We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic lodging”
Review of Shore Hills Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shore Hills Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Manasquan
Renfrew, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Basic lodging”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This small strip motel has great staff, clean, good WiFi with outside doors. Bath is small with shower stall only (no tub). Bed was comfortable and microwave & fridge are in the room. It is located on a divided highway and a eateries mean driving. A small breakfast of packaged pastries, juice & coffee is provided free of charge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    9
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
10
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

This is a tough area to get a decent room. Close enough to the shore that you pay premium prices for inferior rooms during the summer. The corporate hotels near the major highways are more expensive than similar hotels almost anywhere else in the country. That said, we needed a place to stay on short notice and the Shore Hills looked like our best option. Rooms are dated. Furniture and air conditioning are in need of upgrading. Regardless, the owners are very nice. The rates were reasonable. And the stay was pleasant enough. Budget travelers, this would be a fine consideration. Business travelers or those requiring nicer amenities might find the accommodations a bit below their expectations.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank directedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Rooms are really clean. Beds very comfy, big modern TV. Tiny bathroom but fine for a night. Manager really nice and helpful. Nice coffee in reception area in the morning. overall - safe and clean, nothing fancy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We spend two horrible nights in this motel. I can't believe they charged $250 for a room that should be under $50 a night.

I told them that I had mold-induced asthma and they swore up & down that the rooms were clean, but this wasn't the case. When I complained they did change my room for the second night, but I still suffered all night. Everything is over-priced in this area, but I'll never go back to Shore Hills Motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shorehills, Owner at Shore Hills Motel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
After checking rooms and not finding any sign of mold, guest was contacted and asked where he had encountered mold. He replied “I don’t know, but I am sensitive to mold, in the carpet”. When asked which room, he replied the first room and then he hanged up. The carpet was removed and we found both padding and carpet clean and no sign of mold.
Guest made reservation over the internet, through third party, for 2 rooms for 1 night( 1 king and 1 queen). Upon checking in, guest requested if he can extend both rooms for one more night (Saturday). Since we did not have any rooms, we could not honor the guest for another night. The manager was willing to find the guest a room, in another motel but, the guest requested a room here since his activities were close to this motel. Next day, the guest was informed one room that the manager had managed to find for him here (Room with 2 full beds). The guest took the room and, was charged $185, not $250. Both the reservation, through third party and credit card payments done each day, verifies that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manasquan hotels

UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Only stayed one night but loved it. I guess you would call it vintage or perhaps classic but absolutely nothing wrong with that! Danny and his wife were adorable and so interested in us. They put their heart and souls into this place. Spotlessly clean. Local restaurants will deliver. Wish we could have stayed longer. Businesses like these deserve to do well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carltona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

The owner and his family are on-premise and I was voluntarily requested to call if I had any issues or needs at any time of the day or night. A fresh, clean scent was the first thing I noticed upon entering my room. The towels and sheets were fresh and soft and all of the linens appeared to be very clean. The amenities are basic and older but in very good shape and the walls have a fresh coat of paint. My room with double beds had a very large shower stall and the bathroom appliances and flooring were immaculately clean. I am very petite and hadn't any problem sliding between sink and shower to access the toilet but for a larger or handicapped individual the small space could present a problem. Due the building structure there doesn't appear to be a way for the owners to amend the situation, but the bathroom set-up may be spaced differently in other rooms.The rooms are non-smoking and there are active security cameras posted along the walkway in front of the doors. Overall, I was very satisfied and felt completely safe. I would absolutely stay again.

Room Tip: If the noise of cars passing by at 50-60 mph will interrupt your sleep, I suggest ear plugs as there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We spent there 1 night during our roadtrip in May. As there aren't so many reviews, we were little bit sceptical, even if it was about just one night. We were very agreeable suprised.
Our room was neat and clean as well as the bathroom. Bathroom is tiny, but the tidiness beats it in all cases. Bed was comfy, no odd stains on sheets at all.
Owners are very nice and always want to help if you need anything. Breakfast was in small lobby, don't expect rich continental breakfast, but you can count on fresh, nice smelling coffee, juice and some cakes or muffins.
Motel is located near main road but still hidden behind small bushes, so the noise from road isn't annoying. Watch for the road signpost.
If you consider to stay here, please do not hesitate and give it a try.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swoul84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manasquan
2.9 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
132 reviews
3.4 mi away
Boardwalk Beach Inn
Boardwalk Beach Inn
#4 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
37 reviews
5.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Neptune
Red Roof Inn Neptune
#2 of 6 in Neptune
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tinton Falls-Jersey Shore
2.6 mi away
Atlantic Inn & Suites
Atlantic Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Wall Township
18 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea Girt Lodge
Sea Girt Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sea Girt
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hills Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hills Motel

Property: Shore Hills Motel
Address: 2337 Highway 34, Manasquan, NJ 08736-1423
Region: United States > New Jersey > Manasquan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Manasquan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Shore Hills Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Shore Hills Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shore Hills Hotel Manasquan
Shore Hills Motel Manasquan, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing