We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over-rated”
Review of Turning Point

Turning Point
Ranked #2 of 131 Restaurants in Long Branch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$14
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“over-rated”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The food is good, and the view is nice, but for the long wait, and poor service , I think its not worth it. I like the side café area better than the testaurant, because you can enjoy the view with great coffee. I reccommend eating breakfast or lunch elsewhere, and going to the café for the views. There are diners around here with better omlets, and fresher salads.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank natalie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    84
    30
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
89 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Second try, not wowed.”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

During a beach day, my family and I stopped at Turning Point for lunch. We had tried it once before around the same time last year. On that trip, I had felt it was just okay, but I was willing to give it another shot. This time again, unfortunately, I wasn't thrilled. There was a wait, the service was fairly slow, things seemed chaotic (a similar experience to last time), and the food was alright. I have to say, overall, it's really just average. Next time we're in the area, I'd most likely try another restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn, ny
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Turn around...not worth the wait”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had lunch there a few weeks ago. People had recommended
this place. we went for lunch waited almost 30 minutes for a table then it took a while for the service. It was busy BUT...how long does it take to get a sandwich and a salad. Nothing to write home about here kids... I hear it is better for breakfast and the one in Westfield is better too...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank urbanphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Consistently good- no surprises”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The food is always good and quality and service is consistent. Prepare to wait, especially in summer. Breakfast is better than lunch. It's probably the best breakfast in LB.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spunky0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, nautical decor, gets very busy”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a late breakfast/brunch at Turning Point. We ordered basic eggs, potatoes and breakfast meat. The eggs were average but the potatoes were not seasoned at all and were cut in small cubes that were hard. We also had a chicken sandwich on wheat pita topped with melted cheeses. Very small amount of chicken covered in melted cheeses served with a good amount of mixed salad. The chicken sandwich not recommended but the salad was very good, fresh and crispy with tomatoes, red onions & other salad stuff. After the order was placed it took about 20 min to be served. No dinner is served. I would return to this restaurant. Its clean, well decorated, servers are friendly and willing to please the customer and prices are reasonable. I saw someone with a dish that look like Lobster eggs benedict. Looked yummy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CC S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turning Point also viewed

Long Branch, Jersey Shore
Long Branch, Jersey Shore
 
Long Branch, Jersey Shore
Long Branch, Jersey Shore
 
Long Branch, Jersey Shore
Long Branch, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Turning Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing