We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and personable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Georgian Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Georgian Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Montclair B&B and Inns
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Comfortable and personable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Better than a 5-star hotel, as long as you don't mind taking the stairs. Rooms are large, beds are wonderfully comfortable, staff are friendly and helpful. They hope to undertake renovations in the near future, one floor at a time, so updating will happen but rooms will always be available.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankiezyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgianInn_NJ, Manager at Georgian Inn, responded to this review, 24 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Georgian Inn! We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again soon. Our renovation plans include an elevator - which we are excited for as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    6
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at the Georgian Inn for two weeks while visiting our son and we will stay there again. The room was always very clean and Kierstin, the manager was so nice and professional. She will make sure your stay is comfortable and answer any questions you may have. (I personally loved the fluffy towels.) Yes, it's older and they are currently working on updating it, but we loved the nostalgic feel and the entrance is awesome. Our room was on the top floor (3rd floor) and we loved it. Hot water was never an issue, which I find important and it was quiet too. Our stay at the Georgian Inn was a comfortable and memorable one. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoMomsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgianInn_NJ, Manager at Georgian Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words, it was truly a pleasure having you stay with us during your visit on the East Coast! -Kierstin Strand, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here for a bachelorette party weekend. We loved it! Gigantic rooms, very nostalgic- induced giggles about ghosts. Not a 4 star in any way but great value due to charm, comfort and beauty of the antique building.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgianInn_NJ, Manager at Georgian Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello and thank you so much for your kind review! We are very happy to hear you had a fun time during the Girl's Night/Bachelorette Party.
-Kierstin Strand, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
187 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed here for one night. The suite was huge & clean. It came with a full kitchen. There was a gigantic cedar closet; in NYC somebody would have told you this was another bedroom. Yes the bathroom could use updating, more counter space & a better bathmat but it was fine. There was ample hot water although the water pressure left a bit to be desired. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were a thin. The televisions were a bit finicky. We couldn’t change the channel on the one in the sitting room. In the bedroom, we had to stretch an extension cord all the way diagonally across the room which was a tripping hazard.

Kiersten the manager was great; she even came to greet us in a snow storm.

There is a Residence Inn about 3 miles away in West Orange and lots of chains out on Route 3 in Clifton but if you want to walk around Montclair proper on Bloomfield Ave, this is your only choice for the night. It’s probably over 2 miles to walk to downtown Upper Montclair so I don’t recommend that.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

The Georgian Inn is your only option in Montclair. It's definitely not the Hilton. The location is close to some great restaurants and also a Whole Foods. The rooms are worn and felt dirty, although the linens were all immaculate. Montclair is a close train ride into NYC and the Black & White Cab service is very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank shakespeare4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

I have traveled the world over: Middle East, Africa, South America, Asia, etc. and the Georgian Inn in Montclair is about what I would expect in a cheap hotel in the most remote and backward parts of the world: food left over from previous occupants in the fridge, stained fixtures, trashed furnishings, a sink so clogged that it fills before the water runs hot, virtually undetectable (and certainly not controllable) heat/air and towels that were a most unpalatable shade of light brown. In Samarkand or Jimma or Penang a borderline hotel like this might cost you $25 a night and you'd be no worse for wear. But seriously, $200 a night for a run-down, ill-maintained and unstaffed rooming house in central Jersey? Next time I'll drive a bit farther, pay a lot less and feel MUCH better about my decision.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montclair hotels

Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Beautiful house, rooms have lots of character. Bed is comfortable and room is spacious. Small bathroom. Not cleaned well, hair in shower, used floss on the floor, rotten apple core behind the bed. No coffee cups or coffee/tea. Did have a microwave and refrigerator. Broken ironing board. Toilet kept running. No cleaning service on weekends which would be fine if they left us with enough toilet paper (we had to buy our own) and clean towels (we ran out). Staff was friendly. With some renovation and more attention to detail, this could be a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank elemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montclair
2.0 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange
2.4 mi away
Courtyard West Orange
Courtyard West Orange
#3 of 4 in West Orange
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton / Rutherford
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Totowa
Holiday Inn Totowa
#1 of 1 in Totowa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ramada Wayne Fairfield Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgian Inn

Property: Georgian Inn
Address: 37 N Mountain Ave, Montclair, NJ 07042-2317
Region: United States > New Jersey > Montclair
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Montclair
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgian Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Georgian Inn offers 12 unique, well-appointed rooms and warm, welcoming hospitality to our guests. This handsome Georgian mansion was converted to an Inn in the 1940s. The Inn preserves many architectural features of a bygone era which makes it an historical landmark. The spacious rooms and suites feature kitchenettes, private baths, cable TV, telephone and complimentary high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Georgian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Hotel Montclair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing