We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing visit to the past!”
Review of Lucy the Elephant

Lucy the Elephant
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Refreshing visit to the past!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Lucy is one of those places that is certainly within an easy drive from our home but we never got around to visiting. I remember passing it in the early 70s when it was at it's height of disrepair and several times throughout the decades as she got better and better. My adult son and husband and I finally made the trip and were so pleased that she has been beautifully renovated. The admission was reasonable at $8 per person. We went early so our exterior pictures are beautiful without tons of people in them. You enter through a narrow door in one of the back legs and climb a narrow and somewhat dark staircase. Not at all scary but would pose a problem for someone with mobility issues. The interior is of course the inside of the elephant complete with circular windows for eyes that look out onto the ocean. The guide was was very knowledgeable and allowed enough time for everyone to look around. We had quite a mix of ages in our tour group and the adults were just as delighted as the children. Up another narrow staircase to an open deck on the elephant's back that afforded a 360 degree vista of the ocean and Margate. The history was well related and quite interesting. We were able to look around at the various displays in the belly again before making our way down and out the other rear leg. Another photo shoot from the ocean side made us notice the elephant's red tongue and purple toe nails! The gift shop was small but offered lots of interesting items including replicas of postcards from the 1800s. We really enjoyed our visit and look forward to bringing our granddaughter to visit Lucy. My only disappointment was the lack of original furnishings.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank shorestrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    108
    19
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fun”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

A perfect stop on a chilly day at the shore when the ocean temp are two chilly. My 5 and 7 year old loved it

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Don U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,430 reviews
265 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 743 helpful votes
“Unique Piece of Americana”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

When you hit the Jersey shore one sight you should NOT miss is Lucy the Elephant in Margate.
Lucy is a piece of Americana and has a long history in New Jersey. She is a great example of zoomorphic architecture and sits in the center of Margate guarding the beach.
She was a sales prop, a tavern, part of a hotel, a home and now a popular tourist destination. There is nothing else like her - anywhere!
I recommend that you take the tour. We had an enthusiastic kid (he must have been about 18) who was proud of Lucy and had 1,000 facts and funny stories to tell. Going inside of Lucy is fun, inside her big belly there is quite a lot of space and a great view (from her butt)!
Don't miss Lucy the Elephant, you will have some great photos and have some fun stories of New Jersey to share with your friends!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
138 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Interesting piece of NJ history”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We visited Lucy because we feel that she is a very interesting piece of NJ history. We took the tour ($8.00 per person at this time) and were guided by a friendly young lady named Caroline. She answered all of our questions and had a very thorough knowledge of Lucy's long history. We entered and climbed the small spiral staircase in Lucy's rear leg. The main room inside of Lucy contained various memorabilia and a TV on which we watched a short documentary on Lucy from her birth in 1881 until her restoration and up-keep today. We learned allot about Lucy's very interesting past. I had no idea that she had once been used as a tavern! Caroline answered our many questions and even shared an inside joke about the interesting placement of Lucy's 'rear' windows (they refer to them as Lucy's "pane in the butt" - love the play on words!). We had a very enjoyable visit and made sure we purchased a Lucy ornament and made an extra donation to Lucy's up-keep before we left. If you're looking for an interesting museum/oddity, then Lucy is well worth the visit. She is a quick stop on the way to Ocean City and/or Atlantic City. Lucy is not an amusement park. She is a National Historic Landmark. So go for the interesting history and the beautiful view. Oh... and be sure to ask about the purple toenails and why there is a "J" on one of them.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lucy the Elephant”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Lucy is just a joy to visit. Her history of existence is fascinating. Lucy looms in the well-groomed town of Margate, and in 1976 Lucy became a national historical landmark. She has been moved off the beach, restored, mentioned in "Boardwalk Empire", and now is a wonderful attraction not far from Atlantic City and sports freshly painted purple toenails. There is a wonderful little gift shop just behind Lucy.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lucy the Elephant also viewed

Egg Harbor Township, NJ
Cape May Court House, Middle Township
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Ocean City, Cape May County
 

Been to Lucy the Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing