We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third stay...will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Third stay...will be back!”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Every year for the past 3 years we have booked as part of their New Years Package and again we were not disappointed. Clean and good location. Comfortable beds and nice space. In general a good hotel. Parking is right there, food is pretty good, and short ride from NYC and major NJ locations/highways. Thanks for another good stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emstraveler349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Manager at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Emstraveler349,

We're so happy you enjoy your New Years Eve with us. I'm sure you noticed we changed the location of our cocktail hour and it was such a positive change we'll be doing it again next year. We hope to see you celebrating 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    155
    78
    38
    43
See reviews for
98
89
16
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

Booked a overnight stay, live locally but it's winter and wanted to get away for the night. Pool was warm, hot tub great. Rooms very clean and nice. Was going to go out for dinner but we stayed in and ate at the restaurant. Food was fine, bartender makes a great Cosmo. Total union staff though in restaurant, seated and it took forever and a day for a so called "Joe" to finally find us. We were frustrated and went to the bar bought drinks and brought them to the table. There were only 3 tables in restaurant.....if it was not for Kathy? The host we would have never gotten anything. She was amazing ( blonde hair pony tail). Again food was great.....we always tip well, just wish the service was better, or that the servers were there because they wanted to make money......I guess they make it with or without tips.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kirstinjoy1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We went to the Sheraton Hotel's New Year's Eve Gala on 12/31/12. We were greeted with champagne and strawberries. Our room was immaculate. Very clean, and the bathroom was in great condition. The beds and pillows were comfortable and the noise level was very good as well.
The cocktail hour was very good, lots of variety. Dinner was filet mignon and lobster, which was good. There was a live band, and also casino games. It was a great time!
The next morning, we ate brunch which was also included in our total price. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyrlisa35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Checked in and was greeted pleasantly by the front desk staff. I had booked two beds but was very cordially accommodated in a king size bed on the same floor-great service.

The dinner was great and personable, breakfast was good but could have choices with a Chef for eggs to order, and overall the service was great.

Nice room and the free parking was an added amenity.

Room Tip: High floor room has a good view of the skyline on a clear day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samarth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Manager at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Thanking you for taking the time to write a kind review regarding your most recent stay. We appreciate your business and hope you will return soon.

Christine C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

The Sheraton Mahwah is a gem. It has many things in its favor...very nice views of the mountains, plenty of parking, clean rooms, heated indoor pool & Jacuzzi, nice location near shopping and many restaurants, I've stayed there on 3 occasions. The bedding and beds are great. The showers and bathroom are clean and functional, nothing exotic but serviceable.

We recently stayed there on a Saturday and after attending a friends christmas party we were very happy to discover that their disco was open (just Saturday nights). There was no cover for guests ($5 for non-guests). The disco had people of all ages (I'm 60+) just dancing and having a good time.

The only areas needing improvement are the driveway needs to be repaved and it would be nice if the internet was free.

If you want to get a great rate for this hotel go onto Priceline, 'Name Your Own Price' and select 3.5 Stars in Mahwah - Ramsey - Allendale area. The Sheraton is the only 3.5 stars in that area. I've been able to consistently get rooms for $80 + Tax + fee = ± $100.

Bring your bathing suit. Shopping at the Woodbury Commons Outlet is about 15 miles north and there's lots and lots of shopping a few miles south on Route 17. There are many reataurants in the area including a couple of classic 24 hr Diners.

Room Tip: Get a room on upper floors facing West towards the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Telegent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I booked this hotel for 1 night. I was scared due to the other reviews, but this place was FANTASTIC! I travel alot and I will return to the Sheraton Mahwah.

The front desk was great! As soon as I approached the desk, the clerks greeted me with a warm smile & made me feel like I was home. The room I recieved was beautiful! The bed was comfortable and the view was spectacular.

I had dinner at the restaurant and I was not impressed. Actually I think it was a little expensive and the food had no taste (very blah). Went to the restaurant the following morning. The hostess was not inviting and it seemed like I was intrupting whatever she was doing. I really like the gentleman who made my omelette, they made it the way I wanted it. GREAT TOUCH! I would definately stay there again!

Please dont let other reviews scare you away from this place. Try it out for yourself. What a gem in the middle of nowhere!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mizzcaramel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2012

This place is a total dump. Do not let the outsdie of the building fool you. Filthy rooms, cockroaches, etc.
The service at the front desk and restaurant is a joke. They simply do not care.
Teh bartender at the bar outside the resto is very nice and sweet. She may be the only one who actually cares..
wireless sucks and is very expensive...
The car service outsdie are jerks.

Should be torn down.

Never staying here again

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Manager at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
I apologize you feel the hotel was so poor. As a team member for 15 years, I was quite surprised you felt the hotel wasn't clean. We consistently receive high scores and praise for the cleanlines of our rooms and public space. If you would like to discuss your experience further, I would be happy to speak with your directly. Thank you for your time.

Christine-Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mahwah hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahwah
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Mahwah
Courtyard Mahwah
#4 of 8 in Mahwah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Mahwah
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
#1 of 2 in Suffern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Mahwah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mahwah Hotel

Property: Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
Address: 1 International Blvd, Route 17 North, Mahwah, NJ 07495-0027
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Mahwah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Mahwah Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Mahwah Hotel is located 40 minutes outside New York City and convenient to Newark Liberty International Airport. We overlook the majestic Ramapo Mountains with easy access from Route 17, 287 and the NY State Thruway. We offer 100 acres of landscaped grounds, free covered parking with temperature controlled skywalk, free basic high speed internet and indoor heated pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Mahwah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mahwah
Mahwah Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing