We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Nice, pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

Nice hotel.
New building, nice furniture and decorations.
Clean, quiet.
Fast check-in (we arrived late (1:30 AM)). Did not interact with the staff much.
Quiet neighborhood, good for walking.
Comfortable beds.
Not sure if buffet breakfast is worth $11 - just standard breakfast plus fruits. The "Subway" is in the next building. Free coffee/tee in the lobby.
Close to Manhattan (less than 20 minutes of driving). Free parking.
Good value, pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    148
    53
    15
    15
See reviews for
98
83
16
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

I searched and searched for the right hotel to stay at for my Memorial Day weekend trip to NYC. I've stayed in the city multiple times, and though it is fun, it is always very expensive for a less than average room. Everyone told me to stay in New Jersey and just take the bus in. I wanted to find a place in a good neighborhood with a quick bus ride into the city, and this hotel is just that! The hotel itself is beautiful, and the bus stop is literally right outside the front entrance, so you don't have to be worried about walking at night. I was with my family and friends, but I would have felt completely safe walking alone. The bus costs $4, and takes about 15 minutes to get to Port Authority in NYC, which is a block away from Times Square and Broadway. I will definitely stay at this hotel again! Plus the breakfast is delicious!

Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank esanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dheinlein, Manager at Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands, responded to this review, 4 June 2010
Thanks so much for your review; hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

I booked this hotel with my fiance after getting a great deal with Priceline Negotiator for $75 a night. I checked the reviews and they were stellar but my experience at the hotel was less than what other people have experienced. The hotel room itself was great. Very nice and clean. Whoever said you can get a view of the city must have been joking...the hotel is much too far from the city for a view. My fiance and I booked this hotel to have a nice experience in and out of Manhattan. After a long day in the city we came to the hotel restaurant for dinner and drinks. Both him and I are well above the legal age to drink but the older hostess was very rude to us and asked us several times for our ID before she would even talk to us about the menu or specials...we were just fine with showing her our ID...no problem, we understand they have to card younger looking people. While I understand they were apparently "under staffed" as the waiter stated, we received the worst service out of anyone else in the room. First off the server told us the wrong prices for our drinks and when it came time to pay he just verbally told us what we owed...no paper bill...we were just supposed to take his word for it regarding the "slip up" on the price of drinks including the $1.00 NJ tax on alcohol he added they supposedly have. After waiting around for a refill on our drinks...which never came...we tried getting our bill from the hostess...again, a bad attitude. She said she couldn't help us, the bill was the waiter's job...but again we never even received the bill who knows how much the drinks even cost. Maybe this hotel is not used to having professional young adults stay here as everyone we came across was in their 50's but we still are paying customers and still demand to be treated with respect. Honestly, I would recommend staying closer to the city in Secaucus Meadowlands at the Holiday Inn or other hotels in the Meadowlands area that actually do offer city views, cheap food and drink, and better treatment from staff... that is if you are under 40. If you are an older customer you will get the best treatment a customer could possibly get. If you don't plan on using the restaurant or internet (which also doesn't work very well) then this is the place for you. Don't expect the hotel staff at the desk to be overly friendly either to out of state travelers. Over all, it was a steal on the price but I would never ever stay here again. Maybe in another 10 years or so when good treatment is apparently "deserved".

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ihatescreennames00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dheinlein, Manager at Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands, responded to this review, 19 May 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, your feedback is valuable to us and evidence that we have work to do. Please accept our sincere apologies for the level of service you received; it’s our goal to exceed expectations with every guest, every time, and we regret that wasn’t the case in your experience. Be assured that a refresher in customer service will be conducted, thanks once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

This hotel is located conveniently for a visit to Manhattan. Busses from PABT (Port Authority Bus Terminal) run about once every 30-60 minutes. The trip takes about 15-20 min. Beware though that sometimes a scheduled bus simply doesn't show - so the waiting time is uncertain. Bus numbers (seems to change frequently): 191, 192, 195. The hotel itself is a standard Courtyard Marriott. All the amenities and good value, but nothing fancy. For my next visit to NY, if I can't find good offers in Manhattan, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whatevernameuwant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dheinlein, Manager at Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands, responded to this review, 19 May 2010
Thank you for your review and for recommending our hotel! The location and bus service are a definite plus when visiting NYC; we’re glad you were able to take advantage of the bus stop near the hotel and hope you had a fabulous time visiting the Big Apple!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

I have stayed at this hotel intermitently in the last 2 years because my company chooses this hotel. Two years ago the network was useless and frustrating. If it flat out didn't work that would be great, but it works just enuf to drive you beserk. I have complained about the network on all subsequent visits and no changes have been made. This is supposed to be a business hotel but the network connectivity is sorry.

Other aspects of the hotel are reasonable. The meals and selection are good. Items on the buffet are a bit dated but that may be just due to the fact that I had breakfast late 8am.

The gym equipment is very old with only a few machines. They could do a lot better with this. The rooms are not too bad. WiFi throughout the hotel would be great.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marktatham2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrock8382
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

We picked this hotel because of the value and how close it was to NYC. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel. The next stop after this hotel is New York City! The rooms were very beautiful and the staff was very very nice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrock8382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachLuvrGirl
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2009

We stay here everytime we go to a Giants game and we love it it's right on the public transportation route to tae into the city and we love it the only thing I would suggest is to build a better and bigger pool.Rooms were very clean ad nice and the breakfast place in the lobby was good to I love to make belgian waffles and you can make them yourself this place is really nice and if you want to go over to the stadium there is parking not even 5 minutes away we love it hoefully i can return on December 13 for the Eagles vs Giants game.

Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BeachLuvrGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hilton Meadowlands
Hilton Meadowlands
#4 of 5 in East Rutherford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton East Rutherford-Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Meadowlands - Rutherford
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands

Property: Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands
Address: 1 Polito Avenue, Lyndhurst, NJ 07071
Region: United States > New Jersey > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Lyndhurst/Meadowlands hotel offers stylish guest rooms with Marriott's luxury bedding, 32" LCD flat screen TV's, mini-fridge and FREE High Speed Internet. Begin your day with a reasonably priced, hot breakfast buffet and return for a delicious dinner at Reeds Restaurant. Unwind in our lounge, indoor pool or in the on-site Fitness Center. Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands hotel is perfectly located close to exciting Meadowlands attractions such as the IZOD Center, Giants Stadium, Teterboro Airport (TEB), Meadowlands Racetrack, Medieval Times and just minutes to the Prudential Center in Newark. This Meadowlands hotel is also just six miles to the Lincoln Tunnel and New York City. For business or social events, our meeting rooms are ideal for your group accommodating up to 100 people. After experiencing our first class customer service, you will feel you have made the best choice at the Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands hotel, one of the finest among Meadowlands hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands Hotel Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing