We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a bad hotel just missing consistency for each room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Mahwah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard Mahwah
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Certificate of Excellence
Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not a bad hotel just missing consistency for each room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

I've been here for the last 3 days and the service is okay.

What i see need fixing is:

1. Poor TV reception especially in room 355
2. I have a fridge but no microwave. Microwaves are $59 at Walmart

I'm paying $200 per night i could have at least have a fridge, a microwave and great TV reception.

I come out every year for work and I decided to give this Marriott a try. Not sure about next year unless things are fixed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slippery100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us feedback. We are always looking for ways we can improve where we can. While there are a few turns and twists to get to our property, we always strive to give our guests the best service we possibly can upon their arrival and during their stay. We hope we served you well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    70
    29
    10
    4
See reviews for
57
25
9
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
241 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I've stayed at other Courtyards in the area and this one was about in the middle. The room layout is a bit dated as other courtyards have moved to larger or redesigned bathrooms. The location for this hotel may look convenient but the road this hotel is located on can be very challenging if you are not from the area and don't handle traffic well.

The bistro seems ok at first. The staff is great. But the design for a hotel like this is not the greatest. There really isn't a confortable place to sit down and have a beverage at a bar and watch a game. The TVs are small. There are only a few stools.

I would stay again but given the option and similar pricing I'd probably pick another courtyard in the area (since I do like Courtyards).

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jiberjab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We appreciate your time and detail in your review. Although our brand went through a remodeling a few years ago and our property underwent some major changes which we think makes the space more inviting, we are always interested in hearing what our guests think. Our theater area is a great arena for TV and drinks. It is almost like being in your own living room, come back for a revisit. Thank you for choosing Courtyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
550 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Courtyard hotel in Mahwah, NJ is a very good choice if you want to stay in the area. It is located on Rt. 17 right off the exit from I287. It is convenient to get to - except for the multiple U turns necessary to get anywhere on Rt. 17.
Although the hotel is not new, it is clean and comfortable. The rooms are more than adequate and it also has a nice pool house, small gym, a bistro and outdoor patio.
I have stayed at several hotels in the area and this is the overall best of the bunch of mid-range hotels.

Room Tip: inside rooms face the courtyard - not Rt. 17.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
Thank riny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay. Convenient to all, our property has many logistical advantages being close to many major roadways on the NJ/NY border. We appreciate your complimentary review. It is always good to hear great things. Our staff prides ourselves on the service we can give each guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commack, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Using Marriott's system.. this is a 2 star property, that means only 10000 points per night..
Free Wifi, Free Hot Breakfast, just off the main highway on the NY/NJ border..
rooms/beds are very comfortable, and they provide Paul Mitchell hair products in the bathroom

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inbalance1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and agree that while the Courtyard presents a good value for our Reward customers, we pride ourselves in the great service we give all our guests. We hope if you are in the area again you will consider us for a repeat visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
91 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed one night at Courtyard Mahwah during our shopping trip to Woodbury. The hotel is surprisingly popular during certain time of the week. We actually wanted to extend our stay for one more day and wasn't able to do so. The hotel is located with convenient access to highway 287. The little courtyard surrounded by te buildings are nice and the swimming pool looks very nice though we haven't got any time to enjoy it unfortunately. The room is quite sizable and our room located in 1st floor has direct access to the courtyard.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing the courtyard not the busy/noisy highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lvwei1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is always nice to hear that our guests have had a positive experience with us. As you mentioned it does get busy during the week at our property and while we welcome the opportunity of extended stays we do sell out presenting the inability to do honor them. We hope next time we can accommodate you.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed at the Courtyard in Mahwah using Marriott points. There was no difference between this "free" stay and a "paid" stay -- accomodations were great, staff was great. The layout of the room made it appear dated, but on closer look everything was up to date and immaculate. Staff at the Bistro was extremely pleasant for breakfast, and the food was great and served quickly. The only downside -- it would have been nice to have a refrigerator in the room. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WBRONH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is so good to hear complimentary things about our service and amenities. You are correct, a "reward" stay is no different than a "paid" stay when it comes to service and guest appreciation. I must apologize that your room did not have a fridge, we typically have one in each room. As we strive to give our guests the best possible experience, we hope that you will consider a return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here for three weeks on business. The staff was very accommodating with making the stay pleasant. The hotel is conveniently located near nice restaurants that support any budget.

I would recommend this hotel for any stay, when in Mahwah, this is my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeaneane, General Manager at Courtyard Mahwah, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to submit feedback. We especially appreciate your complimentary review. Our business travelers are important to us and while we understand that being away from home isn't always easy, it is gratifying to know that we are performing well to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We are happy that we can provide an affordable, convenient and comfortable option.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahwah
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Mahwah
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
#1 of 2 in Suffern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Mahwah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Mahwah

Property: Courtyard Mahwah
Address: 140 State Rt 17, Mahwah, NJ 07430-1174
Region: United States > New Jersey > Mahwah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Mahwah 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Courtyard Mahwah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriot Mahwah Hotel Mahwah
Mahwah Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing