We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food but pricey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belford Bistro

Belford Bistro
Ranked #2 of 51 Restaurants in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
new jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Food but pricey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our son lives in Middletown and recommended this restaurant to us. As mentioned in other reviews, it is in a non-descript strip mall and is actually in the town of Belford, NJ. Be careful if you are looking for it because there are TWO Main Streets and it is easy to become confused.
Our server was very attentive and BYOB is a definite plus to hold down prices a bit. Salads are large enough to be shared and my husband and I shared the beet salad - delectable! Son and wife shared an scallop appetizer special - they termed it wonderful.
I ordered the scallops which were done perfectly. Husband and son had a soft shell crab special - excellent! Daughter-in-law had the crab cakes and took one home. Portions are generous but not huge. Husband and I didn't have room for dessert but of course, the "kids" did. I can't remember exactly what they had (something like choc lava cake??) but it was great.
We went on a Sunday (early evening 6 pm) - had reservations - but really didn't need them but by the time we left, the dining room was almost full. You will definitely enjoy your dinner here but make sure that you bring your credit card or adequate funds! :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank profteedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    24
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A young couple creating fine cousine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is a little restaurant is in a small shopping center that has become in the last couple of years an excellent little bistro and has been a well kept secret with the locals. The food ranges from all different culinary regions and the menu continuously changes. My wife and I have always been pleased with the service and quality of dishes presented. Call for reservations on the weekends
because there is limited space.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sailorman20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dinner at Belford Bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Excellent food...you definitely need a reservation...BYOB...it can get noisy because of the design of the restaurant...one of my favorite places to eat! Love it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LRosen8007_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We have been to this place several times and have always had a great meal. The food is delicious and they always have great specials. Last time we were there, I had the venison special and it was tender and juicy. My wife loves the scallops. It's BYOB, like much of the places in NJ. The tend to use bacon in many of their dishes so it you love bacon like I do this is an added bonus! We will be back soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichEdNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Belford Bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Small dinning room. Excellent food and service. BYOB. Reservations absolutely required. Not the type of place one would expect to find in a strip mall.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank moej99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belford Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Belford Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing