We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Billing Errors With Packages”
Review of Courtyard Mahwah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Mahwah
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beware of Billing Errors With Packages”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I booked a "ski" package here in January. The rate included 4 hot chocolates and a pizza from The Bistro. I was informed by the front desk to tell the employee at the Bistro that I had a package and what it included so I wouldn't be charged. I even went as far to show her the email print out, which she asked to keep, put our room number and last name (we had two rooms, one on points, one paid for). Well, what do you know, looking at the credit card statement this week, and we were charged for the pizza and hot chocolate that was supposed to be included. Frustrating.

Hotel itself was nice. Rooms adequate size. Pool warm, however, VERY slippery (seems to be the case with all Marriott branded hotels though).

We usually stay at another hotel nearby, but decided to try this out since we are Platinum members. Won't stay again to be honest after the billing error.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMomWithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your valued feedback. I must apologize for any confusion or inconvenience that may have been caused to you. It is important to us that our guests receive the best possible experience that we can give. In your case, I would like to follow up to make assure that you received any appropriate credits due, as in the rare cases when there are any billing discrepancies we immediately resolve them. Please feel free to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    80
    31
    10
    6
See reviews for
69
27
10
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

So, I have been staying at the Courtyard for a few weeks and have been very impressed with the hotel and the amazing staff. This morning, I was blown away! We had snow (approx 6-8 inches). When I came out of the hotel this morning, ALL of the cars in the parking had their snow removed by hotel staff! WOW!!!! I have stayed in many hotels and this has NEVER happened to me. THANK YOU and thank you for such amazing customer service! Other hotels need to take lessons from you !!

Room Tip: Choose back side of building or inside courtyard to reduce highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYMako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you very much for complimentary review. While we can't always the climate outside we strive to make our guests comfortable during their stay with us particularly during times of inclement weather. Whenever possible our staff will go above and beyond to help make things better. Thanks again for the great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel is in a perfect location. The traveler has great access to the New York Thruway, Garden State Parkway and Rout 17.
The hotel is snuggled in an alcove of greenery and mountainside ambiance.
The property is very appealing. The lobby area is open with large windows that look out onto a beauitiful courtyard. The decor seems relatively new and is kept very well. There is a fireplace that adds a special touch to the "homey" and warm relaxed feeling. The rooms are spacious, very well maintained and the beds are very comfortable.
The Bistro serves Starbucks coffee and the food is excellent.
The staff is very professional, courteous and friendly. They always go above and beyond to assist in any way.
You feel welcome and special at this hotel.

Room Tip: The Mountainside or Courtyard View rooms are quiet and have a really nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krissi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for taking time to offer this complimentary review. It is always encouraging to receive recognition for doing our best to please our guests. We too think the property is a hidden treasure and strive to create a warm, inviting atmosphere and personable experience for each of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The people working at this hotel is very friendly and is always around if you need any help. It is well maintained and has great bar service for late night drinks at their own bar. The breakfast was very good, but it only allowed 2 adults and 2 kids under 12 free breakfast that is staying in the same room. Overall, it was a great stay and I would go again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chujoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy you had a pleasant stay. It is our goal to make each guest feel welcomed and at home. I hope you will consider us again for another stay when visiting our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahwah, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Hotel staff was very courteous and helpful. In particular, the woman that helped me at the front desk, who's name was Annie. The room was well kept. I only stayed for one night so I did not use most the accomadations that are provided, however. Overall, a pleasant experience, if a bit pricey.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your recent stay. We are happy that your experience with us was pleasant. Annie, like all of our associates, strive to give our guests the best customer service, we appreciate the compliment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, PA
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We got a great rate of $80 +tax a night, partly because we stayed in a Courtyard Marriott the night before so we received a special loyalty rate. This hotel was nice – clean, comfortable. Only downside was there were few easily accessible power outlets. Staff was courteous and helpful when needed.

We had breakfast in the Bistro in the hotel. Prices were a little high, but food quality was good.
This hotel is fine, nothing special, but nothing wrong with it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your response. We certainly appreciate loyalty to our Brand and value your comments. Our staff takes pride in our service and its always good to hear from our guests as feedback helps us to know what we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This hotel has recently been renovated and is very pleasant. The well maintained grounds are good indicator of a well run hotel The whole place has an clean, efficient but comfortable feel.

All the staff were very friendly, accommodating and efficient. The lobby area is a great place to hang out or work. The breakfast selection and food were excellent. The rooms are very clean with good amenities and a very fast internet.

Great value for money and will definitely stay here again in the future

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel away from the highway if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for your complimentary review. It is always a pleasure to hear when our guests are pleased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahwah
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
#1 of 2 in Suffern
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Mahwah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Mahwah

Property: Courtyard Mahwah
Address: 140 State Rt 17, Mahwah, NJ 07430-1174
Region: United States > New Jersey > Mahwah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Mahwah 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Mahwah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriot Mahwah Hotel Mahwah
Mahwah Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing