We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terribly disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn Meadowlands
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I would not recommend staying at the Quality Inn Meadowlands. We are very loyal to Choice Hotels, but this place does not meet the standards of Choice. The room was small and dingy. We needed a roll away and the one they brought us was so filled with the smell of smoke all our allergies started right up. We got another one and it was fine. The only way to take a shower was with the tub and the shower head going full blast. There were phone numbers on the bathroom wall like you were in a public bathroom. The security latch did not work on the door. The breakfast was terrible. No refrigerator or microwave. It was dirty. The manager Liz assured me we would not be charged until our issues were resolved with either her or the owner, I never heard from either and my card was charged 2 times instead of one. I had to resolve the problems with Choice directly and they were very nice to work with and made it easy. I would not recommend you ever go there and especially not for multiple nights.

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tracey1368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn Meadowlands
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2013

This place is gross. In the first room we were given, we were greeted by a smell that was reminiscent of a dumpster outside of a seafood restaurant. But they made up for that by leaving a four foot plunger sitting on the disassembled bathroom vanity with a bottle of draino... So that was awesome.

The second room was also dirty and stinky but it was lacking in the four foot plunger department. It also had a weird picture in the dresser of some guy sleeping and wearing a sleep apnea mask which was both disturbing and highly erotic.

The restaurant actually managed to make bad fried food and the nachos were actually just watery lettuce thrown on top of stale chips.

Avoid this place at all costs. You are better off sleeping in your car in the middle of a busy intersection.

PS they have the world's largest pickle bar... But not the best.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Philc4081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

The only nice thing about this hotel is their piano in the lobby and nice painting at the front desk !!!

It's a pretty old Quality Inn where you don't feel very safe to park your car and you don't understand (especially after you're in your room) why you paid so much !!!!

All the ladies at the front desk were pretty snob and mean and all but helpful... They make you feel you disturb them in their discussion or other more important task then taking care of their guests!!!

Well, then no elevator, only stairs to bring all my stuff !!! (I carry a lot from the car for safety every night). And even being a Diamond member doesn't mean anything to them and were not able to give me a first floor hotel (too lazy since hotel was pretty empty!!!).

Then ask for laundry facilities to do my laundry... Only one washer and dryer... It was a big effort for the clerk to brake a roll of quarter and give me $5 worth of 25 cents!!!

Washer did work fine but needed to put the clothes 3 times in the dryer to have it dry !!! Need to be fix!!!

The room was very average... Big problem with the fan and ac in room!!! Makes a lot of noise like a big engine starting every now and then !!! Was woke up 3-4 times when some heavy fan motor sounds starts for 10-15 minutes then stop!!!

Internet was very very bad and slow... Can't stay on either... On and off and slow!!!

Very limited breakfast options... Also had to wait over 15 minutes to get my receipt at front desk.... The girl didn't know how to print a receipt from her computer!!!

For all that money, it was really a very bad experience!!! To avoid at all cost !!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benoitleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Worms, Beetles, and Bugs were what greeted us as we arrived at our room. We were on our class trip and in every single room that was rented - there were an assortment of creepy crawlers. In two of the bathrooms in our group, the sinks were pulled away from the wall. Mold was the decor on the walls. Thankfully and unfortunately the only time spent there was too sleep (praying we didn't get any number of infestations from the bugs). DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

Room Tip: One without bugs!!!!!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJones2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

This may be the worst inn ever.... although we have stayed there a couple of times, in the future we will definitely move up to the Courtyard across the street. The location is perfect; the NJ Transit stop is right outside the door, 15-20 mins to the Port Authority - but the inn is terrible.
The staff are amoung the worst I have encountered in any hotel; the rooms all smell like seaweed and old shoes; water never drains from the shower, or the sink; breakfast, consiting of old bad bagels, warm yogurt and cold coffee, is just enough to get you to New York where you can get real food.
Pay the extra , stay at the Courtyard...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Good location near bus stop with 15-20 minute service to NYC Port Authority. Horrible hotel staff service. The Staff is very uncaring and have no interest in helping guests. It was worse than pulling teeth to get information on bus locations and suggestions on getting to NYC. some info was wrong and cost long walk because of returning on wrong recommended bus. Had non smoking room reserved. First room 274 was horrible. Smelled like smoke so bad it watered eyes and was gaging. And that was non smoking! How does that happen. Free continental breakfast was not so bad. WiFi was free and worked well. Price was good value compared to other options in NYC area. Bus to and from Manhattan was $4.25 each way. Furniture was poor. TV was nice flat screen.

Room Tip: Avoid room 274
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeppy405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

1st room that was given to us had a litter box smell as well as mold in the fridge, toilet broke when it was flushed, asked for another room, staff was not pleasant and didn't seem to want to make things right. We were given a second room, the smell was just as bad, the rugs felt wet & grimy, there was mold on the wooden bed frame as well as the dresser, the room was hot but the a/c didn't work. Staff was not the least concerned because we were unhappy. Had to cut our stay short because we couldn't bear the smell of the room as well as how we felt physically.

Room Tip: stay away from this hotel if you want to get sick from the mold infested rooms & because the st...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Meadowlands - Rutherford
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton East Rutherford-Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Meadowlands
Hilton Meadowlands
#4 of 5 in East Rutherford
441 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands
2.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Meadowlands

Address: 10 Polito Ave, Lyndhurst, NJ 07071-3403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range: £83 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Meadowlands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Meadowlands Hotel Lyndhurst
Quality Inn Meadowlands Lyndhurst
Quality Inn Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing