We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Favorite in Madison NJ”
Review of Shanghai Jazz

Shanghai Jazz
Ranked #1 of 65 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$45
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“My Favorite in Madison NJ”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This is a fantastic night out-great food and live jazz music, many of the players are from NYC, some of the musicians are from the SNL band. The food is very, very good, it is a perfect place to spend a night with friends or with the person you love. The owner, David takes excellent care of every guest.
Book early if you want the 6:30 show, the 8:30 show is also a good option. Either way I dare you not to enjoy it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    50
    14
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not a good choice”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We came here for Valentine's Day and wished we did not. The restaurant accommodated so many patrons that if the fire department inspectors came that night, summons would have been issued to the owners. They placed tables so close together in some areas of the dining area that if there was a fire a catastrophe would have ensued. The service was the best it can be considering number of clients that night. The food was okay, not fantastic. The Chinese tea tasted like recycled tea. For couples looking for a romantic dinner, this was a wrong choice. Of course, it was a place to listen to jazz music so that should have indicated that a quiet dinner was not to be. Stupid choice. We might return during a non event weeknight to give this place another try since we do like to listen to jazz music. I think I will ask to be placed near the bar next time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank going_there_now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terrible value”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We fell into the trap of taking the servers suggestion of bringing 1 plate each of a varied menu. They doubled the prices of the regular menu dishes which caught us all by complete surprise. 5 people and $450 later for an average meal and a couple of drinks. Had we ordered the same meals off the regular menu (we had to insist on seeing a menu) the total price would have been half. Ripped off! Will never return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles4564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service & Entertainment”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Great location to ring in the New Year as well as throughout the year. Shanghai Jazz attracts great musicians and serves excellent food. Something you would expect in Manhattan not in the 'burbs!

Must go!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NWNJSummit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Providence, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
190 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Inventive and Tasty”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stopped in after the movies and it was in the middle of the first jazz set so the owner invited us to sit at the bar. This turned out to be great - we could hear the music and see them but we weren't on top of them.

I had the Salt and Pepper Calamari for appetizer and in the menu it says "no sauce needed" and they were right - crisp with just enough spice - my wife had the chicken and pork dumplings and they were delectable.

I had the filet for dinner and again - crisp veggies and just the right amount of spice -Denise had the duck and said "you have to go to Beijing for better duck".

The couple next to us was from Paraguay and we had a nice chat - even though we both struggled a bit with each others language. We always seem to meet some interesting people when we have dinner at the bar in a restaurant.

We look forward to going back - we had only been to the restaurant once before and that was with a large group.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shanghai Jazz also viewed

Madison, Morris County
Madison, Morris County
 
Madison, Morris County
 

Been to Shanghai Jazz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing