We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem”
Review of Courtyard Mahwah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Mahwah
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Ended up here to ride out a blackout from a freak October Nor'easter. Just drove up to door with wife and two young kids hoping they had a room. No research or knowledge at all. Will not go into excruciating detail, only to say this place surpassed my expectations in every possible way. Clean, recently renovated rooms of good proportions. Very decent food onsite. Free wifi, free parking, pool, nice gym, etc. But what really caught my attention was the quality of the staff. Despite being absolutely overwhelmed with an acute, unexpected and extraordinarily high volume of cranky blackout "evacuees" the staff was totally cool, professional, helpful and, dare I say, perky. Nice!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twix65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Mahwah
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2011

Where to begin on this hotel. This review is long overdue as I frequent the Mahwah Courtyard several times a month on business. The staff has always been outstanding and personal. Great service is something you appreciate when you're on the road a much as I am. The hotel management is top notch, always catering to any and all of my special requests. All of the front desk associates remember my name, as do the staff at the new Bistro. Speaking of the new Bistro, the hotel just underwent a multimillion dollar renovation. The hotel needed a "face-lift", and the recent renovations really brought this hotel back to life. The new lobby and Bistro (Starbucks coffee yay!) are so welcoming, and the refinished hotel rooms are exceptional, containing all the plush Marriott furnishings and accessories you would expect. This hotel certainly lives up to the quality you of the Marriott name. High quality amenities combined with excellent, personal service are a winning combination. I will be back for many years to come!

Room Tip: As other reviewers have pointed out, the courtyard facing rooms have the best view.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I checked in recently (typically stay a few times a year for business) and was thrilled to see that the hotel had just finished undergoing extensive renovations - it's like a brand new hotel! They've added a restaurant and bar, making it much business travel friendly. Even after what I assume was months of long renovations, the staff were as upbeat and helpful as ever. One woman, I believe the assistant GM was wildly helpful in helping reschedule some of my travel plans.

Thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleyA87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Have stayed at this hotel for over 10 years on business. What keeps me coming back is the personal service from the management team. Hotel was just remodeled this summary and with a modern lobby and cafe and all new furnishings in the room. Prior to the remodel some of the rooms felt dated...

The hotel general manager is what makes this hotel humm... while travelling on business I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank costatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

It seems that we checked in just after renovereing. Check in was efficient, including a short introduction to where there was work room with internet access, computer and printing capabilities. All for free. Standard room, TV with several HD channels, good coffee in the room. Very friendly personnal and the best was a new Bistro opened. Are you on a work assignment and have no ambitions to stroll around after work, it's a perfect hotel. Bistro with Starbucks Coffee, simple dishes for breakfast and supper made ​​me believe that Hotelet is price worthy alternative in the area.
Recommended oautmel and Asian Cicken Terriaki salad. There are several drinks, win and beer to choose from. The world is not perfect! The bistro, which I liked, there were extra large ads on dishes that were not available to purchase. Explanations were: We ordered but have not received the delivery. Remove info! Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krzysztof F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I stay at the Courtyard Mahwah 3-4 a month for the last year, the staff is amazing and the new lobby, rooms, and bistro are great. Clean and new rooms! The GM Jeanine is there at least 90 hours a week making sure that every guest is taken care of and she is one of the best!. Our company uses it for our new hires and training classes and no one has ever complained. It makes a long day at work better becasue the Courtyard is awesome!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellTravelledBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I have stayed at this Courtyard several times, and always had a good experience. As of my last stay, they now have the new Bistro lobby design and are in the process of renovating all the rooms. It's convenient to multiple north Jersey businesses and close to good dining options, too. I will definitely stay there again when in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are best. Some have balconies with sliding glass doors, which I enjoyed b...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ole_Roll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahwah
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Mahwah
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
#1 of 2 in Suffern
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Mahwah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Mahwah

Address: 140 State Rt 17, Mahwah, NJ 07430-1174
Region: United States > New Jersey > Mahwah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Price Range: £105 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Mahwah 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Mahwah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriot Mahwah Hotel Mahwah
Mahwah Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing