We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun happy hour atmosphere!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Sugar Hill

The Inn at Sugar Hill
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Sugar Hill
Ranked #1 of 2 Mays Landing B&B and Inns
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun happy hour atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Staying with a friend in Mays Landing and popped in for happy hour! Fun crowd and fun staff that night! Loved Katie the bartender! She was great! Enjoyed our cocktails and snacks. The bar area and dining rooms were beautiful!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheilasalesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    4
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medford, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

My husband and I were married at the Inn in 2007, which was a great experience, we hadn't been there since, so we decided to drive almost an hour last night for dinner...I cannot express the perfection of this meal...I started with a much needed French vanilla martini...my husband had the filet mignon and crab cake and I had the flounder stuffed with crab imperial. The sides were all excellent, especially the homemade stewed tomatoes and round-cut red potatoes. the warm bread and homemade crackers with sesame and poppy seeds was also amazing! For dessert my husband had the house dessert which is a puff pastry filled with an incredible vanilla mousse and I had the cannoli, which had the best filling I have ever had! The atmosphere is warm and inviting and very clean! There were also many people enjoying themselves conversing around the bar area but it was very cozy and not noisy at all...Our waitress was friendly and attentive and everyone was welcoming...the young bus boy kept our water glasses full...I would love to spend a night at the Inn in the near future and experience breakfast...their chef is excellent...My only disappointment is that we waited so long to go back...we will make it a regular stop on our list of favorite restaurants!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

This one was hard to rate. On one hand, it may be the best choice of all the accomodations in the area.......we had an event to attend about 20 mins. From there and this seemed to be the best lodgings to be had. The Senator Suite was spacious, it was great having a private back deck to ourselves. And although we did not need a private kitchen, it is nice to have that convenience. On the other hand, we have stayed at many B&B's across the country and this was the least luxurious. It is rustic, the bathroom is small and badly needs updating. the bed squeaked and was not too comfortable. There were only lace curtains and therefore no way to keep the morning sun from awakening us at 6 a.m. worst was not having a thermostat to control room temperature. the owner stays in the room nest door and he kept the A.C. Freezing at night ( finally had to have him disturbed to get another blanket) but during daytime hours the next day there was NO air on, and we broiled. We were out both nights of our visit until a fairly late hour so we didn't mind the late night music and noise from the bar at the dock, but that might be an issue for other guests hoping for a quiet place to stay. There is no room phone, the linens and towels are somewhat cheap and threadbare. The place did seem to be cleaned well, but absolutely no nice little touches we have come to expect from nice B&B's. In other words, just not that comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlantic city nj
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We have dined here many times, but our last visit was not the dining experience we expected. Even though we thought it would be a slow night, reservations were made in advance. When we arrived on time, the hostess informed us a table was not yet ready, it would be a few minutes. We were given the choice of waiting in the lobby or going to the bar for a cocktail. We opted for the bar where there were about six adults enjoying drinks. I ordered a vodka martini. The bartender made the drink and then shook it like crazy. I mentioned that most bartenders will tell you a clear liquor should be stirred, not shaken. She told me that she had to shake it because she didn't have a spoon long enough to stir a drink. Would it bust the budget to buy a long handled spoon? After a few minutes we were informed that our table was ready. There were two other people in the dining room and they couldn't have a table ready on time? Appitizers were oyster stew which had a nice broth but not many oysters. Clams casino had a nice mix of onions, peppers and bacon stuffing, however a few of the clams had a very strong taste. They weren't fresh. The seafood dinner had good stuffed shrimp. The day scallops were over cooked and rubbery. The Brazilian lobster tail looked nice, but it was the mushiest, worst lobster tail I have ever eaten. It's time to get Maine lobsters and forget the warm water ones. Desserts were good. The highlight of the evening. Coffee and tea were "there". I expect something better than a Lipton tea bag in a fine dining establishment. Coffee was just OK. Service was average, not nearly as good as Seaview or Ram's Head. We'll go to one of them next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cranstonsnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

I was calling to schedule a tour for my sister who was interested in their venue for a wedding reception. On their website they say that for a fee, they will shut down in the evening to accomodate a larger party. However when I called, they kept talking about how hard and put out they would be if we opted to have a night wedding- even though I stated that there would be no problem covering the additional site fee to help them make up any lose revenue. I said that I would be more then happy to tour and that price would not be an object, but not if it was too hard for them- and they said "Lets not do it" and HUNG UP on me. I cannot believe how rude they were on the phone- THEY ARE THE ONES WHO STATE ON THEIR WEBSITE THAT NIGHT PARTIES ARE AN OPTION! If you don't want people to use your sight in the evening, DONT LIST IT AS AN OPTION. I can only imagine how they treat guests that are not offering to cover large overhead costs.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ka D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

The food was exceptional. We loved the Lamb lollipop and lobster ravioli appetizers and could have made a meal out of them. The atmosphere was very quaint and the tables were nicely spaced apart from each other. Our server seemed a little off her game but others filled in for her which helped. Overall we were very pleased and will definitely visit this restaurant again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cricket59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,252 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

You can see my review of the restaurant. We had a room on third floor. Spacious, nice bathroom. A very nice B&B room. Only draw back was a bit of road noise. Breakfast was excellent. Owner/chef greeted us by name in morning with fresh fruit, pastries he had just bought from town's french bakery. This followed by... whatever you want. I had spinach and goat cheese egg souffle - very good. Lady had a good omelet. Excellent breakfast. Excellent stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mays Landing
18.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Vineland
17.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Millville Vineland
6.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township
Homewood Suites by Hilton Atlant...
#1 of 9 in Egg Harbor Township
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Millville
8.5 mi away
Atrium Inn
Atrium Inn
#5 of 18 in Galloway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
9.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Absecon (Atlantic City) Galloway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Sugar Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sugar Hill

Property: The Inn at Sugar Hill
Address: 5704 Somers Point Rd, Somers Point Road, Mays Landing, NJ 08330-1668
Region: United States > New Jersey > Mays Landing
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mays Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Sugar Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Inn at Sugar Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing