We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average at best for a Country Inn...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn By Carlson, Millville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Inn By Carlson, Millville
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Millville
Certificate of Excellence
On The Road
Level Contributor
152 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Average at best for a Country Inn...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

We had a great rate here, but after checking in... we realized why.

This property is OK... at the very best, on its best day.

We were in town for a wedding nearby and spent two nights.

Our stay was shortly after Hurricane/Super Storm Sandy - and given this hotels distance from the shore, it wasn't effected. There were some folks displaced by the storm staying there, as well as a lot of contractors.

The hotel is in rough shape all around. The carpets aren't fresh, the walls are scuffed and marred, the doors are scraped and banged, the bathrooms fixtures are showing their age, the mini-fridge in our room made more noise than most farm equipment, and the exterior of the property is looking a little shabby.

For the price... would I stay here again? Yes, but not before pursuing all of the other options in the area for a deal for the same value. I would gladly have paid $20 more a night for a nicer property.

The location is a little out of the way, but easy enough.

Would I suggest this property to others? Eh... that's a mixed bag. If you know what you're getting, and you're paying for what you're getting - sure, I would stay here again. BUT, like I said - I would make sure there wasn't a better deal to be had in the area.

To comment on some of the previous reviews... they aren't out of line. The property isn't a gem.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank admit_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    66
    41
    16
    13
See reviews for
98
47
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Just off route 55 exit 26. Hidden by the tress. Years ago it used to be visible form the highway but the vegetation along the highway has flourished. Not a lot of people go here. It is always clean and the staff is always helpful. Sad that the restaurant next door has closed. The Wheaton arts glass works is next door and that is a tour that is great of a day out. If your lucky enough when Michelle is working you will find some unique conversation. Continental Breakfast is nothing special but the setting is nice. Less than 1 hour from Wildwood and less than 1/2 hour to Glassboro. Some interesting history in South Jersey. If you are ever checking out South Jersey area with the glass manufacturing, river life, clamming and oyster history, and peach farms, this is a central location.

Room Tip: No elevator so consider that in this two story hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diplomatok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

We stayed at this Inn x2 The first time was great and food not bad so my grandkids had a good time. The next time was not so nice. The juice in the dinning room was broken so what was so hard to put juice in a pitcher as the juice had to be put in the juicer or container anyway.. I don`t think the staff even cared.
The room was ok clean but really needs some upgrade like the carpet,etc.
Thank you,
Marge and will be not staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargeMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlson Hotels C, Specialist, Online Customer Support at Country Inn By Carlson, Millville, responded to this review, 15 December 2012
Hello Marge,

I'm sorry to hear about the disappointing experience you had. I can understand how that would be frustrating.

We appreciate your comments and I will be sure to forward them to management so that they can make the necessary improvements to remedy the situation.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any further questions or concerns. You can reach me at CCare@CarlsonRezidor.com. Thank you for your review!

Regards,

Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral,uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

we stayed here for 3 days in november 2012 for a wedding,,,whilst at the wedding one of the staff members or an accomplace stole $250 dollars from my hotel room!!...(room 215)..apart from this incident the hotel was fine ,not brilliant but fine....just to elaborate the cash was well hidden in a drawer inside an envelope inside a newspaper under some underwear(believe me most people would avoid my underwear..lol)....we had a wonderful time at the wedding but when we returned to the room the money had gone...i usually use a safe but as there wasnt one in the room i split my holiday cash between my wallet and what i consider a hiding place.....i have persued this with the hotel who are (maybe understandably)in denial about it and are saying that when i signed in i more or less agreed that the hotel wouldnt be responsible....i have persued this with the carlson group who basically say "unlucky"and offer no help...i am a very honest christian person and there is no other explanation than a premeditated theft abusing a guest whilst away at a wedding,,,whether this is a regular scam i dont know but the only thing i can do is warn others,,,dont stay here unless you absolutely have to and be aware that the staff in this hotel are very very very very suspect

Room Tip: consider your trip donating money to those less well off
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasonrichardson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlson Hotels C, Online, Customer Support at Country Inn By Carlson, Millville, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to post this review. We would like to discuss your stay with you further. Please feel free to contact us at CCare@carlsonrezidor.com ~Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

The Hotel was very dirty, the rugs were so dirty i was terrified to put my feet on them without shoes on. So was the bathtub. Even the curtains were filthy. TV wasn't working, Cleaning staff had dirty uniforms on. I immediately complained to the Manager who was very rude and refused to help or try to change us to another room. My friend was tired and tried to lie down only to get bit by something. I couldn't take it anymore and left.

Room Tip: Do not use Hotwire, they will put you in places like this at times then refuse to help you. BUYER BE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn By Carlson, Millville, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
We are very sorry about the experience you had at our hotel. We do understand how upsetting this stay was for you. We take your comments very seriously and will use your review for training our staff. Thank you for taking the time to post it .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

I've stayed here before, it's usally an OK property, but this time I had a roach in my room, very uncomfortable beds. couldnt even get toothpaste. Not sure if I will stay here again, will probably go to the Holiday Inn Express in Vineland instead.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcorson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn By Carlson, Millville, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We appreciate your comments. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and will use your review to help improve our service and standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kulpsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
203 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Good concept but poorly executed.
Staff was "decent" but had a I don't give a #$@! attitude. Room had dead insects all over the floor. My wife and I played a little trick to see if the staff could keep in step. We poured some coffee into the bathroom sink to see if it was taken care of during the day. We returned and found same stains, same insect bits and the beds made.
Their comp breakfast, go to your local McDonalds or 7-11 instead. It was sub standard.
We did meet some really nice people staying there but we all agreed. Stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you ever need to travel to Millville, NJ ... stay in Vineland a few miles away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbitner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support, Carlson Rezidor Hotel Group at Country Inn By Carlson, Millville, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review on your experience at our hotel. We are disappointed to hear of the lack of service from our staff. We apologize we did not meet your expectations, we are currently taking the necessary measure to improve our property and adhere to the standards of Country Inns & Suites. We hope you get the chance to visit us again in the near future so we can get the chance to restore your faith in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millville
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Millville Vineland
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Vineland
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Vineland
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Millville
5.9 mi away
Ramada Vineland Millville Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn By Carlson, Millville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn By Carlson, Millville

Property: Country Inn By Carlson, Millville
Address: 1125 Village Dr At Wade Blvd, Millville, NJ 08332
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Millville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Millville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn By Carlson, Millville 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn By Carlson, Millville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Millville Hotel Millville
Country Hotel Millville
Millville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing