We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly satisfying experience”

MJ's at Buttonwood Manor
Ranked #35 of 78 Restaurants in Matawan
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Thoroughly satisfying experience”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Having lived near this establishment for many years and not having ever frequented it, I was extremely pleased to find good service, reasonable prices and, most important of all, delicious good. I cannot opine about the place prior to its new management (now MJ's - bear this in mind if reading older reviews), but this place is good now and I will return. Even my picky kids ate and enjoyed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danteconcane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    40
    29
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Freehold, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Horrible food”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

rotary club used to meet there. The only thing I ordered was a turkey club - everything else was horrible.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surrounding Scenery Nice”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Arrived for a brunch luncheon for a family reunion. The grounds are lovely overlooking the lake with waterfalls. Overall a good variety and selection of foods offered. Brunching consisting of good quality breakfast foods...bacon, sausage, pancakes, french toast, waffles and all the trimmings. Another option was the salmon, fresh cooked veggies and pasta dishes as well. Nice touch with the mimosa drinks. Clean establishment and good service throughout.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank beachrumpunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth Junction, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Buttonwood Manor”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Upon reading from a previous post that this restaurant is now open as of March 29th, 2013. Went there today, April 4, 2013 and was closed due to renovations with 5 permits still taped to front doors. Walked inside and still has that musty smell!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank slowrunnermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South River, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Easter brunch”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Heard the Buttonwood Manor was purchased by MJ's Pizza Bar & Grill, which I've been to several times and absolutely love! So was curious when I heard they were holding an Easter brunch buffet. Made reservations, and glad I did so 2 weeks out, heard it sold out the week of, totally understand why...WOW was it good!!! The buffet had a lot of great choices, standard brunch fare, as well as some great pasta dishes and cold salads. They also had a carving station, pasta station, and omelet station, plus a huge dessert display...enjoyed by me and my group, and from the buzz in the room, everyone around us! And the view of the lake was the perfect backdrop to such a pleasant meal! I heard the restaurant upstairs is due to open sometime at the end of the month...can't wait! MJ's, welcome to Matawan! And thanks for bringing new life into the Buttonwood Manor!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DreaP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MJ's at Buttonwood Manor also viewed

 

Been to MJ's at Buttonwood Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing