We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful venue”
Review of Wellmont Theater

Wellmont Theater
Ranked #4 of 15 things to do in Montclair
Attraction details
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful venue”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a lovely old theater, beautifully restored as a music venue. It changed ownership recently, so the concerts are just starting to be scheduled again. In the past, the Well mont was no the circuit of name groups, comedians, singers, etc. who play halls of about 2000-3000. There are lots of great placed to eat before the concert. Parking is a little bit of a pain, but not if you are willing to walk a few blocks.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NickFLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    47
    14
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing music venue”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

I have seen numerous acts at the wellmont and each one was fantastic! It is a dynamic, intimate venue that is worth traveling for!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jamie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
95 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good venue vlose to home!”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Nice, small venue. Took my daughters to see Blink 182. Great show - we were in the balcony, but we had a great view. Sound could have been a little better but we really enjoyed the whole experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
266 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great to see concerts so close to home!”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

When I heard the Wellmont had been revitalized to become a concert venue, I was so enthralled by the fact that well-known acts were performing within minutes of where I grew up, and still fairly close to where I currently live. It was great news! I've been fortunate enough to catch several concerts there, and have always loved that every seat is a good one. The Wellmont is a nicely-sized venue with good sound. I will say it was a bit of a bummer when a concert I was really looking forward to was cancelled (and never rescheduled...) due to the ceiling problems that started at the venue back in 2010. I will forgive the venue for that and look forward to its re-opening under Live Nation. Hopefully Live Nation will continue to deliver the same caliber and variety of performers that Bowery Presents delivered!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mdgrl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clifton, nj
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always a great venue”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

nice little theater, gets good acts....easy parking in the street.....Ive seen 5 or 6 shows at this theater and Ive always had a good experience. Definately add it to the list of venues you keep an eye on for great concerts.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mywickedshelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wellmont Theater also viewed

 

Been to Wellmont Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing