We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A surprising little gem”

Montclair Art Museum
Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Montclair
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Montclair Art Museum, a notable, community-based institution with an international reputation, boasts a renowned collection of American and Native American art that uniquely highlights art making in the United States over the last three hundred years. The collection includesmore than 12,000 objects: paintings, prints, original works on paper, photographs, and sculpture by American artists from the 18th century to the present, as well as traditional and contemporary Native American art and artifacts representing the cultural developments of peoples from all of the major American Indian regions. The Museum’s education programs serve a wide public and bring artists, performers, and scholars to the Museum on a regular basis. MAM’s Yard School of Art is the leading regional art school, offering a multitude of comprehensive courses for children, teens, adults, seniors, and professional artists.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A surprising little gem”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This museum is quiet, with a lovely permanent collection. We've also enjoyed some amazing special exhibits. Well worth a visit!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BetsyR19130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    40
    15
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
724 reviews
286 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Nice Museuem in Montclair”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Montclair is really fortunate to have such a classy museum in town.
Very good exhibitions, well presented. What's especially good are the periodic theme exhibitions

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
916 reviews
258 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 931 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

I was visiting a friend who lives not too far from the Montclair Museum. We wound up going in just to see what was showing. She is a member and suddenly remembered there was an opening. Their exhibits are always well mounted, and their permanent exhibits are also worth a look. This time with some wine. Fun!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jeremy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
240 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“excellent museum”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I think this is the best museum I have been too. They have the perfect amount of pieces in it. You can look at everything in one shot without being "Arted Out" They even have a gift shop that is pricey but hey what can you expect. The building looks small from the outside but is huge inside. They have plenty to do and is nice if you want to spend a rainy day somewhere.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Brie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First Thurday”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I found the museum on trip advisor so we checked it out. It was a nice evening. We visited first Thursday, which was free admission. There were several different events going on at once inside and outside. Each person enjoyed the museum in a different way. I would have enjoyed more music and more food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Fred9839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Montclair Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Montclair Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing