We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty impressed”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rooney's

Rooney's
Reserve with OpenTable
Rooney's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 131 Restaurants in Long Branch
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty impressed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Had dinner w/ my wife and daughter on a fri. Night... Service was excellent, food very good, raw bar oysters, clams, very good (clean, fresh)... Would recommend to anyone... No, it's not cheap, but like anything else, you get what you pay for... That analogy def. holds true at rooneys...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Usmc1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    126
    64
    39
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced and very mediocre”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just ate there again on the insistence of my in-laws. As always, service was terrible and food totally mediocre and way overpriced. Total ripoff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JerseyGuy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap or for Rich and Famous”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

If you don't mind spending $75( food only) per person for a middle of the road appetizer and dinner then go for it! The service is fair and the food is fair as well. There are some many places in the area to get good sea food at a reasonable price - this is not one of them.

Views are great so if you want to have a $15 appetizer and a few expensive drinks to watch the tide come in then this is the place for you. Yes there are some less expensive choices on the menu but not very tasty

We will not return!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great setting-Rushed service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We have always loved going to and taking friends to Rooney's as the view & food are fantastic. However the last few times there, most recently a weeknight with a very sparse crowd, I felt we were being rushed along. The service has suffered from a group of servers who feel that rushing out dinners before salads are done , and clearing plates as you take your last bite- and before others at the table have finished is good service. Efficient perhaps, but not relaxing that is conducive with the beautiful setting. On a night with open tables , there should be no rush. Especially at the prices being charged. My advice - if you want to charge high prices for good food at an incredible beachfront setting, at least make it enjoyable. Very discouraged & thus will not be rushing back. 4 stars for food and setting-2 stars for service and experience.

Helpful?
Thank Dmlynch0531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good service, good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I struggled as to whether or not I would give this place a 3 or a 4 stars. The food was expensive, but that was to be expected, and the server was great. What was not good was the constant traffic of poeple, the attention that was given on trying to find a hostess and menue, but once it got going our server did a great job and was attentive. We had the three pound angry lobster which was awesome. Good for families but not for romantic dining.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank EMACE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rooney's also viewed

Long Branch, Jersey Shore
Long Branch, Jersey Shore
 
Long Branch, Jersey Shore
Long Branch, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Rooney's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing