We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Courtyard Mahwah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Mahwah
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Certificate of Excellence
hamilton
1 review
“short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed in this hotel. It was newly renovated and love the decor. Check-in was quick. The room was spotless clean and so are the bathroom. We stayed facing the highway no problem with the sound from the vehicles and since it was a holiday weekend and the room have a noise and light block curtain. My husband attended a family party and came home at around 2 am. It took more than 3 hours to fall asleep because of the horrible air conditioning unit. It was so loud when it is running. Not so happy with this specially I have to wake up the next day and check-out before by 12 noon.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mads b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback regarding your stay. Whether short or long term, we always want to make sure we can make our guests stay as pleasurable possible. Happy that the accommodations and service was positive, I was not aware that there was an issue with the air conditioning unit and sorry you experienced any inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    72
    29
    10
    4
See reviews for
59
25
10
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We showed up late and had no reservations, but were nonetheless welcomed by the friendly staff. The hotel room was clean - checked for bedbugs (everyone should) and found none. Stayed one night and would stay there again.

The only thing that I would wish, not just at this particular hotel, is for all receptionists to automatically inform their customers of the hotel WiFi password so that we don't have to ask.

Room Tip: Had a room on the first floor at the end of a wing. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your complimentary review. We are glad that we were able to afford you with a room during an unexpected stay with us. I am glad you were happy with your experience and appreciate your feedback. For the most part our brand is standardized and the Marriott family of companies take pride in the quality of service and accommodations we can offer our guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I am currently staying at this hotel for a business related training and my experience has been great! Room is clean, beds are comfortable, air runs cold and most importantly everyone is so nice! Dave, who is part of the front desk staff couldnt be more accomodating! He has driven my group and I to and from our destinations everyday and does it with a smile! I truly believe that staff plays a huge part in how your stay is. I highly recommend this hotel and hopefully will return soon!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vsmith0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your complimentary review. We value your feedback and especially like to hear when our staff is making a difference to go out of the way to afford our guests an enjoyable stay. Dave is an exemplary staff member and prides himself in being accommodating. We are lucky to have him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
162 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

This hotel is literally right off highway 17, which makes it convenient to travel to and from. Room was spacious and clean. It did not have a view, but it was comfortable and the internet connection was strong (free wi-fi, so can’t really complain.) The décor looks dated and there was no free water in the room, but the outstanding service made up for that. The fitness center was small and served its purpose. The pool area was very clean and roomy. The hotel layout could feel like a maze, depending on which room you are assigned, but there are exit doors on every corner.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate the feedback. We always like to hear the consistent compliments of our staff's efforts and the logistical convenience to all. Where we can strive to improve the guest experience, we always try. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Should you find yourself looking for lodging in the area again, we hope you will return to our Courtyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I have been staying here for a consulting engagement in the area. I have been doing so for almost two months. I love this place. They make me feel at home. Everyone I deal with is pleasant, professional and competent. An amazing combination and very nice to experience.

The gym is small but complete, the pool was recently refurbished and is a nice touch. The Bistro serves good food, beverages and a limited wine/beer/mixed drink menu. Perfect for the end of a long day,

The people really are wonderful.

Room Tip: Not a spa but a nice pool This hotel is right between two busy highways. Some rooms are a bit no...
See more room tips
Green Features: They should do a bit more on the recycling front. I end up taking my papers and soda bottles home with me to recycle. It may be the area as the office I work in does not recycle either.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review. Understanding how frustrating traveling can be, we are delighted that we were able to create a home away from home atmosphere for you. We strive to make our guest experience the best we possibly can. So happy we nailed it. Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Richard and the rest of the staff at the front desk are very helpful, friendly, and are there for any questions and assistance. It is clean, with a pool and workout room.
The temp control is either on cool or heat mode so overall it is comfortable but there is a slight fluctuation. The sliding door on the courtyard room opens and makes the room open to outside air and is much better than other motels with sealed windows.
If going thru this area I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate your feedback and particularly the compliments you paid to Richard. We are delighted that our staff assisted you well and your overall experience with us was pleasurable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
163 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Had a nice stay here. We were in a suite which was large and comfortable. Plenty of room for a family of 4 to spread out. Lobby are was lovely. Lots of places to sit and relax and have a drink. The pool was nice. Everything was clean and updated. Only issue was the sprinkler testing going on that evening and the fire alarm kept going off.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationplannerMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback from your recent stay. We appreciate the compliments regarding our property and the facilities, and were glad you were happy with your accommodations. I do apologize about the disturbance of the alarms that were set off by the sprinkler testing. Our front desk staff made a valiant effort to minimize the alarms by silencing them upon alert but we could not catch them all and unfortunately we could not disable system according to fire regulations. All is well now . . .. We do hope you return again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahwah
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Mahwah
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
#1 of 2 in Suffern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Mahwah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Mahwah

Property: Courtyard Mahwah
Address: 140 State Rt 17, Mahwah, NJ 07430-1174
Region: United States > New Jersey > Mahwah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Mahwah 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Mahwah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriot Mahwah Hotel Mahwah
Mahwah Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing