We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arturos Osteria & Pizzeria

Arturos Osteria & Pizzeria
Ranked #1 of 43 Restaurants in Maplewood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We love Arturo's. All the food is fresh and delish. We typically order brick oven pizza - which is perfectly thin and light. We have also enjoyed the dinners (i.e., ravioli) and the salads - always high quality and fresh ingredients. The worst part is waiting for a table on busy nights.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    32
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
241 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Friday Evening Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Dropped in for dinner around 6pm on a Friday. Waited about 45 minutes for a table. As others have mentioned, it's a popular spot and the wait can be long at times. It was well worth the wait. We ordered the Ricotta Crostini and the Meatballs for our appetizers.
We ordered a half Santo half Margherita pie. Delicious!
Service was friendly and attentive.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fries_with_Ketchup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Artisinal Pizza/Pasta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

From the farm to table vegetables, to the wood-fired pizza, to the delicious pastas, everything's good. Only downside is the inevitable wait for a table. Wish it were bigger!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cute place!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a cute place and with friendly and warm wait staff. The brick oven pizza is good, but I've tasted better. The crust is often a little burnt but overall is tasty. The salad was delicious and fresh. The atmosphere is very nice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and generally great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We go to Arturos A LOT. Pretty much once a week or sometimes even more. It is definitely upscale pizza and pasta and many people seem to grumble abut that and the higher cost, but we think it is worth it and it is nonetheless very family/child friendly. Dan has really made something of what used to be a by-the-slice pizza joint and has awards to prove it. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is the often extremely long wait times. The place is small, popular and simply can't expand so there isn't much that can be done about the wait, but it can be a real drag.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolynNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arturos Osteria & Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Arturos Osteria & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing