a pancake. Service is great once you get seated. We went there 3 years ago for brunch and vowed we would go back. We liked it then and were happy that it was as good as we remembered.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CyprusMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    24
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast, great menu, unique location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Nestled right by the docks on the bay by the beach haven sailing club, this diner is a must for families on vacation! Their menu offers outstanding variety for breakfast and everything is absolutely delicious... Classic diner sized portions. Their pancakes are really fantastic- supper light and fluffy and their omelettes were a big hit with my friends... Everyone really enjoyed what they ordered! They even have some southwest inspired breakfast options like huevos rancheros and breakfast nachos which sounded delicious but did not order. I will definitely be back to try some of their other creative combos! Dockside Diner is definitely not your typical breakfast option... Sure it offers the typical choices but also much, much more! My only complaint is that it is fairly small so parties of more than 4-6 can not really sit together. As a party of 8, four of us were seated at a table and the other four sat at the counter nearby which was actually fine but not ideal. Overall, yummy food, friendly service... These people have been here for decades and they know what they're doing! Make the trip!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank acm51295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a diner is supposed to be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

This is the definition of what a classic, small diner is supposed to be, with the added benefit of being beachside. Customers can BYOB. Service was excellent, nice selection of conventional breakfast and lunch offers with some interesting additions included. Decoration is "cute diner". This a good bookend (as in other end of Long Beach Island) to Mustache Bill's Diner in Barnegot Light on the north end of the island.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DLLinDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
195 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Small and comfy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We've eaten breakfast here many times and the portions are more than ample. They get very crowded, especially on weekends in season. Lunch sandwiches are excellent too. A nice thing is that you can also order breakfast all day. They don't offer 'hokey' breakfast specials that lure you in with cheap prices only to gouge for drink prices, like competitors do. Try it, you won't be sorry you did.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barblepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayeux
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“If you value good food and service, eat here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

What a find. Great views of the beach and a nice and friendly atmosphere. The omelette was great, my husband loved his creamed chipped beef and the coffee was great. We need more places like this!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ute A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dockside Diner also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Surf City, Long Beach Island
 
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Dockside Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing