We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Reviewed 31 January 2014

As with almost any Marriot brand, this hotel is nice. I was here for business and the room and hotel served it's purpose.

The breakfast was plentiful and had many choices, as you would expect with the brand.

Definitely recommend for the business or leisure traveler.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SCTREV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nishant_Patel, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear SCTREV,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel regarding your stay in January 2014. We appreciate your response, and are very grateful for such a nice review! We are more than pleased that our staff were friendly and accommodating. We are also happy that our breakfast was fulfilling and met your needs. We hope that you return to our hotel the next time you are in the area!

Sincerely,

The Fairfield Inn & Suites, Staff and Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

There are a lot of chain hotels in the area to choose from and I highly recommend the Fairfield Inn. Everything you would expect from a Fairfield Inn and Suites - roomy, comfortable, nice breakfast in the morning.

It share's a parking lot with a local restaurant called the Mason Jar which is surprisingly good. I love a hotel with a restaurant next door. Makes traveling for business just that much easier.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway. The noise isn't terrible but my colleagues who were on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nishant_Patel, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Erin O,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel after your recent stay with us and we're so happy that your experience here met the high expectations people have come to expect given our high rating on tripadvisor. Many people who are visiting Mahwah/Ramsey area prefer to stay with us because of our reasonable prices and the convenience dining options available next to the hotel. None of the hotels in the area have two great restaurants within walking distance as we do.

Again thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Nish Patel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here for one night just after Christmas (2013). At least in terms of how the highway is setup it's pretty easy to get to this hotel (it's on a side street). I don't think there were many folks out when we stayed but things were pretty quiet from a road noise standpoint. The hotel is near a *lot* of restaurants if you're looking for a meal. Our room was clean, the bed was pretty comfortable, and the bathroom was fine. I have to say the bath towels were really thin. I mean, we're not expecting luxurious towels but the ones in our room were like the ones you've retired from your house and put in the garage for cleanup duty. I only ate a snack for breakfast so I can't say much about the breakfast offerings (it seemed like a basic selection was available). The gym was simple but my wife would have liked to have water available in the gym. There were a couple of computers available in the lobby. The folks at the front desk were very nice (both when we arrived and when we departed). If I could figure out how to click on 3 1/2 circles I would go for that over 4, but for our purposes this was a very good stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josephkmoodlifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nishant_Patel, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. I apologize that we weren't able to exceed your expectations with towel quality. We truly appreciate your business and great review, come stay with us again next time you're in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Booked this hotel for a few nights. Looked great when we first arrived. However we noticed the rooms were not well cleaned. In fact there were traces of dirt, left over food, and other nasty items on the floors and in other parts of the room. When asked to clean the room, it took several hours just to get the room properly cleaned.

The maintenance staff and some of the desk staff were great, but the manager seemed unresponsive or like he didn't really care to field complaints.

Also, the breakfast tasted like gas station food (not good quality at all). I'm surprised Marriott would have such low quality food items. Honestly I have tasted better food at 7-11's. I don't recommend it.

The hotel has the potential of being a great hotel, but If you stay here, I highly recommend, skipping breakfast and if you have a need, just know that it may not be met right away or maybe not at all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikedonovan582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nishant_Patel, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

We truly appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey concerning your stay with us at the Fairfield Inn and Suites-Mahwah, NJ. Your guest satisfaction is truly important to my staff and me. I deeply apologize that you experienced an unpleasant stay with. Guest Service and Marriott standards should be consistent with all properties when traveling. I will assure you that I have looked into your experience here with us along with the issues you indicated in your survey and will surly address. Thank you for being honest and bringing all issues to my attention so we may correct them immediately. We hope that you will give us a chance to serve you again in the future so you may experience a more pleasant stay with us. Thank you for your business it is truly appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed one very cold night at this hotel on us 202 near 17. Rooms were clean and well kept. Surprisingly, road noise was nil, despite being very close to make highways. OK breakfast, standard Marriott fare. Very helpful staff, and friendly too

Room Tip: Rooms were all good, noise wise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobField
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nishant_Patel, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear BobField,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel regarding your stay at our location in January 2014. We appreciate your feedback, especially in regards to the staff service and room quality you experienced during your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

The Fairfield Inn & Suites, Staff and Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We have now stayed at this hotel 4 times in the last two years, and have no complaints !! Clean rooms, friendly staff, reasonable price, and not too bad of a free breakfast !!! We will be back...easy access to Bear Mountain, 7 lakes drive, I-287, Thruway and Rt. 17. I had a question on driving directions to Tarytown and the staff went the extra mile to get me a map and directions !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank splitrock6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nishant_Patel, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Splitrock6,

Thank you taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel in October 2013. We truly appreciate the wonderful and highly detailed review you gave us! According to your review; you have already stayed at our location on four separate occasions, we certainly look forward to your return again in the near future!

Sincerely,

The Fairfield Inn & Suites, Staff and Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This Fairfield Inn is in a nice location, off the major highway just a bit, but you feel like you're somewhere else..in a good way. Loved waking up early and going for a walk in the surrounding hilly residential neighborhood and the quiet parking lot of the adjacent restaurant and temple...but to the hotel: Friendly staff, clean rooms, relatively new hotel, good breakfast options, decent workout room, and plenty of pool towels at the fun, semi-warm indoor pool to splash around in.
Only complaints were mild...such as have to get the housekeepers to vacuum up their hair after cleaning the bathrooms, and the shower liner was too short so water would get on the floor after every shower. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetotravel001_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nishant_Patel, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Lovetotravel001_9,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel in October 2013. We sincerely apologize for the housekeeping issues you experienced during your stay with us. Although, we are more than pleased to see that you enjoyed your overall stay at our hotel, and that you would “definitely” stay at our location again! We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

The Fairfield Inn & Suites, Staff and Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahwah hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Mahwah
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Mahwah
Courtyard Mahwah
#4 of 8 in Mahwah
228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 8 in Mahwah
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah

Address: 225 Ramapo Valley Rd, Mahwah, NJ 07430-1637
Region: United States > New Jersey > Mahwah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Price Range: £74 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing