We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not kid friendly!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Downbeach Deli & Restaurant

Downbeach Deli & Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 44 Restaurants in Margate City
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Serving Margate City since 1982, Downbeach Deli serves fresh, flavorful, deli favorites. Join us for breakfast, lunch, or dinner! Our come-as-you-are atmosphere and friendly service combined with our extensive menu, makes Downbeach Deli one of the best eateries in town. We serve a huge selection of breakfast items including pastries, omelets, and bagels.
NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not kid friendly!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Unbelievable! Five adults and a one year old grandchild. Everyone knows us since we go there frequently year round. First time for the baby who is from out of town. All ordered big dinners. Asked if they could please scramble one egg for the baby. No way! We don't do that because of the frying pans. We can make a plain omelet for $7.00 but not one egg. What?? Could not believe their answer. Sorry that we didn't walk out, but we stayed and ate. Big mistake, no one enjoyed their meal. Server was frazzled, forgot one item for each course. It was always for my daughter- in- law. I was very embarrassed. They just lost good customers, year round customers. I don't even think they care.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank retiredNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“"Meh" is a pretty accurate description.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

As a Brooklyner, I take my delis seriously, and Downbeach didn't meet my standards. I ordered a few childhood favorites: blinchiki, matzo ball soup, and a chocolate egg cream. Like most delis, they brought out pickles and bread first. The portions were generous, but the pickles were underdone, and the pumpernickel just wasn't very flavorful. They brought out my egg cream, and it must have been sitting in the kitchen for a while, because it was flat, and stirring it didn't help. Admittedly, the blinchiki were quite good. Much sweeter than usual, but very good nonetheless. The matzo ball soup was cold and a huge disappointment. Anyway, you get a lot for an inexpensive price, but the food's just not very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast
Level Contributor
141 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A regular favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

The ONLY deli worth visiting in the area. Great brisket, great home cooked meals and great breakfasts. Consistent comfort food in a relaxed atmosphere. Love it here.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank eastcoastbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
135 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“I LOVE this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

This is my favorite restaurant in charming Margate. If you have an affinity for Jewish food, which I do, come home to Downbeach. The motzah balls are out of this world, the brisket is so yum, and they serve awesome pickles and pumpernickel at the beginning of every meal. It's warm and loving and I couldn't love a restaurant more. I dread the summer when it will be crowded with tourists and summer residents!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tempranill0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Luncheonette”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

Had a great brunch here today. It started out with there signature pickle and peppers appetizer which is complimentary. I had a nice breakfast which I like any time of the day. Very attentive service also had a wonderful Jewish bakery as well check it out you won't be sorry.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chaz46wm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Downbeach Deli & Restaurant also viewed

 
Margate City, NJ
Margate City, NJ
 

Been to Downbeach Deli & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing