We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard by Marriott Mahwah
Nearby Hotels
US$136
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites(Mahwah)(Great Value!)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
ComfortSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah(Mahwah)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
103
86
35
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
86
35
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskgas stationroom locationbusiness travelwoodbury commonsbusy highwaybed and pillowsone night stayfree weightscomfortable stayconvenient locationthe room was nicedefinitely stay here againnew yorkup to dateindoor poolhome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

So, I'm a fan of Courtyard's being usually a good reasonable price with a good set of amenities. I'm not a big fan of Marriott's recent change which eliminated many of the breakfast buffets at Courtyards in favor of their overpriced and mediocre "bistro" setups. Same has happened here.

As for the place itself, the lobby is very nice looking to have been recently refurbished. The rooms are clean and well appointed.

My primary complaint is that if you have a room along the "front" of the hotel facing Route 17, you will find it difficult to sleep. Traffic noise is a major issue. I didn't realize this until arriving back at my room very late in the evening at which point it was too late to do anything about it. So, a note for the management -- some investment in some noise proofing along this side of the building would work wonders.

Other than that, this is a convenient location right off the highway, reasonably priced, near several good places to eat, and priced right. Good for a thru-traveler or someone with business in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second or third floor on the courtyard or around the back of the hotel so that you don't get any of the traffic noise from the highway or headlights and such from cars pulling into the parking lot.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lasagna329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Mahwah, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Your complimentary review back in the summer was very much appreciated. To date, we have received many positive remarks, as our remodeling has been standardized throughout the Courtyard brand. We are happy to have been able to serve your needs and extend an invitation for you to return if you are contemplating travel in the area. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Staff was helpful and friendly. Rooms were spacious and clean. The beds were super comfortable. The courtyard was beautifully landscaped and was home to several domestic duck families (with adorable little ducklings). It was a pleasure to sit in the lobby and look out at the courtyard. Their little bistro was sufficient for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Not a lot of selections but adequate.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2Trvl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Mahwah, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Your complimentary review back in the summer was very much appreciated. To date, we have received many positive remarks, as our remodeling has been standardized throughout the Courtyard brand. Like our ducks that have flown south for the winter, we are always welcoming new and returning visitors so if you are contemplating travel in the area soon we hope you choose us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Appetizers, drinks and service were excellent in an updated and modern lobby.. Location was ideal for restaurants, gas, and shopping. Inadvertently left my notebook at a table, which was returned to me later !

Rooms were new, nice, quiet, and clean. Price was reasonable.

When getting here, there is substantial U-turn to get to the hotel, which is typical for the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeaneane K, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Mahwah, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

I was so very happy to read your feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the Mahwah Courtyard by Marriott in NJ. Thank you for taking the time to tell other potential guests of your experience here. Come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Have stayed here 3 times in the past month. The service is excellent. When it snowed one night, my car was cleaned off by 7:30AM. I was shocked at this service.

Check in and out is always smooth. The breakfast is average.

The location is odd to get to. If travelling north, you need to do a lengthy U-turn and head south.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing Rt 17. Too much road noise.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hermrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Mahwah, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Your complimentary review earlier this year was very much appreciated. To date, we have received many positive remarks, as our remodeling has been standardized throughout the Courtyard brand. With the holidays comings we are looking forward to new and returning guests so if you are contemplating travel in the area soon we hope you choose us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Stayed here for business. Location was ideal. the room was clean and tidy, the bed comfortable. Very nicely furnished. Great breakfast the next morning with Starbucks coffee. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luki13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Mahwah, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Your complimentary review earlier this year was very much appreciated. With the holidays comings we are looking forward to new and returning guests so if you are contemplating travel in the area soon we hope you choose us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews