We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Courtyard served its purpose”
Review of Courtyard Mahwah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Mahwah
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Certificate of Excellence
Newtown, PA
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
“This Courtyard served its purpose”
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We were in the area for the Barclays golf tournament and needed a place for the night. This is an older hotel that sits on the southbound lanes of Route 17. The grounds are nicely landscaped for a good first impression when pulling in. I used Priceline and got this room for $60. I couldn't believe regular rates were going for $199. That seemed steep for this hotel. Check-in was a breeze and the staff was helpful.

There was nothing fancy about our king room, but it was clean for the most part. There was a round faded spot on the bedspread, but that seemed to be from wear and tear. The room had an older TV, a closet that looks more like a giant wooden chest, refrigerator and cable internet. There is no wireless in the room, only in the lobby. The shower had good water pressure and plenty of hot water. We found the bath towels were a little thin. Sleeping at night was OK, with minimal noise. Only thing we heard were a couple of doors slamming. The comfort of the bed was average.

Breakfast is served in this hotel, but it's a $10.95 buffet. However, there is a complimentary coffee bar. The pool area looked nice, as did the outdoor seating area. The exercise room had several cardio machines and a universal weight station. My one dining tip for the area is Kinchley's Tavern in Ramsey. We were told about their famous thin crust pizza and had a fun evening there.

Overall, the Mahwah Courtyard was just fine for a night. As stated earlier, I can't imagine paying $199. I would have no problem staying here again if I went through Priceline.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank relayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    80
    31
    10
    6
See reviews for
69
27
10
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2010

The hotel is plain, has a pool and contintal breakfast...if you don't bring your confirmation expect to pay!!!! I knew I had it included, but they said I didn't...felt embarrased. When I got my confirmation they had a different tune. Aside from this, the hotel is pretty good.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmaksym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2010

I stayed at this hotel a number of years ago and thought it was simple but clean and decent for a quick trip. Stayed there last week and would never stay there again. The first rooms we had were right on the highway and the bathroom was not clean. The bed is old and lumpy and sheets scratchy. Nothing has been updated since it was built. The ceiling in the lobby had big water marks. Asked to changed to quieter rooms for our second night and took our belongings with us. When we returned to the hotel our rooms were not changed and the front desk person blamed it on us and was rude. We were switched to quieter rooms but they were just as worn looking. Will never go back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reggie03Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Wife and I traveled with my parents up to West Point for a football game. Parents always stay there and for good reason. Great location only about 30min or less from Woodbury Commons and West Point. While this location has not received the overhaul that many Courtyards are getting lately, the lobby is still great with a computer for complimentary internet use and a mini market with drinks, snacks, and other items (medicine, etc.) Clean, quiet and comfortable. Can not ask for anything more.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beyondthepalace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2008

We were looking to do some shopping at the Woodbury Commons and found this hotel. The hotel itself was average, room was a little dingy, and small for my family, especially with a crib blocking the main traffic lane, but decent for our purposes. Breakfast was just ok. The buffet was a little lacking - you'd find more vareity at a Residence Inn. What made the whole thing bearable was the deal- they gave us a $25 gift card for use at the Commons. So, all in all an average hotel, but convienient to the shopping.

  • Liked — location to shopping
  • Disliked — room was dingy, hotel seemed a little run-down
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NYHammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

Background (Stayed July 31 – Aug. 1)
We were 3 adults and a 13 month old looking to do some shopping at the Woodbury outlets in New York State (and subsequently onto Manhattan). Based on our research, the closest accommodations of reasonable quality are in Mahwah as opposed to Newburgh. So, my wife signed up to be a Marriot rewards member and received 2 nights at this hotel at a discounted price of $89/night, a significant savings from their regular rates of about $129 and up. Without traffic, the outlet is about 25 minutes away.

Room
We got the room with 2 double beds; it was spacious and clean, located facing the woods rather than the highway (apparently the rooms facing the highway can be quite noisy). It looked as though the rooms have been renovated in the last couple of years or so, since the bathroom area had nice granite counter tops and new untarnished faucets and sinks. The toilet and shower/bath are in a separate room, and ours had 2 very minor issues: the vent in the room had a broken grate, and there was what looked like a melted area on our toilet seat. Everything else was fine. The beds were quite comfortable.

Service
No issues at all, as we requested a crib for our little one, and a fridge as well, and got both delivered promptly at late hours on the first night.

Pool Room
A good sized pool ranging from about 3 feet to 6 feet in depth, with a nice hot tub with jets. Extra towels are available poolside.

Location
There are quite a lot of restaurants and stores in the vicinity (within about 5 miles), but going to and from the hotel can be a hassle as you must do a lot of convoluted U turns along Route 17 to go between the North/South directions.

We did not eat any meals at the hotel, and did not use the workout equipment.

Overall, it’s a simple, adequate hotel that provides all the necessities, and serves its purpose well if you need to stay in the area.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tubby290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2008

Booked a room through Priceline which gave it 3 stars! I don't think so! We stayed at a 3 star Marriott Courtyard last week in Columbia, SC and it was beautiful! This hotel had a "motel" feeling dark and dingy, an ugly place.
Got the room for $100.00 and it goes for over $200.00 on Marriott's site. It wasn't worth the $100.00! It was very noisy with the highway on top of us and the air conditioning was wet an damp. The room felt like a cold sauna, the sheets were damp. We arrived very late on our way up north so we didn't have time to fuss and complain, just slept and left. Not a good nights sleep.

I called the hotel during the day to see what type of room they had us in. They told me it was a king bed and a pullout and when I asked if we could have two doubles or a cot she immediately jumped in with "any changes have to be made with Priceline." Would not help out. I said, I have two adults and two teens, she said she would book us a cot.
We arrived late, no cot and were told at the desk, nope it
wouldn't fit anyway. Well it would because we put an air mattress in there with no problem.
So to recap: they would not accommodate a simple request, the room was wet and damp, oh and the air conditioner had a sign on it "if not working properly notify them, they need to calibrate it sometimes." Now there's something you don't see everyday! The room was old, dark and outdated, felt like a no-tel mo-tel!

  • Liked — not a thing
  • Disliked — Old, ugly wet room
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLESarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahwah
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
#1 of 2 in Suffern
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Mahwah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Mahwah

Property: Courtyard Mahwah
Address: 140 State Rt 17, Mahwah, NJ 07430-1174
Region: United States > New Jersey > Mahwah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Mahwah 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Mahwah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriot Mahwah Hotel Mahwah
Mahwah Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing