We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place, even better location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Court by the Sea
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Long Branch
newburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice place, even better location”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I really cant complain. everything is new and we were right in front of the ocean. We were walking distance to avenue, its greek to me and several of the restaurants on the boardwalk. We had a great time and we made use of the grills on the premises. Will stay at this place again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    9
    10
    8
    19
See reviews for
24
21
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eatontown, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I was hesitant to book at first bc of the mixed reviews, but this was by far the cheapest hotel in long branch. Overall, I wa very happy with the stay. This motel is right on the beach and right by all the restaurants and stores. It was also very clean.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pat_resmiller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Methuen, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Thread bare, stained, miss matched bed linens. Stained rug, ceiling light did not work. Layer of dust over all the flat surfaces. Marks on walls, No heat, though they claimed that they are not required to heat the place by the state of New Jersey above 58 degrees (yes it was above 58 degrees, their manager felt that it was above 60. . .). Stained seat cushions. The stained and holy Barco lounger in front of the building was a nice touch. No apologies offered, just lots of excuses.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
7 Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Long Branch hotels

Miami Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

not a bad price,,great cause its rite across from beach,,,lota cute girls around,,,and a great place to eat is at windmill great burgers and onion rings,,,,,long branch is okay,,,,,,

Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank bill g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vestal, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My adult daughter and I booked a room here for 3 days of sun at the Jersey shore. Since we were headed down from NYC after her work we told them we'd be in after7:00 and were told that was too late. The owner (the money taker) finally agreed, called us on our way because we were late due to traffic and met us in the parking lot as we drove in.We should have known by the creepy feeling we both got that we wouldn't feel comfortable. After we signed in and paid up front, of course, we saw THE ROOM. We were too tired to try to find something else and waited til morning to track down the owner who left right after taking our money. I don't think he's even looked in the rooms. We were offered an "upgrade" to an upstairs room. All I can say is it was UPstairs. That's about it. Read these reviews before even thinking about staying here. Yes the ocean is right across the street and that's the ONLY way this guy is charging $500 for 2 nights. Don't be fooled by anything positive you may read.

Room Tip: I wish I'd read reviews here before booking. The negative ones were exactly my feelings spoken b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank denisehuson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I stayed at Ocean Court for 3 nights and had the best experience,,, I have worked in Hospitality for 30 years and Jimmy and Lucy did what ever they could to make the stay enjoyable, The night life in the area is incredible and the beach is right across the street.. I highly recommend staying at this property. The room I was in had a kitchen with a refrigerator , nicrowave and a gas grill.... Check this place out !!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Silkysledgehammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We had a blast & the owners treated us with a lot of courtesy & respect!But DEFINITELY the place needs lots of TLC! And has to be exterminated and clean! In the meantime the price is RIDICULOUSLY HIGH for what you receive!Lower the prices or better the place!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rooster416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Branch
0.3 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
223 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
319 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cedars & Beeches
Cedars & Beeches
#3 of 4 in Long Branch
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn West Long Branch
La Quinta Inn West Long Branch
#2 of 3 in West Long Branch
370 reviews
5.2 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,325 reviews
5.7 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Court by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Court by the Sea

Property: Ocean Court by the Sea
Address: 170 Ocean Ave, Long Branch, NJ 07740-6677
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Branch
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Long Branch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Court by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great little Jersey shore motel - cozy, friendly, with a great atmosphere.   24 modern oceanfront studios with full kitchens.  Very good prices.  A beautiful, uncrowded beach, stunning view of the shore, a nice boardwalk for jogging, and quiet Ocean Ave for biking or rollerblading!  We are just south of the new Pier Village shops, restaurants, and Ocean Place Resort and Spa.  Operated for the past 28 years by Pat Janssen, owner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Court by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Court By The Sea Hotel Long Branch
Ocean Court By The Sea New Jersey/Long Branch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing