We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sneaky switch to smaller containers”
Review of Asian Gourmet

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Asian Gourmet
Ranked #12 of 76 Restaurants in Manahawkin
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“sneaky switch to smaller containers”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have been ordering take out from here since they opened, and the food has been really good most of the time. Recently we noticed that the containers seemed significantly smaller. We compared them with old ones and sure enough, it has to be at least 30% smaller than before--with prices still climbing of course. We tried to ask them about it, but they didn't own up. It is now a rip off to order take out from there. ..what a shame.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    20
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Finally really good sushi”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Found this place by accident even though we live in town . We were getting really tired of the mushy sushi at our former asian take out. This sushi is fresh and very tasty. Would highly recommend the sweet potato roll!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elyse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sushi”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our family is a sushi loving family. This place always has seating. The chef has some pretty good special rolls. The seafood is very fresh and the place is very clean. Sometimes the waitress can be slow, but if you aren't in a rush its a great casual place where you won't walk out smelling like hibachi!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lulyln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My wife and I have ordered sushi from here many times and love their sushi. Last week was the first time that we actually ate at the restaurant, the service was good and food was great. We had a combo of Chinese and Sushi. The sushi was really fresh especial the Sex in the Lobby roll. The staff was nice and one of the guys working there had us cracking up. Great place and will be back again.
FYI: This is a bring your own place which is great.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank erick4k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Our favorite”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is our favorite Chinese restaurant. Great value, $8.99 for combo dinner that includes egg roll. Very nice but small seating area and a small private room. Also a sushi bar.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asian Gourmet also viewed

 
Manahawkin, NJ
 

Been to Asian Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing