We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“After 2 years, it is even better than before” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chutney Manor

Chutney Manor
Price range: US$15 - US$200
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hamilton, NJ
Level Contributor
547 reviews
329 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 566 helpful votes
“After 2 years, it is even better than before”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Since our last review two years ago, back in January 2012, when we gave it five stars, the restaurant had done so much to improve everything, so now we can unequivocally state that Chutney Mary is surely THE best Indian restaurant in the area of the Middlesex/Mercer counties. (Akbar is great too, but it is much farther from us, plus more expensive.)
The service is very personal, we guarantee that after just a few visits all your preferences and likes are going to be memorized and catered to. The restaurant's manager, Rana, is very friendly, amicable, professional and accommodating. All the staff is very polite and attentive.
Now, Chutney Mary serves liquors again; their full bar offers varieties of alcoholic beverages and good wine selection, and for budget-friendly prices at that.
There is a free Wi-Fi, with the password displayed at each and every table, so you don't have to ask your waiter for it; very convenient.
The menu has been revamped, several new dishes have been introduced. We would recommend you try their vegetable and chicken Momo (sort of Indian dumplings). Now, there is also a dinner buffet offered.
The food quality is very good, your specific requests for spiciness are going to be followed exactly.
Again, highly recommended. Very personal and enjoyable experience awaiting you at Chutney Mary.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RGSOUNDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Diwali Grand Dinner Buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I spoke to the restaurant Manager Rana in the morning on Nov 2nd and booked for 15 people for the GRand Dinner Buffet as we were 5 families going for the pre-Diwali celebrations. Rana was very accommodating, the buffet was lavish with lots of items to chose from. With the bar open now, you do not need to bring your own beverage. We thoroughly enjoyed and had a good fun time at Chutney.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhay0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food in a warm friendly atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I take my elderly parents there a lot and they look forward to it everytime. The food is great. Rana the manager always greets us warmly and even makes us a special ocra dish that is simply divine. Definitely a fine dining experience! :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OEnow2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
464 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Very Good Buffet Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is not the first time we have eaten at this place. We are usually celebrating an event when we dine here.(Birthday, Graduation, Anniversary, Holiday, etc). I must say that our experience has been consistently good at every visit.
We opted for the Buffet instead of the A La Carte after checking out the numerous selections of appetizers, main dishes and desserts. We were not disappointed.Food was tasty and appetizing. Pani Puris were delicious, and Papdi Chat was equally good. The Manager informed us that there were 22 varieties of dishes. Most of them were good, specially the curries, but the Rices were a little dry. Some items we did not try, because they were obviously meant for children.
All four dessert varieties were satisfying.
We came to this place because our son likes the food and their mixed drink called "The Blue Ocean". The first drink that he received was very good, but when he ordered the second one, it was fairly watered-down. He was not happy about that.
The Manager / Owner is definitely a people-person. He greeted us warmly, seated us promptly, and was always smilingly attentive to our needs, even though the Restaurant was full. He even came to thank us personally when we were leaving. We liked this personal touch.
The Weekend buffets are always good. We will certainly come here again, and will also recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieandHistoryBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood Lake, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Often overlooked, but worth a visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is one of my favorite Indian Restaurants in an area blessed with a great many of them. The food ordered off the menu (I've never tried the buffet, and so I can't comment on that) is freshly prepared and delicious. Come for a meal on a weekend and you'll see lots of local families dressed up a for a great meal. Weekdays are much more quiet. The prices are very reasonable, and the portions substantial. Late last year, the owners gave up their liquor licence (not surprising, giving some of the red tape in NJ!), but there is a fully stocked liquor store, with a great variety of beers as well, right across Route One, and the restaurant staff will be happy to serve your beer or wine for you. My favorite is the Lamb Vindaloo, and they can ramp up or down the heat of this dish depending on my mood for the day!

I love this restaurant, and will probably be back next week for another fine meal. Check out their website for a 10% off coupon.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chutney Manor also viewed

Monmouth Junction, NJ
 
Monmouth Junction, NJ
 
Monmouth Junction, NJ
Monmouth Junction, NJ
 

Been to Chutney Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing