We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winter Escape” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bungalow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bungalow Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Long Branch
Certificate of Excellence
Keyport, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Winter Escape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed here during one of the several snow storms. All I have to say is this place is fantastic. The lobby was something out of an HGTV show, so elegant yet trendy. Big focal point is the floor-to-ceiling picture of a Queen Elizabeth II stamp, made entirely of ivory buttons no less. The room was comfortable. All white with color accents (i.e. the rug, wall fixtures, lamps, etc.) very very chic and THE MOST COMFORTABLE BED I HAVE EVER HAD THE PRIVILEGE OF LAYING MY BODY ON...if I could've fit it in my suitcase I would've taken it home. Seriously you don't know what comfort is until you wrap yourself in that down comforter on that bed, trust me. Its location within a residential/commercial complex was different, but in a good way. Its not full service, so being surrounded by a dozen various restaurants to choose from was awesome. And the fact that people actually live around the hotel, everywhere had a good crowd so you never feel alone or awkward. The front desk attendants were helpful and cheery, very accommodating. Overall, I would definitely suggest a stay here. Its a nice little getaway.

Room Tip: go with the hangloose room, little more room then their standard but it really makes the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Manager at Bungalow Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review of the Bungalow Hotel. I am pleased to hear that our team has dellivered a great experience during your stay with us and that you found our hotel to be comfortable and its location inviting and enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back again! Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    48
    20
    10
    13
See reviews for
40
104
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights in July 2013. We'd travelled from Princeton as part of a tour of NY/NJ and it was easy to find. You can park outside the property for a short period but you have to move your vehicle to the car park opposite (only about twenty steps).

This was a really cool hotel; one of the nicest we stayed at on our trip. The room was beautiful, not an amazing view from the window but inside it was a lovely place to spend two nights. I'd half expect this hotel to be too cool for us, but it was very quiet. Travelling there you can see the damage from the storm nine months earlier, so I'm guessing that's why it was quieter.

The lobby and reception were really nice, and there's a small selection of shops/restaurants within walking distance. You get free access to a Gold's gym which is a five minute walk away.

The highlight of the trip was going to Le Club, which is a beach-front private members club. We hired a cabana for about $100, which got us a small hut in a private area of the beach. We were the only ones there, so it was an amazing experience to have that whole area to ourselves. In front of the cabana you have a large round bed to lay on, and we ordered some food and drink. At the top of Le Club is a pool, which was smaller than expected and there were probably ten to fifteen people up there. Our experience probably won't be the same as others as it was so quiet, but that made it even more enjoyable.

There's a nice cafe on the corner of Bungalow that serves ice-cream, crepes. If you want fast food there's a McDonalds and Wendy's within driving distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TEW0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Manager at Bungalow Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your experince. As a guest of the hotel, it is wonderful to access and experience Le Club private beach club. Some of the benefits are not having to bring towels, beach chairs and coolers to a beach. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Bungalow and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

On a snowy December evening, my significant other and I needed an escape from the rest of the world even though we live within a half hour.. This little boutique hotel fit the bill. Located at the beach within walking distance to an assortment of restaurants and shops, sits this unassuming hotel. Not so inside. The rooms are appointed with a flat screen tv and gas fireplace. A tiny kitchenette for your own use. It's modern and classy - actually simple in decor but none the less contemporary. If you are looking for a romantic hideaway without having to go to New York, this is it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Manager at Bungalow Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your nice review. The Bungalow is the perfect setting for a romantic get-away. Regardless of a wintery snow storm or summer sunshine, the hotel emits a joyous feeling with wonderful views throughout all seasons. We look forward to having you visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I recently got married in Long Branch in November and used the Bungalow Hotel as accommodations for my family and friends traveling into the area, as well as the location for our post-reception afterparty and post-wedding breakfast. Although they were going over some changes in management during the year of contacting them leading up to the wedding, once I was finally in touch with their current manager Lisa, things went very smoothly and she could not have been more helpful in organizing all of the logistics (thank you Lisa!!). Bungalow never denied any of my requests and all of my guests were thrilled with their accommodations. There were fresh flowers everywhere and deliciously smelling candles in the lobby every day, the front desk staff were always kind and accommodating (even when dealing with 75 drunk people at the afterparty and cleaning up the breakfast I had catered in the next morning), and everyone at the hotel went out of their way to make sure everyone was taken care of. Beds are gloriously comfortable and everyone loved the unique and modern decor. Being November, we loved that the rooms had fireplaces too! I'm excited to revisit in the summertime and take advantage of their great location right next to the beach!

Room Tip: The Lil Pipeline can be used as a "honeymoon" suite and is the only suite in the hotel wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa8304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Manager at Bungalow Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Your review is greatly appreciated. We are happy that you and your family celebrated your wedding at the Bungalow Hotel and enjoyed your stay. Our staff take much pride in ensuring that all guests are completely satisfied during their stay and we strive to go above and beyond guest expectations. We look forward to your visit again and have a wonderful new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I took my girlfriend here for New Year's Eve/ Birthday we both loved it. The parking is convenient. The lobby is very unique and cool looking. Lisa, the manager went above and beyond. She took the time to cater to to my event. She contacted me directly beforehand, upgraded my room to a suite and even followed up after our stay. Our room was probably the best room I ever stayed in and the best in the hotel (Lisa took pictures of the view and sent them to me). I really recommend this hotel based on the great service, the atmosphere, location and coolness factor. Top notch! We will be going back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robertjs808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Manager at Bungalow Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for your review and for chosing to stay at the Bunaglow Hotel to celebrate your special occasions. It is our pleasure to make every guest feel catered to. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you visit again. Have a wonderful new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Branch, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Your hotel is so modern and chic! What a pity you degrade it's elegance by having indiscreet and suggestive pictures in your lobby and rooms. For a hotel which pays so much attention to the details you lost the big picture with your immodesty. The music playing when we arrived was so not relaxing and classy. Please make some small changes in the music and pictures and your hotel will be a chic and classy place that all could enjoy!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Manager at Bungalow Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for your review and suggestions. We pride ourselves in creating a classy, chic and welcoming atmosphere. The lobby music selections are intended to inspire a sophisticated setting in which we have received many compliments in the past. In regards to our décor, please feel free to contact me to discuss what you found degrading. We certainly value and appreciate all guest comments and continually work to maintain upmost customer satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

The Bungalow is advertised as a hip and modern boutique hotel on the Jersey Shore. My husband and I decided to celebrate our anniversary in Long Branch and decided to stay at the Bungalow. I am so glad we did! The hotel is everything advertised and more! The rooms are beautifully decorated and clean. When I made the reservation, I put in the comments section that we were celebrating a special occasion. The manager Lisa went out of her way to make our time there special. She surprised us with an upgrade to a suite (what a treat!) and a bottle of wine was waiting for us in the room. If you are looking to stay in a unique hotel and experience amazing service then check out the Bungalow!

Room Tip: Ask for the Lil Pipeline suite...it is gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaWolfschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Manager at Bungalow Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for chosing to stay at the Bungalow to celebrate your special occasion. It is our pleasure to make everyone's stay here a wonderful and memorable experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Branch
5.6 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cedars & Beeches
Cedars & Beeches
#3 of 4 in Long Branch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
6.1 mi away
Oyster Point Hotel
Oyster Point Hotel
#2 of 4 in Red Bank
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
3.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Eatontown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalow Hotel

Property: Bungalow Hotel
Address: 50 Laird St, Long Branch, NJ 07740-8100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Branch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Long Branch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bungalow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bungalow Hotel is the Jersey Shore's only authentic boutique hotel. Located in Pier Village, just steps from the Atlantic Ocean. All rooms have oversized king beds, flat screen tvs, fireplaces, wet bar with refrigerators, and original art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Bungalow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalow Hotel Long Branch
Bungalow Hotel New Jersey/Long Branch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing