We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Island and Great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glenegedale Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Glenegedale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great Island and Great B&B”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Had a wonderful time on Islay, staying for five nights at the superb Gelengedale guest house. Emma and Graeme looked after us very well and couldn’t have been more helpful. The breakfasts were great and the home baking was a lovely treat. If you're visiting Islay then I strongly recommend staying here although make sure there is a room available for us next time we visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memberson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma C, Owner at Glenegedale Guest House, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Steve and Joanne

Thank you for such a lovely review. It was a pleasure looking after the two of you for five days and you were both so appreciative of anything we did for you. We are so blessed to live on such a beautiful island and we enjoy making guests holidays extra special with their precious time away from home.

Haste ye back to Glenegedale

Graeme and Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    10
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
70
275
9
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just back from 3 night stay at Glenegedale House. Simply the best accommodation my wife and I have experienced on trios to the Scottish Islands. Graeme & Emma come across as genuine caring people who set out to make all guests very welcome. No praise is high enough, if you're going to Islay stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmckg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma C, Owner at Glenegedale Guest House, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
John, thank you so much for this fabulous review. You and your wife were so easy to look after and you were both so appreciative of all we did for you. I hope you both come back at some time in the future bringing your extended family and two grandsons with you to build some sandcastles on the beach - hopefully in the sunshine. I would love to see a picture of your allotment once you are in full production for this year.

Haste ye back to Glenegedale

Graeme and Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

A very inviting home, perfect service, attentive. Of our entry we immediately felt at ease, all decorated with great style, very clean, good breakfast like nowhere else, everything is fresh homemade.
Thank you, merci beacoup, Danke schön.
Alain & Franziska

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma C, Owner at Glenegedale Guest House, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Alain & Franziska, thank you so very much indeed for taking the time to write a brilliant review for us. We have been so lucky with such gems of guests and we thoroughly enjoy trying to make sure everyone has a lovely time on our fantastic little island. You did some amazing walks and saw seals, deer, otter and many other wildlife on Islay. I loved hearing what you saw and did every day.

We look forward to you both coming back to Glenegedale in the future

Haste ye back

Graeme and Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

What an outstanding guest house: perfect scenery, warm and lovely welcome; beautiful decorated house and rooms; Emma & Graeme aren't only the owner of a guest house, in every second you stay with them they treat you like a part of their family; most remarkable to notice: the fantastic piece of cake as a welcome; the support with getting out for dinner and the incredible breakfast: porridge, cooked breakfast, fresh fruit and once again Emma's GREAT cakes.....the only negative thing we can mention: we only booked one night and had to leave far too early!
But we'll be coming back.....;-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sascha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma C, Owner at Glenegedale Guest House, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Daniela and Sascha Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review. You were delightful guests and I hope you manage to come back and see us for longer next time you are in Scotland.

Daniela I have sent you the recipie to the banana loaf to Sascha's email. Please keep following us on facebook and let us know your favorite cake for when you return and we will have a go!

Haste ye back to Glenegedale

Graeme and Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights just after the Easter Weekend 2014.

Emma & Graeme pampered us from the minute we arrived, until the minute we left. What a fantastic Guest House, truly five star, and so tastefully decorated. Our room was spotless, and very luxurious. It is right next to the airport, but do not let that put you off, you get a great view whilst having breakfast, and we never caught a glimpse of a plane during our stay, very quiet.

Emma & Graeme helped with lots of advice with places to see and visit, and even talked me into visiting the Laphroaig distillery which changed my mind on this brand so much, I bought a bottle of 18 year old for my collection.

I have never had breakfast served with silver service, but this shouldn't have surprised me as Emma & Graeme work so hard at giving you the full experience whilst your there. The breakfast is the best I've ever had, full marks to Graeme, and the Haggis was beautiful.

Great location on the Island, 5 minutes drive to Port Ellen, 8 minutes to Bowmore, brilliant.

Thank you both for a perfect stay on Islay, when we come back we will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Emma's home made cakes and biscuits are to die for..........
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babin85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma C, Owner at Glenegedale Guest House, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Gary and Carolyn
Thank you so very much indeed to take the time to write such an in depth and wonderful review for us here at Glenegedale House. We both really enjoyed you staying and our blethers. I hope you keep collecting your whiskies and that you come back and see us when Islay has its new distillery opened next year and the other new one opened the year after...exciting times ahead.

Carolyn I hope you enjoyed your spa time in Arran and managed some true relaxation.

We look forward to seeing you both back one day in the not too distant future.

Haste ye back to Glenegedale

Graeme and Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Lovely welcome to this excellent B&B, homemade cakes and tea even though we arrived at 8pm off the late ferry. The rooms are immaculately clean and very well equipped. At first they seem a tad small but then you realise that you have the use of three guest sitting rooms downstairs and space is no longer an issue. Emma is not just a wonderful baker but also a fount of knowledge about where to go and what to do on Islay. I have never encountered hosts so willing to help make your stay enjoyable, Loved her recommendation of Islay Sea Adventures (definitely give them a try, Gus is lovely). Breakfast is remarkable, the porridge divine and once again, nothing seems too much trouble for this lovely couple. We'll be back for longer next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wifetagsalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme and Emma C, Owner at Glenegedale Guest House, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Lynn

Thank you so much for such a nice review. Graeme and I enjoyed looking after your party.

I am delighted we managed to book Gus at Islay Sea Adventures for you to go on a sea wildlife trip as they are simply fantastic and allows you to see so much of our lovely island and sometimes some of the best distilleries Islay has to offer from the sea.

We do hope to see you all again when you come back to do a self catering holiday for longer next time. Please send our regards onto Dave and his family basking back in the Florida sunshine.

Haste ye back to Glenegedale

Graeme and Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a fantastic experience stay with Emma and Graeme. You could not find better hosts if you tried. They were extremely helpful in organising trips and transport on Islay, gave us breakfasts that were out of this world and were very friendly, really nice people. The rooms were great, and the house could not be more beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme and Emma C, Owner at Glenegedale Guest House, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Steve and Sally

Thank you for such a lovely review here on trip advisor. It was lovely to meet you and share in a really special life changing time for you both - Steve, the ring was amazing ...you did fabulously. Sally you looked just so ecstatic and being female it was lovely to be able to share the excitement with you. The plans and the ideas that will be happening within the next year will just be magical and you will be a stunning bride.

We are glad you had a great time and hope your whisky winged its way safely to you and you can sit enjoy a dram and think of us here on Islay.

Haste ye back to Glenegedale House

Graeme and Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenegedale
6.9 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
42 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dha Urlar Bed and Breakfast
4.5 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Ellen
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Bowmore House
The Bowmore House
#1 of 13 in Bowmore
312 reviews
4.4 mi away
No.1 Charlotte Street
No.1 Charlotte Street
#16 of 17 in Port Ellen
15 reviews
10.1 mi away
Burnside Lodge
Burnside Lodge
#1 of 1 in Portnahaven
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenegedale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenegedale Guest House

Property: Glenegedale Guest House
Address: Glenegedale, Glenegedale PA42 7AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Glenegedale
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glenegedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Glenegedale Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Glenegedale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing