We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cheese, Pork, Beef and Bread!”

Bobolink Dairy & Bakehouse
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Milford
Attraction details
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Cheese, Pork, Beef and Bread!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I moved from NJ to Hawaii and regret few things about the move, however, one of the things I miss, is not having Bobolink close to home. According to Anthony Bourdain, in a No Reservations episode, Bobolink is one of the few dairies that has exported cheese to France. They make artisanal cheeses that are allowed to age using natural environmental means. Therefore, the cheeses taste and look slightly different from batch to batch. That is not an error but the design. One of my favorites, the cheddar, is sharp and has a cakey consistency with a slight bloomy rind. Another masterpiece, the Jean-Louis, has a gooey deliciousness that needs to be tasted to be best described. They also offer uncooked and cured meats from open pastured animals that are tended with care, dense non-preserved breads, and seasonal local specialties. The store is the huge ground floor cellar of a charming rustic farm building in Alexandria Twsp., NJ. Some reviewers seem to be put off by the character of that sort of place - but it is farm country through and through. No it's not Shop-Rite, Safe-way, nor Wegman's. But is that where you look for unique cheeses? I love cheese and have sampled local specialty cheeses in countries that include France, Spain, Italy, Switzerland, the Netherlands, and Greece. Bobolink is a wonder! The owners also promote education about autism and cheese making internships. It's a delicious adventure that makes you feel good in so many ways.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank EJayW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Family Business--Delicious Food”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This place has been on my bucket list since I saw it featured on Anthony Bourdain's "No Reservations" a number of years ago. Loved sampling the cheeses and breads and the staff is friendly and knowledgeable. It's a very pretty drive through Hunterdon County. I understand they also do occasional pig roasts. Everything was delicious! Hard to choose what to buy after the sampling. I'll be back!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hunter356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a side trip!”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stopped here after spending a few hours at Ringing Rocks park. The baked bread smells were wonderful, the cheese was delicious (my 10-year-old son loved the 18-month cheddar), and the staff was friendly and knowledgable. I only wish the outside looked more welcoming and had a patio or other place to sit, eat, and relax.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren County NJ
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not too cheesy”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Excellent service from the young lady working there, though the building is a bit rough on the outside; we even questioned going in. The addition of a few hanging plants outside would go far in making this place more inviting. The cheddar was quite good when we topped out turkey burgers with it for dinner in the evening, and the freshly baked cheese buns they were on made a great meal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BevyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newfoundland, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bobolink Cheddar...mmm”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

The owner was present when we went - giving samples and explaining each cheese and bread. The service was awesome, the price was reasonable, and the cheese was awesome! Get the cheddar and the duck fat ciabatta. Mmm...wish they were closer!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrsLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bobolink Dairy & Bakehouse also viewed

 
Upper Black Eddy, Bucks County
 

Been to Bobolink Dairy & Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing