We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local Thai”
Review of Wild Ginger

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wild Ginger
Ranked #10 of 43 Restaurants in Maplewood
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great local Thai”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We order from Wild Ginger all the time. They prepare food quickly and the quality is consistent. Even on their busiest evenings, they have quick service and turnaround. We also love that eating in the restaurant is BYOB. We've never ordered something that wasn't tasty!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    23
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Average food”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Went for lunch and found the food very average and not at all authentic. Every dish looked similar, guess just the sauce they add on was a bit different. Will not re-visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Richarocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Tasty Food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We eat at Wild Ginger fairly often, and enjoy their selection of Thai food which is reasonably priced. Service is friendly, and kids are always welcome.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank cseleosida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denville, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Adequate, but nothing more”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

As Thai restaurants go,this place falls somewhere in the middle. Food was okay. My spouse and I had two different duck dishes. Both were supposed to be crispy, but had more fatty pieces than we expected. Service was prompt but indifferent. No one came to check on us, and plates were cleared the second I put my fork down. No offer of tea or dessert. Felt a little like Thai McDonald's--eat and run. Not exactly warm and friendly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank unicorn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Can't choose a bad dish”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Food is great, service quick, so inexpensive. No matter what we have eaten food is always good and presented with style

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susan8852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild Ginger also viewed

 

Been to Wild Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing