We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Middletown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Inn Middletown
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita Falls, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

I had a great stay here, the service was unsurpassed, I did not have a channel guide in my room and before I could hang up the phone and get to the door staff was knocking at door with one. The Salt water pool was Superior. The rooms were clean. I could not ask for anything more for the price!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Middletown, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write about your experience. We work very hard every day to provide the quality of service travelers expect and I am pleased we exceeded your expectations during your last stay. We look forward to being your preferred hotel when you are visiting our area in Monmouth County. Have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    47
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
50
49
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Finding a decent hotel on a budget in Mid-north Jersey is a trick - a trick I haven't yet learned. This hotel provides a clean, quiet room with decent internet access. The "quiet" part depends on who's living next door. Road noise from Hwy 35 is adequately muffled, but sound insulation between rooms is sub-par.

Bed is on the low end of "fair" for comfort.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have high ceilings. Noise from above is limited to the pitter-pat of heavy rain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oceansmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIGSMGR, Manager at Comfort Inn Middletown, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Thank you for recently staying with us. I wish I had some foolproof tricks to share with you on how to snag a great hotel at a low price in New Jersey. The state of New Jersey is very unique when compared to other states. Each part of New Jersey offers different activities during different parts of the year and this is what dicates pricing structures.

For example: along the Jersey shore like where we are located (Sandy Hook in Monmouth County to Cape May in Cape May County) hotels are higher priced during the warmer summer months and on the weekends most especially, but better prices can be found during the winter months since no one is really heading out to the beach in January.

Northern New Jersey (Bergen, Essex, Middlesex) are higher priced on weekdays because of the corporate travel and proximity to New York City and less expense on weekends.

Northwestern New Jersey (Warren, Sussex, Hunterdon counties) is where the ski resorts and mountains are, they are higher priced during the winter months because people are visiting there for recreational outdoor winter activities.

Southwestern New Jersey (Camden, Gloucester and Salem) runs the same as Northern New Jersey because of the corporate travel and proximity to Philadelphia

I hope you find this helpful when planning your future trips to New Jersey. I hope you will return to us in the future and I hope you will find our hotel to be just as clean and well cared for as you did on this trip. Thank you kindly for posting your review of us on tripadvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed here the night before the New Jersey Marathon in Long Branch. Nice front desk, clean room. Deducted room safe charge on checkout upon request. Started serving breakfast (cereal, muffins, the usual) at 5:30 am. Convenient to Red Bank, where we had Italian food the night before the marathon. Also not too far from a Costco, up north a few miles on Route 35.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hushaphone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIGSMGR, Manager at Comfort Inn Middletown, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Thank you for recently staying at the Comfort Inn of Middletown. We have been a popular location over the years for the marathon runners. We start our breakfast earlier than normal that weekend because we know our guests need to be ready to go bright and early on race day. I am happy to hear you have a pleasant stay with us and thank you for recognizing our efforts to provide clean rooms and friendly staff. I look forward to being your hotel choice next year, remember, you are always welcome to visit us whenever you choose!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

First the nightly rate was $127 plus taxes. this hotel should have went for about $59 a night. The hotel smelled, The fitness centre is a joke 1 broken treadmill and a beat up bike, also a universal machine with missing pieces.Oh yes there is a few towels laying in there and that is it. The game is worst a couple of run down machines. There is a out door pool. The rooms are OK except you can hear everything in the next room. The staff is friendly although the older gentleman made a sexual joke to my 80 year old aunt. The breakfast was all right for free you would not go there if it was a restaurant. The young lady was working very hard to kept the food stock and the place clean. it just was not worth the money. it was a busy weekend up in that area and we booked late so we got stuck there. Go some where else. There is and Outback right in the parking lot which is a nice feature.

Room Tip: Elevators are in the front of the hotel you may want to consider that if steps are a problem or walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baileyups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIGSMGR, Manager at Comfort Inn Middletown, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
I am so sorry to hear about your disappointing stay at our hotel. I am also sorry to hear you felt stuck with us. We work hard every day to maintain a clean and comfortable environment for our guests. To the best of my knowledge all the fitness room's equipment are in working order and all appropriate parts are accounted for. Our complimentary hot breakfast is an ammenity available to our guests so they can get a head start on the day. It is conveniently located in our hotel so our guests do not need to leave the property, if they so choose, to get something to eat. Since all hotels are configured differently, we rely on our guests to let us know if they require something specific such as a first floor room or a room near an elevator, etc and we do our best to meet that request. We certainly do not want to have an unhappy guest and I am sorry you were unhappy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester
Level Contributor
312 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Business took me to Middletown, NJ so I returned to this Comfort Inn. Very friendly front desk staff, which is always a nice surprise in Jersey. Room was compact, but clean and had everything I care about. It was quiet, the HVAC system worked at a constant speed (to provide white noise) and did what I asked. Shower was warm enough.

My only complaint was that the free internet put constant pop-ups on my screen. I have my computer set to block pop-ups, but the free wireless somehow over-rode this.

Room Tip: All rooms off the main road. One side fronts onto a noisy commercial establishment, so pick the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAMan804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lewis, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

The room was clean, customer service was excellent, and there was nothing broken or needing maintenance (the simple things that keep me happy). Housekeeping was perfect, breakfast was pretty standard, and the pool was outside so closed at this time of the year (the only disappointment honestly). We stayed for 5 days, and I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed one night in a room with 1 king bed. The room was very large with nice amenities (flat screen TV, fridge, microwave, nice sized bathroom, two bottles water). The smells were another story. The lobby smelled of smoke when I went to check in (this was gone when I went to check out - replaced by good breakfast smells). The entryway and hallway near our room had a different smell, maybe kind of a damp/old hotel smell. Our room had yet another odor, some kind of sickie-sweet glade-plug-in-type aroma, although the smell persisted even after I unplugged the glade thing I found in the bathroom. It was not masking smoke -- I would have smelled that -- but maybe used to cover any potential lingering animal smells (? I didn't smell those either, just the annoying glade smell). I know the hotel allows dogs, as we have stayed here multiple times in the past and have brought our dogs with us. We have never had a problem in the many times that we have stayed here, and I don't remember any issues with smells before.

The view out the window of the pool area was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j1959c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hazlet Inn
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Lincroft Red Bank
3.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Red Bank - Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Oyster Point Hotel
Oyster Point Hotel
#1 of 4 in Red Bank
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hazlet
Holiday Inn Hazlet
#2 of 3 in Hazlet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
3.7 mi away
Blue Bay Inn
Blue Bay Inn
#1 of 1 in Atlantic Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Middletown

Property: Comfort Inn Middletown
Address: 750 State Route 35, Middletown, NJ 07748-3410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Middletown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated Comfort Inn located just minutes from Red Bank, Sandy Hook, local attractions, historic areas of interest and fabulous restaurants. Daily Hot Breakfast, High Speed Internet Access, Fitness Room and Seasonal Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool are all complimentary services available to all our guests. We strive to make your stay comfortable and if something isn't right let us know and we will do our best to make it right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Middletown Hotel Middletown
Middletown Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing