We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a quiet area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Deerfield Township, NJ
Level Contributor
98 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a quiet area”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. The area was quiet and the hotel was very clean and well kept. We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area. I didn't eat at the restaurant because there are plenty of places to eat not too far away.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Director of Sales at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Don P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lodging experience! We appreciate your positive comments about the cleanliness and well maintained facilities. We are close to excellent shopping and dining as noted. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    155
    79
    40
    44
See reviews for
101
89
16
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverview, FL
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel was impressive looking from the outside. Interior is clean and modern as you would expect from a Sheraton.The staff was pleasant and helpful.
I only ate 1 meal at the restaurant and the herb chicken dinner and Manhattan clam chowder were good.
USA today newspapers were available all through the hotel each morning.
The only negative to me was the lack of anything in the immediate area for entertainment, shopping, or eating. I did not have a car and wanted a late night snack and there was nothing - not even a gas station in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timekeeper13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Director of Sales at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Timekeeper13,

Thank you for sharing your lodging experience and choosing the Sheraton Mahwah Hotel. We appreciate your kind words and positive feedback about our beautiful facilities and good service. There are many fine retail and food service establishments near the hotel but only accessible by car or taxi. Our front desk is happy to recommend local merchants for a variety of services and activities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
302 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 640 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a really nice hotel and in pretty decent shape considering its age. Great location right off the interstate and quiet, with more parking than I have ever seen at a hotel. Actually the parking is a bit scary as it is a distance from the hotel and not right in the front door face like most hotels. So if I were a thief, this is the parking lot I would begin with because it is huge, far enough away from the action of the front doors to the hotel, and there is nothing and no one around the hotel that would deter a car thief. There are 2 choices for parking. One is covered in a parking building and one is open. Both fall into the category I mentioned earlier. Just an easy place for theft. Also there are signs everywhere telling you that you park at your own risk. Imagine that!
Stayed on the Club Floor and the room was great and bathroom in great shape. Club lounge very well appointed with free food at night for Club Floor level guests and a free breakfast in the morning as well. Coffee around the clock in your room or Club Lounge.
Very good hotel other than the parking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry8241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Director of Sales at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Larry8241,

Thank you for sharing your experience and comments. We have plenty of free parking as noted and the hotel has 24 hour security that monitors both the covered parking and the open lot parking lot. Both are well lit parking facilities, the hotel has a reputation for safety. It's great to see you enjoyed the Sheraton Club floor with all the amenities and services available to our VIP Guests!

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you want a hotel next to a mall or restaurants, this is not for you. I love this hotel because it is located far from the hustle and bustle of the downtown. You will never find issues with parking. Very easy to reach just off NY thruway or I 287. Breakfast is great, spacious rooms, there is a pool and gym.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Director of Sales at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Ben P

Thank you for sharing your experience. The hotel is in a idyllic setting with beautiful views of the Ramapo Mountains. We have ample parking with easy access from all the areas major highways. We are glad to see you enjoyed our indoor pool and Breakfast! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Having travelled from Paris for a high level medical conference in Baltimore I had further business in Franklin Lakes so I booked a few nights ... The hotel was massive, huge entrance of arena proportions but with a bar the size of my little local bar in Paris and astonishingly to me it was not accessible to me in my wheelchair ...

I'm pretty easy going with access issues especially in older places and being 20 odd years in a chair I've coped with almost all situations but to be honest I can't believe the bloody bar of a modern expensive hotel is located where I just can't reach with out a ramp .. (Non existent ramp .)

Very disappointed and surprised that this situation exists..

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThirstyfromParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Director of Sales at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear ThirstyfromParis,

Thank you for sharing your comments and experience. Our deepest apologies for our lack of proper accessibility to the Atrium Lounge. As noted the hotel bar is small in comparison to the facility and lobby. We are working on a solution to expand the lounge and provide easy access to all guests. Our service team is trained to provide food and beverage service in the accessible lobby and Link@Sheraton. We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again.

Thank You,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenland, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
204 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Pet friendly. Room service. This is one of those grand hotels that is a prime place for a conference. Our goal was to have a good jumping off point to get to the Tappan Zee Bridge, cross the Hudson into New England. Given its proximity to I-95, I-87 and I-287, the hotel is ideally located, and hard to miss since it is the largest building in the valley. The rooms are outstanding, very clean, very quiet. It was so nice, we stayed to enjoy the room a little longer than normal (we are chronic early risers) with its views from the 18th floor and let the rush hour traffic disperse.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Director of Sales at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear h603,

Thank you for sharing your experience and great comments about our facilities. Our ideal location and tremendous views are enjoyed by many travelers. Our convenient location make us a perfect choice when traveling through the NY/NJ area. We will share your comments about our clean and comfortable rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I have stayed at this property multiple times and over the past three years it seems to have dropped a star. For one thing the room rates have gotten more expensive (which is expected over time), and the dining room no longer has a chef making omelets in the morning. Although the buffet breakfast is top shelf and surprising - fresh fruits, pastries, eggs and meats, toast, bagels, juices. The breakfast buffet is 5 stars.even without the customized omelets. I had a junior suite that was an odd shape (not rectangular) and there was an exercise bicycle in the room. The hotel seems less full now as in previous stays. Plenty of free parking is available. The location is very convenient just off the junction of two interstates. I. recommend this hotel since I always chose it when visiting the area. It is quiet, restful and well equipped.

Room Tip: I prefer to get a room that is not on the conceierge level and eat in the restaurant as opposed to u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobs3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G, Director of Sales at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Bobs3636,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Mahwah for your lodging needs. We appreciate your comments and suggestions. Our apologies if we are not living up to your past experiences and unfortunately our rates have increased over the years. We still offer many value added rate plans from which to choose. Although our breakfast buffet does not have a chef preparing omelettes to order, omelettes are available on the menu at no additional charge when choosing the Full American Breakfast Buffet. We look forward to your return!

Thank You for choosing Starwood Hotels and Resorts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahwah
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Mahwah
Courtyard Mahwah
#3 of 8 in Mahwah
210 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
#1 of 2 in Suffern
403 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Mahwah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mahwah Hotel

Property: Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
Address: 1 International Blvd, Route 17 North, Mahwah, NJ 07495-0027
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Mahwah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Mahwah Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Mahwah Hotel is located 40 minutes outside New York City and convenient to Newark Liberty International Airport. We overlook the majestic Ramapo Mountains with easy access from Route 17, 287 and the NY State Thruway. We offer 100 acres of landscaped grounds, free covered parking with temperature controlled skywalk, free basic high speed internet and indoor heated pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Mahwah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mahwah
Mahwah Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing