We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good room, but noisy doors”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Reviewed 8 September 2013

we were thrilled when we were upgraded to the top floor! the service we received was very good.
pros:
the bed was comfortable
being upgraded to the top floor
cons:
the shower head is very low (my 6'1" husband had problems showering)
when the doors of other rooms were closed it was really really really loud

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bprimadona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Director of Sales at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

bprimadona,
Thank you for taking the time comment onour hotel and your guest experience! We are pleased to see our associates provided excellent service. We are working to remedy the noise from the door closing.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Quite literally just off the freeway, this hotel is a hidden(!) treasure: very high quality restaurant with friendly service; nice pool and very good fitness center; phenomenal staff at recetion. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onereallyniceguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Director of Sales at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your excellent stay with us. We appreciate the postive comments and look forwar to welcoming you back in the nesar future!

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Great location with the views. Service was top notch from check-in till we checked out. Rooms were clean. Their were lots of wedding going on at the property and hence lots of noise in the lobby. Breakfast was great. Plenty of great restaurant nearby on RT 17.

Room Tip: Stay on higher floor to avoid noise and get great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papppuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Director of Sales at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Papppuu,

Thank you for your positive comments about your stay and our hotel! We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Had an OK stay here in August 2013. The room was definitely cleaner and less dumpy than when I stayed here previously. Bed was OK. Bathroom was relatively clean, but they had just ripped the drain out of the shower rather than fixing it.
The real shame is how loud this place is (and not from the Thruway or Route 17 as you might expect). Standing in my room, I could hear conversations taking place in rooms across the hall even though both doors were closed. That plus hearing doors slam along my floor late into the night made sleeping very difficult. I wish they could fix this because it would make a huge difference in making this a nice place to stay. For now, pack your ear plugs.
Please note that this hotel is not very close to NYC. I heard fellow travelers surprised that the front desk couldn't hail a cab to run them to the city immediately or that they couldn't drive themselves to midtown in 20 minutes. You can absolutely get to NYC from here, but give yourself at least an hour to account for traffic and consider booking a car service ahead of time if you don't want to take the train.
Enjoy NJ!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelCuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Director of Sales at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Travelcuties,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We appreciate your suggestions. Our staff is working on the noise issues due to the door closures. We look forward to welcoming you back to NJ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very nice it is right off if route 17. Breakfast buffet on Sunday was very good with plenty of fresh fruit, omelette station and may other options. The room was extremely clean and the linens and bed were comfortable. We stayed on the 16 floor and the views of the mountains are amazing. We remarked about returning in the fall to see the autumn foliage. There was a wedding the night we stayed and apparenty there are a lot of wedings at this hotel we could hear the noise From the 12th floor. So i would recomment being as far away from the 12 floor as possible. The pool was nice and reasonably clean, the water was very warm but the room that the pool in was cold. There were plenty if clean towels and the fitness equipment looked nice. I would definitely book this hotel again despite its high price.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Director of Sales at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Mike L.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your hotel experience with us! We have an excellent location amidst the majestic Ramapo Mountains. The Fall is an excellent time of the year to enjoy the change of seasons and visit the local area attractions. We strive to provide a clean, comfortable guest room experience and a restful night sleep. The hotel is popular for social events; our apologies for the sound disturbances coming from the 12th floor Skylite Ballroom. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel!

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

While visually attractive from afar, this is a tired property. The rooms are small, with very little storage for your clothes, other than for things you can hang in a closet. Bathroom is small and very little counter space.
Staff almost non-existent.
Sound separation between the rooms pretty poor.

When arriving at the hotel, you had to find a dolly and carry your luggage to your room as there were no bell men. The clerk at the front desk was most unhelpful.
There is also a new gimmick for saving on overhead. it's called "a Green Choice" where you are offered a few points so they don' t have to make up your room or clean it until you check out. Next thing you know, they will be charging you an extra fee for cleaning the room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Director of Sales at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear msc66,

Thank you for sharing your recent lodging experience with us. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations and services provided. Our goal is to provide a safe and pleasant experience for all our Guests. Please let me know if you would like to discuss your stay. I can be contacted at 201 529 1660.
We hope to be of service in the near future.

Richard
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We were there for a wedding and it is visually pretty. Modern styling. We came in at 12 midnight on the 26th and front desk was rude. Felt like I was bothering her. She was hidden in the back so you had to yell Hello to get her out. The rooms were nice. I jsut could not sleep due to the doors. They slam shut. We partied for the wedding till 3 am and were awoken by the people across the hall at 6 am getting ready for their morning wedding. Terrible planning. They did not care when I asked them to keep it down so I called front desk. Nothing done by them either. Also, I was just at the Hampton Inn the week before and had free wifi in my room. These folks charge you 11 bucks to have in your room and if it is anything like the free wifi in the bar/business area, it sucks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Director of Sales at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Ivy F,

Thank yo for taking the time to share your experience. Our apologies for not providing a quiet night's rest. We will review our procedures for blocking rooms to prevent guests from being disturbed by others.
We hope to be of service again and look forwar to welcoming you back.

Best Wishes,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahwah
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Mahwah
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Mahwah
Courtyard Mahwah
#4 of 8 in Mahwah
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
#1 of 2 in Suffern
428 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Mahwah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mahwah Hotel

Address: 1 International Blvd, Route 17 North, Mahwah, NJ 07495-0027
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Mahwah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Price Range: £83 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Mahwah Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Mahwah Hotel is located 40 minutes outside New York City and convenient to Newark Liberty International Airport. We overlook the majestic Ramapo Mountains with easy access from Route 17, 287 and the NY State Thruway. We offer 100 acres of landscaped grounds, free covered parking with temperature controlled skywalk, free basic high speed internet and indoor heated pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Mahwah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mahwah
Mahwah Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing